:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Wed Dec 12, 2018 4:41 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Generals Editing Forum » Tutorials Warehouse
Getting Movies into Generals
Moderators: Generals Moderators, Global Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
The-Light
Grenadier


Joined: 08 Aug 2009
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 12:10 pm    Post subject:  Getting Movies into Generals Reply with quote

I just tombled upon this while searching more useful modding programs and thought this might be useful for other modders as well.

Maybe some of you already wanted to add your own video to Generals but found that generals used Bik files, than this "Tutorial" will show you how to get your video into a ,Bik format.

How To make your movie:
Simply use Movie maker or another program, or record part of a scirmish with a recording program like AutoScreenRecorder.

Here we can get RAD Video Tools
http://www.radgametools.com/bnkdown.htm

Now we have our movie and RAD Video Tools, RAD Video Tools can open quite a substantial ammount of file types, so lets assume the movie is in an openable format. Now what we do is opening the file with RAD Video Tools, you'll be presented with a screen similar to that in the picture. I put a red circle around the Bik button, pressing that button opens up a new screen in which you can adjust some settings.

The seccond screen I've also added, I also marked with red the converter button so it'll be easy to find. Pressing that button closes this screen and opens another, that screen shows the progress of convertion. Converting a movie or video takes quite a lot of time, when having one minute of film, then ten minutes of converting time is a reasonable guess.

For people who don't like reading, here the story in short:
1 make/get a video/movie
2 Get RAD Video Tools
3 Open the movie/video with RAD Video Tools
4 Press the "Bink it" button
5 Press the "Bink" button, and wait till it's converted.
6 Name your new .bik file after the filename of the video you wish to repace, or... open up GameData.ini and edit the name of the intro movie to match yours.


RAD Video Tools.png
 Description:
Startup screen of RAD Video Tools
 Filesize:  50.72 KB
 Viewed:  5964 Time(s)

RAD Video Tools.png



RAD Video Tools2.png
 Description:
Seccond screen
 Filesize:  47.49 KB
 Viewed:  5964 Time(s)

RAD Video Tools2.png




Key Words: #Tutorials #Modding #Generals #ZeroHour #RADVideoTools #Videos 

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Frontlines
Missile Trooper


Joined: 23 Nov 2009
Location: Charleston, SC

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RAD Video tools doesn't work for me...
it's never able to open any file format.
-_-;

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
The-Light
Grenadier


Joined: 08 Aug 2009
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Frontlines wrote:
RAD Video tools doesn't work for me...
it's never able to open any file format.
-_-;


Do you get any error message, or use a 64bit system, OS other than windows?
That way i can see if i can help to find a solution.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Frontlines
Missile Trooper


Joined: 23 Nov 2009
Location: Charleston, SC

PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Windows 7, 64-bit.

Only error message I get is " Error opening file "
I've tried every file format they have for opening. All the same.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
The-Light
Grenadier


Joined: 08 Aug 2009
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

looking at their FAQ http://www.radgametools.com/binkfaq.htm tells me bink uses stuf from other applications: "The RAD Video Tools uses QuickTime to import compressed sound formats." however without having quicktime(at least i never told to install it), just vlc at home it still works.

Hmm, i'm not very fond of quicktime, but do you have it installed? I'll also check if i have it home(just to be sure) to before advising to install it.

Note: my dislike of quicktime mainly comes from my liking of vlc, and the anoying way apple software update tries to install iTunes and Safari with it(where i dislike iTunes for it being slow on my system).

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Frontlines
Missile Trooper


Joined: 23 Nov 2009
Location: Charleston, SC

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do have Quicktime.. at least, a quick search through my programs says I do.

I've run through their FAQ before, and I couldn't find anything to solve my problem. I've run it as Adminstrator, I've given full permissions to the formats I've tried.

I'm really stumped on this issue, and may just have to find someone to "Bink" Them for me, since, for whatever reason, I can't get it to work. -_-;

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
The-Light
Grenadier


Joined: 08 Aug 2009
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Searching through google tells me more people have this problem, and especially on windows 7. Now i used to run it on windows 7 without problem, strange.
I have a friend with windows 7 64bit, but there it does work, the problem with disfunctional software is it's always annoying to find the cause.

Next step would be to try and let bink think it's running on windows XP, try compatibility(right click the exe -> properties -> compatibilty select Windows XP), if that doesn't work then i'm starting to run out of idea's :S

For ultimate solutions there are 2:
-asking at their helpdesk, which i'll do when it isn't solved soon.
-i'll convert them for you.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dronemay
Civilian


Joined: 24 Aug 2018

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The-Light wrote:
Searching through google tells me more people have this problem, and especially on windows 7. Now i used to run it on windows 7 without problem, strange.
I have a friend with windows 7 64bit, but there it does work, the problem with dysfunctional software is it's always annoying to find the cause.
I also checked official Phallosan Forte tutorial/review compilation mensreviewzone.com/phallosan-forte-reviews/ and how to use the guide here.



For ultimate solutions there are 2:
-asking at their helpdesk, which i'll do when it isn't solved soon.
-i'll convert them for you.


I am Windows 8. Still getting this error message.
" Error opening file "
Twisted Evil

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Generals Editing Forum » Tutorials Warehouse
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1257s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0067s) ][ Debug on ]