:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Mon May 29, 2017 1:25 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » PPM Zone » PPM Discussion Zone » Site Sections
Open Source SHP Builder: Information
Moderators: Global Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 2 of 2 [84 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
tomsons26lv
Pyro Sniper


Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Location: Latvia

PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried just reinstalling in the same folder i started the exe now i'm getting
Access violation at address 00405FB9 in module 'SHP_Builder.exe'. Read of address 00000000.
Access violation at address 004058E2 in module 'SHP_Builder.exe'. Read of address 01573050.
almost everytime i start it
Also all cameoBG files are 0kb and the commlist is still the wrong file(its a xml)
_________________
Tiberian Dawn, Red Alert, Tiberian Sun ,Red Alert 2,Renegade, Command & Conquer 3,Tiberium and Tiberium Wars and Westwood related image & video archive
https://picasaweb.google.com/113361105083292812413?noredirect=1

Skype live:tomsons26
Don't forget to state who are you otherwise i'll ignore the invite

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tomsons26lv
Pyro Sniper


Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Location: Latvia

PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Forgot to mention,i ran it as Admin when I installed it
_________________
Tiberian Dawn, Red Alert, Tiberian Sun ,Red Alert 2,Renegade, Command & Conquer 3,Tiberium and Tiberium Wars and Westwood related image & video archive
https://picasaweb.google.com/113361105083292812413?noredirect=1

Skype live:tomsons26
Don't forget to state who are you otherwise i'll ignore the invite

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Delete all these files and re-download the SHP_Builder.exe from the link from the first post.

All the bugs you've mentioned were already fixed.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
tomsons26lv
Pyro Sniper


Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Location: Latvia

PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using the latest version, clean install, all those bugs are still present for me, now i get the address errors even if i copy the latest exe over a older working installation(37 beta 12 downloaded as tar from the svn)
_________________
Tiberian Dawn, Red Alert, Tiberian Sun ,Red Alert 2,Renegade, Command & Conquer 3,Tiberium and Tiberium Wars and Westwood related image & video archive
https://picasaweb.google.com/113361105083292812413?noredirect=1

Skype live:tomsons26
Don't forget to state who are you otherwise i'll ignore the invite

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Zaaz
Disk Thrower


Joined: 21 Apr 2013
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having some exceptions too. I think it has to do with write/reading the added LastPalettePath property.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2013 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've tested installing it in the same dir and in a different dir using my windows XP and it worked correctly with no warnings/exceptions, etc so far. I'll have to test it in Windows 7 as soon as possible.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Zaaz
Disk Thrower


Joined: 21 Apr 2013
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2013 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@tomsons26lv
I cant post anything here, so I created a thread in beta testing. Tell me if that fixes your issues.

Im a link. Click me.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2013 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Revision 39 has a very minor attempt fix for it, although I can't test it if it fixes it, since I'm unable to reproduce this problem on my Windows XP.

Edit: I've tested revision 39 with Windows 7 and UAC. Now it always runs as administrator (the setup trick in the description has successfully fooled UAC). The installation was successfull and nothing wrong happened. When I've left the program, windows has suspected that the program wasn't properly installed, but I had to tell it that it was installed correctly. Then, I've executed the program again and I've seen one access violation message. Then, when I run it again, there are usually 2 access violations.

I still don't know what causes it. Once I return from a party, I'll test a version with a bunch of ShowMessage to be able to debug where exactly are these access violations happening and why do they only happen with Windows 7 and not with XP.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 4:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update: The recent revisions from OS SHP Builder 3.37 seems to fix all installation issues reported by tomson26lv, Bittah and Zaaz and it is running quite in a stable way.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Bittah Commander
Defense Minister


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One thing that could be improved in the installer is that it doesn't seem to accept certain keyboard commands. When I try to paste a path in it via Ctrl+V, nothing happens, while right-clicking and then clicking Paste does work. Ctrl+A also doesn't select the whole path that's already been entered (for this I need to put the mouse cursor at the beginning of the line, hold shift and then press End).
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That seems to be a bug from the VCL TEdit component.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update 03/01/2014: OS SHP Builder 3.37 has been officially released! (revision 58)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is the one on the link in the first post the latest?
Banshee wrote:
- Download OS SHP Builder 3.37 HERE (1.88mb + downloads in the first run)


I downloaded that and the 338 beta on the link above and they don't seem to have any changes.
-selection is not new
-loaded palette is reset back to unittem.pal whenever i open a new SHP
-TS grid is misplaced
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection. Main Nod building SHP creator.

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant unit, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
TMP Shop
C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

3.38 Beta is just a way to call the latest SVN build. And the latets SVN build is indeed 3.37 at the moment. So, there is no difference.

Even in the future, there won't be any difference at all, because the installer naturally downloads the latest version of the program in the SVN.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
ramil16
Civilian


Joined: 03 Mar 2014

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wish you can create a step by step video tutorial on it

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You mean a video tutorial to upgrade the program? That's not necessarily at all. The images should be quite helpful at the post at the following link:

http://www.ppmsite.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=502305#502305

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Matthias M.
Missile Trooper


Joined: 15 Jun 2012
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 4:22 pm    Post subject: Re: Open Source SHP Builder: Information Reply with quote

Banshee wrote:
This tool is a freeware.


