:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Wed Sep 19, 2018 1:46 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Other Projects » Released » Tiberian Sun Retro
Great mod, but...
Moderators: SMIFFGIG
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Tsunami_MkII
Civilian


Joined: 02 Feb 2004

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2004 11:28 pm    Post subject:  Great mod, but... Reply with quote

This is my first ever post on this site, so I dunno whos who yet. Bear with me.
Anyway, I have downloaded and tested out this mod. It was a LOT of fun. It really did feel like it was more of an 'improved' Tiberian Sun and less a 'what if.' Like so many other mods are ie. one that pack in the new units and do nothing else.
Well done SMIFFGIG .
However, there were a few things I didn`t like about it. I guess my opinion don`t count for much, but if anyone else agrees please say so.
The crates were annoying. Cool units which you can`t build came out of them. I`ve found three, Stealth Tank MkII, some long range missile thing (MLRS) and an ICBM launcher from the final NOD mission on TS. But it didn`t DO anything. Also, there was one occasion where I sent my guys to get a crate and the instant they did I got an internal error. I don`t know if it was related, but I can see no other reason.
Considering that we have the Mobile Artilery, Mammoth Tanks, Meteor Storm, Chameleon Spy and a lot of other stuff that was expected in Tiberian Sun (Firestorm), I was surprised that someone didn`t dig out a way to get the Dropship function working. Maybe even rig it to carry vehicles to. Not just a jumbo Orca Transport though. Actually using that discarded image from TS. I dunno what to call it.
_________________
"A'right Stirlin' oot the car!"-Supercop-In honour of the greatest comedian who ever lived.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Sporty_Thievz
Civilian


Joined: 29 Jan 2004

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2004 11:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

From what i can remember in SMIFFGiGs early versions the dropship was impossible to get to work.


Don't know if it works now though Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fremen5
Commander


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Location: Laughing at Donald Trump in a rather flat place

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2004 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, even tho the dropship loadout shp's are in TS! Laughing
_________________
Tiberian Station
Image guy on the Dune Sun\
- Peace - Through - Wossname -

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
The DvD
TiberiumWeb.com Webmaster


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dropship loadout is fully working, even in multiplayer i've heard. But a dropship that transports units and that can be controlled by you (like an apc) is impossible.

Ah and SMIFF did you find any errors with the crates?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Tsunami_MkII
Civilian


Joined: 02 Feb 2004

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don`t know what you mean. In TSRetro I`ve found nothing Dropship related. Having it work as a superweapon like Drop Pods would be a good idea though. Since NOD have the Meteor Storm.
_________________
"A'right Stirlin' oot the car!"-Supercop-In honour of the greatest comedian who ever lived.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
The DvD
TiberiumWeb.com Webmaster


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I meant it's possible to get it to work Wink

And no, no dropship superweapon is possible.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Muldrake
Supreme Commander


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, the dropship bay has been enabled to a similar way to as it was originally going to be. You select units on a seperate screen, and dropships arrive, carrying these units.
From what I know this is a single-player option, in missions. I don't think it can be used in multiplayer, and considering Retro is only a multiplayer mod at the moment, you won't be seeing it until some missions for Retro are made and released.
The dropship can not be made ingame, to be able to carry multiple units in a multiplayer game, like say the amphibious transport in RA2.

About the superweapon. In TS there is a limit to the number and type of superweapons you have. You can't add new superweapons, only replace existing ones. Also, I'm not sure it could be used to as a superweapon. Sounds like a good idea.. but I don't think it can be done.

Crate units, are just extras to please those who like the stupid and cool things added to TS. That or things which have no real place elsewhere. I'm sure the ICBM could be enhanced to do something, the same with the MRJ, but its not a priority.

And did you say INTERNAL ERROR!!?? Smiff and I spent days checking it for IE's! IT'S NOT POSSIBLE! Shocked #Mad

Glad you like the mod, and look out for 1.25.. there will be plenty of great additions, including.. hopefully, some missions.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FinalMoon
Cyborg Cannon


Joined: 21 Apr 2003

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know about mission(s) for 1.25. Maybe one or two preview ones. I think the campaign won't be really commenced until talk of 1.3, however.

And btw, Dropship Loadout does work in multiplayer. It was not included because... well it just wasn't. But hopefully you will see some of it in 1.25.
_________________
Over and out,
~FinalMoon

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Tsunami_MkII
Civilian


Joined: 02 Feb 2004

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Muldrake. Thats just the kind of answer I was looking for. Not that I liked what you had to say, but thanks anyway. Pity about that Dropship thing. It really would be cool to have a yuperweapon that dropped a few Titans and Wolverines-something like that. Or, you select a few tanks manually, put them in the Dropship bay, then the ship automatically decends, lifts and moves them to a location you pick out. Ok, thats a little too specific, but a nice idea IMO.
BTW, did I hit a sore spot with that Internal Error comment? Well sorry but it did happen. It may not be what done it, but if I were you I`d go straight for the crate programming.
_________________
"A'right Stirlin' oot the car!"-Supercop-In honour of the greatest comedian who ever lived.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Muldrake
Supreme Commander


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good news! I've found the IE!
Thank you, Tsunami_MkII for pointing it out.
I suspected it when he mentioned it was a crate, and as no one had mentioned it before, it must have been a unit.. as there is a low probability of getting a specific unit.
Anyway to cut a long story short, its a unit's weapon (actually 2). I've corrected the problem, and I'll just check for any more problems, before posting up an updated rules.ini file.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The DvD
TiberiumWeb.com Webmaster


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What weapon, muldrake? i'm into TSR bug hunting too Wink

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Muldrake
Supreme Commander


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2004 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well its the secondary weapon for a hidden unit. The "Mole Tank".
I don't know if I should say more.
But rest assured, there will be a mini-update to cure this. It will probably just be a rules.ini file, so you simply put it in your TS directory (even a 4 year old could do that Very Happy ) and problem solved.
Smiff and I are just going through any other small things that can be updated through the rules.ini, like the Tusk missile warhead vs aircraft. The new rules should be posted soon, so keep an eye out! Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sporty_Thievz
Civilian


Joined: 29 Jan 2004

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2004 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Muldrake wrote:
Well its the secondary weapon for a hidden unit. The "Mole Tank".
I don't know if I should say more.
But rest assured, there will be a mini-update to cure this. It will probably just be a rules.ini file, so you simply put it in your TS directory (even a 4 year old could do that Very Happy ) and problem solved.
Smiff and I are just going through any other small things that can be updated through the rules.ini, like the Tusk missile warhead vs aircraft. The new rules should be posted soon, so keep an eye out! Smile


Are you and Smiff internet friends Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Other Projects » Released » Tiberian Sun Retro
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1461s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0382s) ][ Debug on ]