Project Perfect Mod Forums
:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::


The time now is Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:12 pm
All times are UTC + 0
Anim bug help
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
freedom fighter
General


Joined: 14 May 2009

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 8:18 am    Post subject:  Anim bug help
Subject description: ActiveAnims only start to play after building gets damaged
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Not sure if this is a bug or I'm missing something but the ActiveAnims on my building seem to have a mind of their own. They only start to play and loop after the building gets  to it's damage frames. Otherwise they remain static. Only after the building gets restored to it's healthy state do the ActiveAnims continue to play as if nothing happened.

Here's the art coding:
Code:
[CAAUTO]  ; Scavenger Scrapyard
Remapable=yes
CameoPCX=icon_caauto.pcx
Foundation=5x3
Height=5
;AnimActive=0,1,0
ZShapePointMove=30,15
Buildup=CAAUTOMK
DemandLoadBuildup=true
FreeBuildup=true
ActiveAnim=CAAUTO_A
ActiveAnimDamaged=CAAUTO_A
ActiveAnimTwo=CAAUTO_B
ActiveAnimTwoDamaged=CAAUTO_BD
ActiveAnimTwoZAdjust=-25
ActiveAnimTwoYSort=-362
ActiveAnimThree=CAAUTO_F
ActiveAnimThreeDamaged=CAAUTO_F
ActiveAnimThreeZAdjust=0
ActiveAnimThreeX=21
ActiveAnimThreeY=-36
NewTheater=yes
BibShape=CAAUTOBB
OccupyHeight=3
AddOccupy1=-2,-1
RemoveOccupy1=2,-2
RemoveOccupy2=2,0
RemoveOccupy3=2,1
RemoveOccupy4=3,1
RemoveOccupy5=4,1
CanBeHidden=False
DamageFireOffset0=-32,60
DamageFireOffset1=15,85
DamageFireOffset2=73,12

[CAAUTO_A]
Normalized=yes
Start=0
LoopStart=0
LoopEnd=63
LoopCount=-1
Rate=200
Layer=ground
NewTheater=yes
Shadow=yes

[CAAUTO_B]
Normalized=yes
Start=0
LoopStart=0
LoopEnd=12
LoopCount=-1
Rate=400
Layer=ground
NewTheater=yes
Shadow=yes

[CAAUTO_BD]
Normalized=yes
Start=0
LoopStart=0
LoopEnd=12
LoopCount=-1
Rate=400
Layer=ground
NewTheater=yes
Shadow=yes

[CAAUTO_F]
Normalized=yes
Start=0
LoopStart=0
LoopEnd=12
LoopCount=-1
Rate=400
Layer=ground
NewTheater=yes
Shadow=yes

[CAAUTOBB]
Layer=ground

_________________
The future belongs to The Forgotten!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

remove the ActiveAnim*Damaged key if that has the same anim as the undamaged one. then try again.

_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freedom fighter
General


Joined: 14 May 2009

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Holy shit man wtf is even going on?! I tried rewriting the art.ini code but nothing worked. In fact two animations (CAAUTO_B and CAAUTO_BD) didn't showed up outright. Thought it might've been tied to the rules.ini but rewriting that too didn't change shit.

art.ini
Code:
[CAAUTO]  ; Scavenger Scrapyard
Remapable=yes
Normalized=no
Cameo=RATECHICON
Height=5
Foundation=5x3
DemandLoadBuildup=true
FreeBuildup=true
NewTheater=yes
DoubleThick=No
ActiveAnim=CAAUTO_A
;ActiveAnimZAdjust=-260
ActiveAnimTwo=CAAUTO_B
ActiveAnimTwoDamaged=CAAUTO_BD
ActiveAnimTwoZAdjust=-25
ActiveAnimTwoYSort=-362
ActiveAnimThree=CAAUTO_F
ActiveAnimThreeZAdjust=0
ActiveAnimThreeX=21
ActiveAnimThreeY=-36
CanHideThings=True
CanBeHidden=False
OccupyHeight=5
OccupyHeight=3
AddOccupy1=-2,-1
RemoveOccupy1=2,-2
RemoveOccupy2=2,0
RemoveOccupy3=2,1
RemoveOccupy4=3,1
RemoveOccupy5=4,1
DamageFireOffset0=-32,60
DamageFireOffset1=15,85
DamageFireOffset2=73,12
Buildup=CAAUTOMK
BibShape=CAAUTOBB

