:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:21 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Ares (Unofficial Forum)
AI Targets with SWs incorrectly
Moderators: Ares Support Team at PPM, Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
PePsiCola
Stealth Laser Trooper


Joined: 28 Dec 2010
Location: The United States

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 5:56 pm    Post subject:   AI Targets with SWs incorrectly Reply with quote

I'm wondering if I missed out somewhere on some important details regarding SWs in Ares, or maybe I've just been the only one with this problem? It hasn't bothered me too much, but I suppose you could say I've been noticing this for well over a year.

When targeting with SWs (it's particularly noticeable on types like the Nuke and Weather Storm targeting conyards or war factories), the AI's targeting point will always be located one cell above the typical center of the building. I know for certain that in all my days of vanilla RA2/YR, the AI would perfectly target the center cell of a conyard with a Nuke, for example. With Ares, however, the AI will instead always target one cell above. It definitely takes away from the potential damage of a SW.

But please, someone tell me I just missed out somewhere. Because I would find it hard to believe that this minor bug would go unnoticed/unreported for the year or two I've been noticing it (I didn't notice any reports on it, at least).
_________________
Tiberium Uprising (a few missions for TS): http://www.ppmsite.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=31029

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlexB
Commander


Joined: 31 May 2010
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you! I'm using a function that returns the cell coordinates of the building's position, while the game uses a function that gets the position in leptons and converts that to cell coordinates. That function considers the extent of the building. I'm on it.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PePsiCola
Stealth Laser Trooper


Joined: 28 Dec 2010
Location: The United States

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahh, makes a lot of sense how that works now. But awesome, thank you Alex!
_________________
Tiberium Uprising (a few missions for TS): http://www.ppmsite.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=31029

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlexB
Commander


Joined: 31 May 2010
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a heads-up: this shouldn't happen any more in the latest build.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Ares (Unofficial Forum)
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1086s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0034s) ][ Debug on ]