:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Fri Dec 14, 2018 7:31 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum
infantry list/order
Moderators: Global Moderators, Tiberian Sun Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Exley
Commander


Joined: 09 May 2011
Location: X-Files

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 11:43 pm    Post subject:  infantry list/order Reply with quote

for GDI, in this case the list would be
1. Light infantry
2. Disk thrower
3. jjet
4. engineer
5. medic
--

for my humble mod, I wanted to return Bazooka like they had in C&C1
but so it comes after disk thrower and before jjet
but if i enforce it in rules like that i would screw things up for game wouldn't i ?
so how to do it then ?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ApolloTD
Commander


Joined: 19 Nov 2003

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Screw up how??? The order is simply formed of price of unit/prerequisite/owner mostly but mainly the price thus why light infantry is before disk thrower and so on. Price within 200-600 range would have desired result IMO.

Edit: oh my bad I mistake it a bit since RA2 has separated lists and TS is all common list based.

Last edited by ApolloTD on Fri Jun 28, 2013 8:53 am; edited 1 time in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 6:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The order is based on the Lists only.
For BuildingTypes only, the order in the list is important, as these are referenced by their index in ai.ini, not their name.

For InfantryTypes, VehicleTypes and AircraftTypes the order doesn't matter.

Changes in the order can only occur, when certain prerequisites change the order at which the units/buildings become available. But if all prereqs are met and a first Factory/Barrack is build, then all units/buildings belonging to this Factory/Barrack appear in the order in which they stand in their respective List.
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MasterHaosis
Commander


Joined: 01 Nov 2010

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I always make my order via TehLevel. Units which I want to show at top, I put in lower tech level, and units such heroes, spies and expensive ones I put in high tech level, so they go down in tab. Same goes for vehicle types, except aircraft, they always go down. And Navy.
_________________
OrangeNero wrote:
Me picking a fight? I know I am the greatest user alive here so everyone starts reading topics with my posts first and ignores the ones before and after.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Exley
Commander


Joined: 09 May 2011
Location: X-Files

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Exley
Commander


Joined: 09 May 2011
Location: X-Files

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

// let me bump this for 1 related question

if I insert cloned/custom unit (inf/vehicle) within Original ones
and not put them on the bottom
like

[Cyborg]
...his code

[My-Unit]
...code

[MUTANT]
his code

will I break some internal game.exe order (I know LKO was mentioning this before of some internal ini code that checks for lines)

same worths for adding on the list

or it doesn't matter ?
(I'm using UMP)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Krow
Commander


Joined: 30 Jan 2010
Location: Malaysia

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why would you even do that in the first place? The unit probably wouldn't work since the codes are incomplete, ie not working as you wanted, doesn't appear on the sidebar, or even worse, crashes the game.
_________________
Team Black wrote:
interesting seeing your voxel work. They're still better than Aro's!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Exley
Commander


Joined: 09 May 2011
Location: X-Files

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not talking about codes

but inserted places
is it a MUST for all new to be at the bottom ?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
^Rampastein
Rampastring


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Location: Gensokyo

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nah, I'm pretty sure that the order of the sections/units in the list doesn't matter.

The only thing related to the order which I know of is that the AI is coded to target specific buildings by the order in which they are in [BuildingTypes], so if you add your own buildings in between the TS ones there, you can screw up some AI scripts.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL
Exley
Commander


Joined: 09 May 2011
Location: X-Files

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for info Smile
_________________
Ordosherrscher wrote:

though you can add a spawn animation with veins it will give you some weird ... stuff
it spawned veins, but also Rocks, Brigdes ...

Tony wrote:

Bridgehole Monster Laughing

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TommaHawk1111
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 07 Mar 2017

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 2:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So if I made a side specific light infantry for nod and put him first or second in the lost it wouldn't cause the game to have an internal error?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 7:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

correct. it should work.
If you get an IE, it's a different issue.
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TommaHawk1111
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 07 Mar 2017

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for clearing that up.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TommaHawk1111
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 07 Mar 2017

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a helpful hint for anyone doing this that hasn't done it yet, infantry order in rules doesn't matter. Also change e1 used in crew or any thing shared to another unit. I added a fully remapable e1 clone and renamed it as p1. Also you must use a new cameo for both the new e1 and your new nod e1 which I named n1. If you don't use renamed separate cameos for the units than you will have an extra cameo in game. Also do this for the engineer since it too is a shared unit.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.2675s ][ Queries: 12 (0.1424s) ][ Debug on ]