:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Fri Sep 21, 2018 7:36 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Tutorials Vault
[RA2/YR] VQA Movies
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Glukv48
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 11 Nov 2012
Location: Russia, Krasnodar.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 11:50 pm    Post subject:  [RA2/YR] VQA Movies
Subject description: Use the VQA movies in RA2 or YR
Reply with quote

I will not describe here step by step action. I just explain the basic principles.

Historic information:
VQA movies used in all C&C games to RA2, code responsible for VQA completely preserved in RA2 and YR. However, Westwood did not use the video VQA format in RA2, they used Bink.

Why you may need to use the VQA, when there Bink?
Answer. It's like comparing JPG and PNG or GIF (one frame). Bink more useful for realistic images (captured on camera). VQA useful for animated briefings, charts, text, etc. Also, VQA provides a higher compression ratio.

How can I use VQA in RA2 and YR?
Just like Bink, but there are a few points that need to explain separately.
1. All VQA should be placed in the MIX file.
2. If you have a Movies in Bink format and VQA with the same name, the VQA will be ignored.

What tools do I can use to create VQA?
I know of only one tool capable of VQA encode video. This VQA Encoder from the user with the nickname ugordan

VQA Encoder has a limit on the size of the frame 640x400, is possible to create VQA with a frame size of 800x600?
Yes, but you should use a hacked version of VQA Encoder.



Hacked version of VQA Encoder. Allows to create VQA with a frame size of 800x600.


VQA Enc 0.5b2 800x600.rar
 Description:
Hacked version of VQA Encoder. Allows to create VQA with a frame size of 800x600.

Download
 Filename:  VQA Enc 0.5b2 800x600.rar
 Filesize:  491.02 KB
 Downloaded:  56 Time(s)



Key Words: #Tutorials #RedAlert2 #YurisRevenge #Ares #Videos #VQA #VQAEncoder #Media 

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the nice work, research and info.

Is 800x600 the max supported res by the games?

I haven't converted any video yet, but is the original version able to create radar screen VQAs? I think they are using a small res of only 160x120 (not sure here) or something so they fit in the radar screen.
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CCHyper
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Apr 2005

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did this a while back with TS, but I can not remember the results, would be interesting for someone to play around with it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Glukv48
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 11 Nov 2012
Location: Russia, Krasnodar.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lin Kuei Ominae wrote:

Is 800x600 the max supported res by the games?

I do not know how to RA2, but YR this is the maximum resolution as the main menu a maximum of 800x600.

Lin Kuei Ominae wrote:

I haven't converted any video yet, but is the original version able to create radar screen VQAs? I think they are using a small res of only 160x120 (not sure here) or something so they fit in the radar screen.


I have not tried, a good question. I'll tried it later.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CCHyper
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Apr 2005

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The game initialises the main VQA viewport buffer at 640x480 IIRC.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Glukv48
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 11 Nov 2012
Location: Russia, Krasnodar.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can try to use this video file


screenshot .png
 Description:
in game(YR) screenshot
 Filesize:  437.49 KB
 Viewed:  2696 Time(s)

screenshot .png



Briefing.vqa.zip
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  Briefing.vqa.zip
 Filesize:  8.65 MB
 Downloaded:  20 Time(s)


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CCHyper
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Apr 2005

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TS plays it perfectly, no problem there. I can not test RA2.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Tutorials Vault
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1281s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0061s) ][ Debug on ]