:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Wed Nov 14, 2018 9:45 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Ares (Unofficial Forum)
Ideas & suggestions
Moderators: Ares Support Team at PPM, Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 11 of 11 [522 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11
Author Message
Ich-Henker
AA Infantry


Joined: 06 Aug 2015
Location: Germany/Austria

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Virgil: thanks for your suggestions and no thanks for questioning my visions for my mod - a ship drop is quite cool, pretty cinematic and emphasizes naval combat a bit more . More important: TechLevel=-1 on units wil prevent them from being built by AI even though the AI has it's own logic of producing teams with triggers utilizing task forces via aimd.ini.; please test before making claims that are wrong and misinforming. I had this discussion and confirmation before, this is a modding myth as is techLevel=11.
I tested it again with the help of a debug log and while miners are excluded from this logic all other units E1, GGI, ADOG, TANY, ORCA do not appear on the same map, same timeframe, same conditions when their TechLevel=-1.
Maybe Alex is going to solve it, he looks at the code right now.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RehteA
Soldier


Joined: 16 Oct 2013

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AI does respect TechLevel when building units but ignores Prerequisite.

To make an ai-only unit, just put some unbuildable building into Prerequisite List to prevent human player building.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TechLevel=-1 units are not created by AI. I did update ModEnc myself, the lines below the table.

Could try setting [GlobalControls] -> AllowBypassBuildLimit=yes,yes,yes and then use BuildLimit=0 on the AI only buildable units.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
Commander


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Virgil wrote:
TechLevel=-1 doesnt prevent AI from building it and TechLevel=11 prevents everyone from building it, AI also doesnt respect Prerequisite=.

This is possible if you're handling RA2 and MP INIs there (someone please re-confirm here), but not YR with Ares.
I just tested it myself on every tank in mpbattle.ini as well as rules.
The AI doesn't build them or the test building which also got TechLevel=-1.

Hmm... Is there a way to make tanks player-buildable, but not for the AI? From what ModEnc says, AIBuildThis is purely for buildings...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
Virgil
Soldier


Joined: 22 Jul 2018

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Checked it again and it turned out to be so, sorry for that line. I didnt pay too much attention to AI things and what I can remember is that setting TechLevel=-1 in single player maps didnt prevent AI from building those units in YR with Ares, so is there something different between map ini and rules, when they are treated by the game engine, or between SP and MP maps?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m7
Commander


Joined: 17 Apr 2009
Location: The Fang

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Hmm... Is there a way to make tanks player-buildable, but not for the AI? From what ModEnc says, AIBuildThis is purely for buildings...

It's called leaving them out of ai(md).ini. :p
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RIAKTOR
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 23 Nov 2013

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very useful idea: DebrisNumber for different types of debris. It is useful in mods with turrets and pilots in debris. I hate when tank explode to two turrets or one corpse without metal debris.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silentrzk
Civilian


Joined: 03 Oct 2018

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

greetings ppm. i've registered but i've been lurking here for a while. i would like to share my requests here and i hope anyone, especially AlexB, can share their thoughts about my requests.

1. a tag that warhead with MindControl=yes can bypass ImmuneToPsionics=yes

2. make helicopters "face their enemies" when attacking and not relying to OmniFire=yes tag on their weapons

3. make Cloakable.Powered work for units too

4. a "rage" mode that when an unit is in critical health, it will increase its abilities such as firepower, ROF, others. let's say adrenaline rush? lol

5. have a tag for country that can only be selected by RandomSelect. this is for making sides/countries that acts like a secret or boss side/country and much better if only AI can pick this

6. have ally damage modifier tag. this is for units with destructive death weapons

7. be able to remove trees when placing buildings on trees

8. individual cost for a specific TechnoType by country. Example tag would be Cost.CountryA=, Cost.CountryB=, and so on


chr0nicz420 wrote:

* Regarding the thread that I created. Something like, make a tag that is applicable for AI that when they encounter enemies, they will use their deploy weapon instead of the standard weapon. Something like "AI.UseDeployWeapon=yes" tag. This is for the sake of returning the RA2's GI behavior when they approach targets. NOTE: I've check EVERYTHING RELATED TO AI.INI, AIMD.INI, AND THEIR GI'S SCRIPTS and they have NO DIFFERENCE whatsoever so there might be some changes or problems on GI's behavior on YR engine.