It is not. Please don't mix Free/Libre Open Source Software with this term usually associated with closed source programs. http://www.gnu.org/philosophy/categories.html#freeware

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is not closed source program. It is open source and it does not cost a cent.

Go to http://svn.ppmsite.com to get the source code.

The only thing that it does not do is to follow any of the GNU GPL liscenses.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

He means SHP Builder is not a "freeware" per definition of freeware.
Since it is Open Source it should be called "Open source software" or "free software".
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection. Main Nod building SHP creator.

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant unit, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
TMP Shop
C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Edit: With all due respect, I like a part of GNU's cause, but not its means, nor its fanatism for free software. I do not support GNU.

I couldn't care less if their so beautiful definition of freeware doesn't match SHP Builder's case.

I usually understand freeware as a program that doesn't cost a cent, regardless if the source code is available or not.

Edit 2: In order to avoid confusion, I've edited the freeware part of the text.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Matthias M.
Missile Trooper


Joined: 15 Jun 2012
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Choosing a http://opensource.org/licenses does not mean you support any ideological course. It just helps to avoid misunderstandings. Which terms have you chosen for OS SHP Builder?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

None of them and I have no plans to change that.

Quote:
This program was made by Banshee and Stucuk, with contributions from PaD and VK. You can make anything with it as long as the authors receive credit for their work. If you make an unoficial patch of the program, this liscense must be unchanged and Project Perfect Mod must be credited for hosting support for the official OS SHP Builder.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Matthias M.
Missile Trooper


Joined: 15 Jun 2012
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://choosealicense.com/no-license/ explains why this is a bad idea.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Graion Dilach
Defense Minister


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Location: Iszkaszentgyörgy, Hungary

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Technically speaking, the quoted lines are already a license.
_________________



AS Discord server: https://discord.gg/7aM7Hm2

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2014 1:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Correct.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
xanax
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 14 Nov 2013

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The link svn://svn.ppmsite.com/shp_builder in the first post seems dead.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a link to be used by your SVN client. If you try it with the browser, it will be dead indeed.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Milch&Muesli
Civilian


Joined: 27 Dec 2011

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Banshee,

over at OpenRA.net your shp builder gets used quite frequently for sprites and custom units in the RA and TD universes for custom maps.
I planned to use this tool for a OpenRA mod map of Dune 2000 as well, but unfortunately your tool does not support the d2k palette :/

Its very similar to the palette of Tiberian Sun, but not the same. Could you please implement the d2k palette as well, so i can use the shp builder for this Westwood game as well? Wink

I could provide you with the palette.bin if required. Send me a message. I just don't know how to translate that into your custom .pal format. ^^

Thanks very much!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Reaperrr
Commander


Joined: 26 Apr 2003
Location: Somewhere in Germany

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Milch&Muesli:

The d2k palette.bin is just a normal, simple Westwood 6-bit palette, same as what SHP Builder uses.
All you should need to do is to rename the palette.bin to d2k.pal and copy that into the Palettes\User subfolder of SHP Builder. Then you should be able to select it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ApolloTD
Commander


Joined: 19 Nov 2003

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Reaperrr wrote:

simple Westwood 6-bit palette


In truth we call it only Westwood 6-bit (or in total 18-bit) since saw it there but it is actually VGA Classic standard, not actually Westwood designed at all.

http://www.shikadi.net/moddingwiki/VGA_Palette

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Milch&Muesli
Civilian


Joined: 27 Dec 2011

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the hints.

Importing from the images with the d2k palette selected fixed the color-issues in the editor. And exporting as shp(TS) might have fixed some issues with broken shp(TD) exports.

But still haven't had success so far. I am not sure I use the settings correctly and using TS settings for the d2k content is kind of far fetched, too Very Happy

Having d2k options for import/export would be so much better Smile  ...and i would not have to suspect any potential errors there...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you tell me what are the best options to set there when importing D2K infantry, buildings, animations and cameos, I can set profiles there to speed up the process.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Milch&Muesli
Civilian


Joined: 27 Dec 2011

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't right now, since i just recently found a way to get the shp's to work.

* using d2k custom palette from the palette.bin file for importing, optimized for TS.
* using XCC to convert the shp(TS) of SHP Builder back to png's and then into shp/shp(TD) format. Only then it works fine.
@banshee: you compare your output shp(TD) and XCC's output shp for the same file, maybe you can fix that issue with your shp(TD). XCC does it the right way.

Aftter collecting some experience with Builder I will report back Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you go over XCC anyway, why not convert the PNGs with XCC Mixer directly?
Just add the D2K Palette to a mix file which XCC finds, select that palette and then import the PNG frames with XCC Mixer.
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection. Main Nod building SHP creator.

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant unit, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
TMP Shop
C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 2 of 2 [84 Posts] Goto page: Previous 1, 2
View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » PPM Zone » PPM Discussion Zone » Site Sections
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.3804s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0615s) ][ Debug on ]