:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Fri Jul 20, 2018 11:43 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Featured Projects » D-Day
D-day on XP
Moderators: Mig Eater
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
prehistoric_pcs
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 19 Dec 2017
Location: Sicily

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 11:47 pm    Post subject:  D-day on XP
Subject description: Please help me...
Reply with quote

I need to get D-day on my XP laptop, don't ask why i'm on xp. Yes i know its 2017. I've done everything correctly. I got it working on my Vista but this one, when i drag gamemd on Syringe nothing happens.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 8:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your version of XP may be missing the Microsoft runtime files needed to use Ares. The readme file that comes with Ares includes a link to these files.

Make sure YR is patched to v1.001 too.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
TAK02
Commander


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mig Eater wrote:
Make sure YR is patched to v1.001 too.


I thought the patch's fixes were included?
_________________
One and only developer of C&C S. True Supremacy.
Youtube: C&C Supremacy Mod | Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue
I once ninja'd MigEater #Tongue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gamemd.exe needs to to be patched to v1.001 for Ares to work.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
TAK02
Commander


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Odd, I'd have thought Ares'd work regardless, as long as it's the original gamemd.exe, not game.exe renamed (I tried. Did nothing at all, if you're curious).

I still have the unpatched version (patch refused to run, something about missing files), so I could try it out and report my findings here.
_________________
One and only developer of C&C S. True Supremacy.
Youtube: C&C Supremacy Mod | Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue
I once ninja'd MigEater #Tongue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
prehistoric_pcs
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 19 Dec 2017
Location: Sicily

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where exactly would i go to update my gamemd.exe file?

And my Microsoft Runtime files too?

Regular Yuri's Revenge works fine if that info will help...
_________________
Why does my Igloo smell like Cottage Cheese?

It's not made of snow... It's cheese...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Google Yuri's Revenge Patch & as I said look in the Ares Readme for a link to the runtime files.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
prehistoric_pcs
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 19 Dec 2017
Location: Sicily

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jesus, such a quick response. You truly are dedicated to your work Mig c:
_________________
Why does my Igloo smell like Cottage Cheese?

It's not made of snow... It's cheese...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
prehistoric_pcs
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 19 Dec 2017
Location: Sicily

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ummm... I installed the updater and it said i have an invalid .ini or something and when i played the regular game i do recall it saying 1.001 at the bottom so that shouldn't be the problem. But i just found out even when i just double-click the Gamemd nothing happens. But when i do the RA2md the game actually runs. ( as in the original game, not the mod)
_________________
Why does my Igloo smell like Cottage Cheese?

It's not made of snow... It's cheese...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gamemd.exe not working is normal, you have to start the game via RA2md.exe or YURI.exe. When using Ares(/D-day) tho it's recommended to use the RunAres.bat file to start the game.

What version of Ares are you using BTW?
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
prehistoric_pcs
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 19 Dec 2017
Location: Sicily

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First, thank you SO MUCH for the instantaneous support with my problem.

I'm quite confident i'm using the Ares that came with it. I already put the 3.7 patch in the directory. Can you give me exact directions on how i should do this and what files to drag onto other to run them? For example, what do i drag on the Bat file and vise versa.

I just installed the XP pack 3 thing so i'll see if that did anything.
_________________
Why does my Igloo smell like Cottage Cheese?

It's not made of snow... It's cheese...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
prehistoric_pcs
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 19 Dec 2017
Location: Sicily

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*UPDATE* It's kinda working not really tho. (actually, not at all)

I dragged RA2MD on Syringe and opened with the regular Yuri opening photo. When it loads the red sonar thing is in the main menu but the bar on the right is D-Days. I Click single player and it says there's a campaign, i ignore cuz its false and i hit skirmish. The UI for the skirmish menu is good but two countries say something along the line of 'MISSING: Name' and the flags are Libya and Cuba. Germany has a British flag and USSR has a Nazi flag. The maps are all 'MISSING FILES' etc... I try to start the game and it just exits without even an error message...
_________________
Why does my Igloo smell like Cottage Cheese?

It's not made of snow... It's cheese...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ares didn't load so the game was a corrupt mix of RA2 & D-day.

You dont need to drag anything on to RunAres.bat, just double click on it to launch Ares.

Have you tried installing the runtime files yet?
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
prehistoric_pcs
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 19 Dec 2017
Location: Sicily

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes! I got it working yesterday but I was too busy playing it with my brother i forgot to inform you

I got the latest Windows Installer

XP Service Pack 3

And i got the latest version of Ares 0.E which fixed it.

Thank you for the fast and reliable support, it was almost instant!

BTW i have a quick question, when will be able to play as Japan, Poland, etc... My little brother really wants those Kamikaze Zeros!
_________________
Why does my Igloo smell like Cottage Cheese?

It's not made of snow... It's cheese...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Featured Projects » D-Day
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1293s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0042s) ][ Debug on ]