i am playing both RA2 and YR and i agree that there might be some changes in the engine and units with Deployer and deploy weapon got wonky

to expand your request sir, i think it is better if they will make AI more intelligent on selecting their weapons between their primary weapon and deployed weapon. example would be Guardian GI will use primary weapon against infantry but will use deployed weapon against vehicles and air units when they face them or a unit with anti ground weapon as its primary and it also has anti air weapon as its deploy secondary weapon and AI be able to distinguish what weapons should they pick when they face either a ground unit or an air unit

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cxtian39
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fix AE can't cover air unit
_________________
Aircraft Factory Mod
Command & Conquer: Genetic Rhapsody

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
KALAPS S8
Grenadier


Joined: 02 Aug 2012

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why attache effects not visible in cloackaeble unit and no option hide attache effects enemy ?

This problem for active/passive mode for cloackable unit and other unit in deploy mode (Using Convert.Deploy)
Enemy know mode(unit) player, this very bad.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ollerus
Civilian


Joined: 15 May 2018
Location: China

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[Infantry] ProduceAmount=(integer, default to 1)
When producing this infantry type, the Barracks will generate such amount of infantry at once. Think of Red Guard in Generals.

[Supwerweapon] could we update SW.AITargeting to make it support different AI difficulties? (or by new tags)
Also this: SW.TechLevel=(integer, default to 10), decide you can use this superweapon in which TechLevel.

Also I'm suspecting that mind control is somewhat broken (or at least permanent control) I cannot use it to control buildings in Ares 2.0.
_________________
Do you wish a new world?

Last edited by Ollerus on Sun Oct 21, 2018 6:18 pm; edited 1 time in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID
Bu7loos
Commander


Joined: 27 Jul 2011
Location: Kuwait

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it possible to make the unit to unit conversion via deploy work on aircraft's as well ? Would really like to use that swing wing (Or variable geometry for an aircraft like the F-14)  concept or changing aircraft's weaponry load-out  like the CnC-3 firehawk.
_________________
Call me "Victor" if you find it anoying to type my account name #Tongue.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WoodleMyNoodle
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 09 Apr 2018

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SpyEffect.MaxStolenMoney would be great to have.
SpyEffect.StolenMoneyPercentage is way too OP against AI without it in quite some cases.

Cheers.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Virgil
Soldier


Joined: 22 Jul 2018

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WoodleMyNoodle wrote:
SpyEffect.MaxStolenMoney would be great to have.
SpyEffect.StolenMoneyPercentage is way too OP against AI without it in quite some cases.

Cheers.


Isnt SpyEffect.StolenMoneyAmount working for this?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WoodleMyNoodle
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 09 Apr 2018

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, that steals a standard amount of money, which is not what I want.
I basically want to use the percentage system but with a limit.

Also, percentage doesn't work as soon as StolenMoneyAmount is above 0.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
Commander


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@m7: lol, I completely forgot that's how it works Laughing

OpenTopped.Turret=

If yes, then Passengers in this vehicle (if it's OpenTopped, else ignore this) are not allowed to fire unless the turret is facing the target.
Alternatively, this set on a weapon dissallows it from being fired unless the vehicle's turret has the proper facing.

OpenTopped.Tank=

Just like the above, except it's for the tank body.
(Think of the Lasher Tank's grinder up front put to good use)

OpenTopped.SingleTarget=

Forces all the Passengers to fire either at one target or not at all.
(To give the impression it's one multi-weaponed tank going full ballistic)

OpenTopped.SingleFire=

Disallows all but one Passenger to fire.
Alternatively, dissallows firing of this weapon as long as the other folks keep firing.

I already requested a RustyTurret, but I think Turret.Rusty (or maybe Turret=rusty) would be a better name #Tongue

All default to no.
_________________
One and only developer of C&C S. True Supremacy.
Youtube: C&C Supremacy Mod | Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue
I once ninja'd MigEater #Tongue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
OmegaBolt
President


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Location: York, England

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A random delay for the AI firing super weapons could be a nice quality of life thing, as they always have the money to fire and take no time to aim etc, it can be quite annoying when they do it so regularly with 5 support powers or something.

