:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Sat Oct 20, 2018 12:41 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum
TS Mission Tech Levels
Moderators: Global Moderators, Tiberian Sun Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
DoMiNaNt_HuNtEr
General


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Location: North America Posts: You cannot comprehend...

PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:10 am    Post subject:  TS Mission Tech Levels Reply with quote

I'm checking out tiberian sun original missions, Nod mission 6 Capture Umagon. The one where you have to capture the train station. I can't seem to get the tech levels to work properly. The missions is set to level 6 in it's map file. But I can't build tech level 6 units. I've set my nod tech center to tech level 6, I've set the artillery to tech level 6. I cannot get them to show up on my side bar despite reaching all the prerequisites. Is the mission hard coded or something?

Anybody come across something similar in their modding sessions?
_________________
Destroy to create. All for the hunt to dominate!

IN-GAME NAME: MAKINTOKE

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want, change the techlevels in nod6c.map. Those are set to -1. If
you change in map, those become available.

If loading a saved game, restart the mission.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DoMiNaNt_HuNtEr
General


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Location: North America Posts: You cannot comprehend...

PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah I opened the map file with FinalSun. The tech level is already set to 6 for the Nod faction and 8 for GDI and Mutants. I looked thru all the option menus in FinalSun and couldn't find any other variables that'd look like it interferes.

Its weird, because in the previous mission (mission 5, smash and grab the tacitus), I had access to helipads (which I had set to tech level 5 in my mod) but in this mission i don't...... odd.

Also, I made the advance power plant tech level 6, and that building actually DID show up on the sidebar. Again I've checked the prerequisites, and they're all fine.

Its annoying because with this mission you're supposed to be able to build artillery. But I can't! I've set the ARtillery's tech level to 3 and prerequisite to Nod war factory and Radar, but after I build the radar it STILL doesn't show up.

You see I'm using Tiberian Sun Retro mod, which has been modified to play better in the vanilla single player campaign. So in this mod, the artillery is now called the advanced artillery, and it requires a tech center. But still, I lowered the tech level availability for the tech center to level 6, and I'm on mission 6. So what the ztype? lol

I've also lowered the tech center to level 3 just to see if it shows up and STILL nothing. I don't get it.
_________________
Destroy to create. All for the hunt to dominate!

IN-GAME NAME: MAKINTOKE

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tuc0
Rocket Cyborg


Joined: 26 Sep 2016
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Open map file in text editor and look for units. If something is added to map file, it will overwrite existing values in rules.ini.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DoMiNaNt_HuNtEr
General


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Location: North America Posts: You cannot comprehend...

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 5:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OH SNAP! Thanks bud, that did it. hell I didn't even realize that map files are actually easily edited text files, lol.

yah for some reason in this mission GATECH and NATECH have been deliberately disabled with techlevel=-1 tag added in. Dafuq were they thinking? xD
_________________
Destroy to create. All for the hunt to dominate!

IN-GAME NAME: MAKINTOKE

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1258s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0111s) ][ Debug on ]