:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Sat May 27, 2017 6:27 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Ares (Unofficial Forum)
An intermezzo called Ares 0.D
Moderators: Ares Support Team at PPM, Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 3 of 3 [113 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
TAK02
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: ERROR: This guy is out of this world!

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Never heard of the AI being unable to control units off the play-area. Sure about this one? AFAIK, even RA2's AI has no problems what-so-ever handling such cases (unless play-area is terrain/overlay-walled). Not only that, but I've never seen the AI paradrop outside of it either.
_________________
One and only developer of "Supreme" Command & Conquer mods.
Current projects:
http://www.moddb.com/mods/ra2-supreme
http://www.moddb.com/mods/supreme-yr

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
chr0nicz420
Light Infantry


Joined: 10 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 3:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I'm very pretty sure about this because this happens to me A LOT OF TIMES when my enemy computer/s has/have a paradrop super weapon and always sending paradrops at the very edge of the map. I always have this problem for years.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chr0nicz420
Light Infantry


Joined: 10 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 5:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's my proof, showing the 3 factions sent paradrops at the edge of the map.









So after cleaning up the enemy computer AIs, there, they're still not defeated. Even my ally computer can't find any more enemies and if it finds something, it should be using its super weapon to eliminate the remaining enemies but it couldn't.

Unfortunately I forgot to screenshot the minimap to show you a more solid evidence that I totally cleaned them up but if you want to since it's still not convincing enough for you, it's fine because I can totally replicate it to show more a concrete proof.

I really hope Ares will try to fix this bug.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Cyborg Informer


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In TS, hunter seeker can destroy units outside map area. If Ares has enabled
it the same way, it should work in YR too. There is also option of using
Insignificant on units that causes it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MustaphaTR
Pyro Sniper


Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: Kastamonu, Turkey

PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 7:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AFAIK, the issue is Paradrop Planes not Paradroppers themselves. They are sometimes not correctly deleted after leaving the map. I remember getting that locked games too. It was pretty common on Alamo (2) for some reason.

You can check what AI has left by taking a map snapshot (was that what it is called) and checking the map file on such game. [Aircraft] section must have some stuff left.
_________________
renzjericho wrote:
We will never surrender, death to EA Games!


CnCD2K Mod: http://www.moddb.com/mods/red-alert-2-yuris-revenge-cncd2k-mod
Help me to Translate: https://crowdin.com/project/cncd2k
Changed Dune Mod: http://www.moddb.com/mods/changed-dune

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlexB
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 31 May 2010
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2017 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, here's the first RC for Ares 0.D (currently available only on the Unstable Binaries page). I already know that there is gonna be a second one, because some bugs already emerged before I wrote this announcement post. Anyhow, this means I really should finish setting up the issues on Launchpad so they can be checked off as confirmed working, and also I'll have to start writing the documentation. No idea how long this will take. My goal is to release end of May or very early June.

Known issues (will be fixed in the next build):
- some cursors in waypoint mode are wrong
- UnitDelivery SW can't place water bound structures

Fixes and Minor Additions
  • Deliver.Buildups again. Does the hunt mission still work?
  • Promote infantry in occupiable structures immediately
  • Fixed the out of range cursor

Customizable move cursors
[TechnoType]Cursor.Move= (mouse cursor, defaults to Move)
The cursor to use for representing the move action.

[TechnoType]Cursor.NoMove= (mouse cursor, defaults to NoMove)
The cursor to use for representing the no-move action.

Both actions might be used as a fallback for representing no-* actions like "no attack", no-enter, ...

Removed old global cursor tags
Removed the global tags EngineerDamageCursor, TogglePowerCursor, TogglePowerNoCursor, InfantryHealCursor, and UnitRepairCursor.
This is a breaking change. The cursors can be customized using the [MouseCursors] section now.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PePsiCola
Jumpjet Infantry


Joined: 28 Dec 2010
Location: The United States

PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MustaphaTR wrote:
AFAIK, the issue is Paradrop Planes not Paradroppers themselves. They are sometimes not correctly deleted after leaving the map. I remember getting that locked games too. It was pretty common on Alamo (2) for some reason.

You can check what AI has left by taking a map snapshot (was that what it is called) and checking the map file on such game. [Aircraft] section must have some stuff left.


Yep. I haven't played without Short Game being enabled in so long because of this. I wasn't able to finish a good third of all skirmishes. And checking with Map Snapshot, it was a Paradrop plane 9/10 times, and occasionally a pad aircraft or spy plane.
_________________
Tiberium Uprising (a few missions for TS): http://www.ppmsite.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=31029

Last edited by PePsiCola on Mon May 22, 2017 2:12 am; edited 1 time in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Cyborg Informer


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most likely it is a known issue with planes having small ROT values like 2.
When the gap between the inner and outer boundary of maps (gap between
red and blue lines) is not enough for such planes to make a full turn, they
get stuck. It can be solved by either increasing the ROT value or editing the
map to increase the gap.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlexB
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 31 May 2010
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you get me a memory dump (from the Ares keyboard command in the Development group) at the point in time the game should be over but isn't?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chr0nicz420
Light Infantry


Joined: 10 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2017 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for the late reply but how can I do that?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Cyborg Informer


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2017 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Goto Options -> Keyboard -> Category development - Assign hotkey for
dump memory and then use it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pop000100
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 03 Jan 2016

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2017 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great to see you back at it Alex, don't have RA2 YR working right now, so can't play with these features.  Thank you ! Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chr0nicz420
Light Infantry


Joined: 10 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So here's another one, this time with including minimap and my ally AI isn't firing his offensive/major super weapon/s.







And the memory dump of this game.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 3 of 3 [113 Posts] Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Ares (Unofficial Forum)
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.3035s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0086s) ][ Debug on ]