[Superweapon]
SW.AIFireDelay=minutes minumum,minutes maximum

Sets a min and maximum delay. A random value inbetween is generated after each time the SW is fired & the AI can only fire the SW once this value + the SW timer is done.
_________________
TAK02 wrote:
Screw AttachEffect. Can't think of any use for it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
MasterHaosis
Commander


Joined: 01 Nov 2010

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree with OmegaBolt. That would be nice feature. It will give impression of AI actually ,,thinking and planning" superweapon to fire, and less unpredictable

TAK02, for battle fortress I would also like to have tag which prevents it to crush enemies if infantry are filled inside. So only when empty, battle fortress is going to omni crush, but when filled with infantry, then it becomes regular open topped unit, so only passengers fire out.
_________________
OrangeNero wrote:
Me picking a fight? I know I am the greatest user alive here so everyone starts reading topics with my posts first and ignores the ones before and after.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silentrzk
Civilian


Joined: 03 Oct 2018

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2018 6:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Silentrzk wrote:
greetings ppm. i've registered but i've been lurking here for a while. i would like to share my requests here and i hope anyone, especially AlexB, can share their thoughts about my requests.

1. a tag that warhead with MindControl=yes can bypass ImmuneToPsionics=yes

2. make helicopters "face their enemies" when attacking and not relying to OmniFire=yes tag on their weapons

3. make Cloakable.Powered work for units too

4. a "rage" mode that when an unit is in critical health, it will increase its abilities such as firepower, ROF, others. let's say adrenaline rush? lol

5. have a tag for country that can only be selected by RandomSelect. this is for making sides/countries that acts like a secret or boss side/country and much better if only AI can pick this

6. have ally damage modifier tag. this is for units with destructive death weapons

7. be able to remove trees when placing buildings on trees

8. individual cost for a specific TechnoType by country. Example tag would be Cost.CountryA=, Cost.CountryB=, and so on


chr0nicz420 wrote:

* Regarding the thread that I created. Something like, make a tag that is applicable for AI that when they encounter enemies, they will use their deploy weapon instead of the standard weapon. Something like "AI.UseDeployWeapon=yes" tag. This is for the sake of returning the RA2's GI behavior when they approach targets. NOTE: I've check EVERYTHING RELATED TO AI.INI, AIMD.INI, AND THEIR GI'S SCRIPTS and they have NO DIFFERENCE whatsoever so there might be some changes or problems on GI's behavior on YR engine.


i am playing both RA2 and YR and i agree that there might be some changes in the engine and units with Deployer and deploy weapon got wonky

to expand your request sir, i think it is better if they will make AI more intelligent on selecting their weapons between their primary weapon and deployed weapon. example would be Guardian GI will use primary weapon against infantry but will use deployed weapon against vehicles and air units when they face them or a unit with anti ground weapon as its primary and it also has anti air weapon as its deploy secondary weapon and AI be able to distinguish what weapons should they pick when they face either a ground unit or an air unit


i would like to add something on my requests regarding cloaking

9. make cloakable units can be only detected with specific units/buildings with Sensors=yes. example would be naval units can only be detected by other naval units but cannot be detected by other units with Sensors=yes such as SUB then Cloakable.OnlyDetectedBy=DEST,DLPH,etc

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cxtian39
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: United States

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2018 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Silentrzk wrote:
9. make cloakable units can be only detected with specific units/buildings with Sensors=yes. example would be naval units can only be detected by other naval units but cannot be detected by other units with Sensors=yes such as SUB then Cloakable.OnlyDetectedBy=DEST,DLPH,etc

Requested this the page before
cxtian39 wrote:
CloakType=integer

SensorsType=integer

Sensors can only detect cloak units of the same type number
I want to distinguish submarines and actual cloak units, i.e. a Pitbull buggy can see a Stealth Tank but can not see a Boomer sub.


ANOTHER ONE:
SubjectToEntity=no
This projectile can pass through any obstacles without hitting them. i.e. a missile can pass through a cliff and hit its target


Custom pip files:
[Techno]
PipsFile=
Pips2File=

Unlimited List Lengths:
SW.Designators=a list of all infantry types
_________________
Aircraft Factory Mod
Command & Conquer: Genetic Rhapsody

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Virgil
Soldier


Joined: 22 Jul 2018

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Customizable FactoryPlant types, so that one factory plant only affect the price of some specific techno types, just as Academies do.
i.e.
FactoryPlant.Types=(list of techno types)
FactoryPlant.Ignores=(list of techno types)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WinterKonata
Medic


Joined: 28 Sep 2016

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

expanding PsychicReveal super weapon by adding a tag if it can decloak stealth targets within its range for a certain duration

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 11 of 11 [522 Posts] Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11
View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Ares (Unofficial Forum)
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1724s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0254s) ][ Debug on ]