[CAAUTO_A]
Normalized=yes
Start=0
LoopStart=0
LoopEnd=63
LoopCount=-1
Rate=200
Layer=ground
NewTheater=yes
Shadow=yes

[CAAUTO_B]
Normalized=yes
Start=0
LoopStart=0
LoopEnd=12
LoopCount=-1
Rate=400
Layer=ground
NewTheater=yes
Shadow=yes

[CAAUTO_BD]
Normalized=yes
Start=0
LoopStart=0
LoopEnd=12
LoopCount=-1
Rate=400
Layer=ground
NewTheater=yes
Shadow=yes

[CAAUTO_F]
Normalized=yes
Start=0
LoopStart=0
LoopEnd=12
LoopCount=-1
Rate=400
Layer=ground
NewTheater=yes
Shadow=yes

[CAAUTOBB]
Layer=ground


rules.ini
Code:
; Scrapyard
[NATECH2]
UIName=NOSTR:Scrapyard
Name=Forgotten Scrapyard
Image=CAAUTO
BuildCat=Tech
Prerequisite=NACNST ;testing purpose
Strength=1200
Armor=concrete
TechLevel=7
Adjacent=2
Sight=6
Owner=British,French,Germans,Americans,Alliance,Russians,Confederation,Africans,Arabs,YuriCountry
RequiredHouses=Confederation
AIBasePlanningSide=1 ;gs 0 for Good, 1 for Evil
Cost=10 ;1500 ;testing purpose
Points=85
Power=100 ;testing purpose
Powered=true
Capturable=true
Crewed=yes
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUMU60
DebrisAnims=DBRIS2SM,DBRIS3LG,DBRIS3SM,DBRIS7SM,DBRIS8LG,DBRS10LG
MaxDebris=10
MinDebris=5
ThreatPosed=0   ; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys,BigGreySmokeSys
DamageSmokeOffset=200, 325, 200
AIBuildThis=yes
TogglePower=no
Spyable=yes
ProtectWithWall=yes
ImmuneToPsionics=no ; defaults to yes for buildings, no for others
ImmuneToEMP=no
SlamSound=PlaceBuilding2
VoiceSelect=JunkyardSelect


And yes, all animations were properly listed.

_________________
The future belongs to The Forgotten!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

you use Image= in rules.ini
try it without, by giving the building itself the correct ID.

Image is known to cause trouble, like ignoring ZAdjust values.


Your anims all have a CG*.shp file, right?

Your anims have all a unique index in the Animations list, right? (not that there is a later anim with the same index, thus overriding/deleting these)


DoubleThick=No
remove that line
i'm not sure but i think only no or false works, not No as game is case sensitive.
Thus this could be read wrong by the game and actually parsed as DoubleThick=yes, which might cause trouble (no clue about this key though if it can cause such anim trouble. the comment says its for chrono stuff only)

_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cxtian39
Commander


Joined: 11 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The simplest and sometimes the fastest way to solve it is hollowing out the main building art

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
freedom fighter
General


Joined: 14 May 2009

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 3:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread



I'm pretty frustrated and impressed at myself for how much I can screw up something as simple as getting anims on a structure to work. I've reworked the shp, rewrote the art.ini, even giving the structure the corret id. And yet it still doesn't budge. The anims still remain static until the structure is damaged. What sorcery is this? #Mad

art.ini
Code:
[NASCRAP]  ;Scavenger Scrapyard
Remapable=yes
CameoPCX=icon_caauto.pcx
Foundation=5x3
Height=5
ZShapePointMove=30,15
Buildup=NASCRAPMK
DemandLoadBuildup=true
FreeBuildup=true
ActiveAnim=NASCRAP_A
ActiveAnimTwo=NASCRAP_B
ActiveAnimTwoDamaged=NASCRAP_BD
ActiveAnimTwoZAdjust=-25
ActiveAnimTwoYSort=-362
ActiveAnimThree=NASCRAP_C
ActiveAnimThreeZAdjust=0
ActiveAnimThreeX=21
ActiveAnimThreeY=-36
NewTheater=yes
BibShape=NASCRAPBB
OccupyHeight=3
CanBeHidden=False
DamageFireOffset0=-32,60
DamageFireOffset1=15,85
DamageFireOffset2=73,12

[NASCRAP_A]
Normalized=yes
Start=0
LoopStart=0
LoopEnd=63
LoopCount=-1
Rate=200
Layer=ground
NewTheater=yes
Shadow=yes

[NASCRAP_B]
Normalized=yes
Start=0
LoopStart=0
LoopEnd=12
LoopCount=-1
Rate=400
Layer=ground
NewTheater=yes
Shadow=yes

[NASCRAP_BD]
Image=NASCRAP_B
Normalized=yes
Start=13
LoopStart=13
LoopEnd=26
LoopCount=-1
Rate=400
Layer=ground
NewTheater=yes
Shadow=yes

[NASCRAP_C]
Normalized=yes
Start=0
LoopStart=0
LoopEnd=12
LoopCount=-1
Rate=400
Layer=ground
NewTheater=yes
Shadow=yes

[NASCRAPBB]
Layer=ground


rules.ini
Code:
[Animations]
...
1267=NASCRAP_A
1268=NASCRAP_B
1269=NASCRAP_BD
1270=NASCRAP_C
...

; Scrapyard  ;Testing purpose
[NASCRAP]
UIName=NOSTR:Scrapyard
Name=Forgotten Scrapyard
;Image=NASCRAP
BuildCat=Tech
Prerequisite=NACNST
Strength=1200
Armor=concrete
TechLevel=7
Adjacent=2
Sight=6
Owner=British,French,Germans,Americans,Alliance,Russians,Confederation,Africans,Arabs,YuriCountry
RequiredHouses=Confederation
AIBasePlanningSide=1 ;gs 0 for Good, 1 for Evil
Cost=10 ;1500
Points=85
Power=100
Powered=true
Capturable=true
Crewed=yes
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUMU60
DebrisAnims=DBRIS2SM,DBRIS3LG,DBRIS3SM,DBRIS7SM,DBRIS8LG,DBRS10LG
MaxDebris=10
MinDebris=5
ThreatPosed=0   ; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys,BigGreySmokeSys
DamageSmokeOffset=200, 325, 200
AIBuildThis=yes
TogglePower=no
Spyable=yes
ProtectWithWall=yes
ImmuneToPsionics=no ; defaults to yes for buildings, no for others
ImmuneToEMP=no
SlamSound=PlaceBuilding2
VoiceSelect=JunkyardSelect


As you can see, much of the code is nothing out of the ordinary. So why does this keep happening?

_________________
The future belongs to The Forgotten!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 6:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

...um...
Are you sure the SHPs themselves are even read properly by the game..? (MIX madness)

Or that the SHPs themselves are... well...
'up to standard'..? (hollowed out or not hollowed out, that is the question)

Hold up, I think I remember something like this...
Try Powered=no

Might not do anything, unless you were chking for the anims working while you were low on power (I often reach that because who cares about suffiecent power when you're testing/debugging?).

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Twitter Channel URL Skype Account
freedom fighter
General


Joined: 14 May 2009

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Fuck my life. That was all I needed to do?! It finally worked! Damn you brain! Face palm!

Maybe its been a while since I left modding so I'm coming back rusty. Thx TAK02 Embarassed

_________________
The future belongs to The Forgotten!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

freedom fighter wrote:
Fuck my life. That was all I needed to do?! It finally worked! Damn you brain! Face palm!

Maybe its been a while since I left modding so I'm coming back rusty. Thx TAK02 Embarassed


The fragging Gadunka?!

That actually was the problem?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Twitter Channel URL Skype Account
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

that would be actually a bug, since on a Powered=yes building, an anim only stops playing if it also has ActiveAnim*Powered=yes set in art.ini (default is no).

_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 4:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Lin Kuei Ominae wrote:
that would be actually a bug, since on a Powered=yes building, an anim only stops playing if it also has ActiveAnim*Powered=yes set in art.ini (default is no).

Not necessarily. Powered=yes overrides those, from what I can tell.
Dunno if this is the same as in TS, but if not, then RA2/YR/Ares-only logic, I guess.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Twitter Channel URL Skype Account
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
 
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1839s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0091s) ][ Debug on ]