:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Sun Dec 16, 2018 10:57 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Ares (Unofficial Forum)
The next Ares
Moderators: Ares Support Team at PPM, Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 6 of 6 [266 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Author Message
G-E
General


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well that could be resolved by being specific in what AE it removes no? Then you could have a keyword like <all> to operate as a blanket.
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OmegaBolt
President


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Location: York, England

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then another good addition might be AttachEffect.Type=a unique ID so you can group AE's together, as right now its just the warhead that delivered it AFAIK.

Then you could have AttachEffect.RemoveTypes=list of type IDs.
_________________
TAK02 wrote:
Screw AttachEffect. Can't think of any use for it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
cxtian39
Commander


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: United States

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OmegaBolt wrote:
AttachEffect.Type=a unique ID
That contradicts negative AEs. We do want the two same AEs with pos and neg duration so that they can weaken each other like Psychedelic and EMP.
The dilemma is, if they have different duration, they have to be different AE, haha?
The old structure can't work this out I guess.
Please rewrite the whole AE system #Tongue
_________________
Aircraft Factory Mod
Command & Conquer: Genetic Rhapsody

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
OmegaBolt
President


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Location: York, England

PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2018 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cxtian39 wrote:
OmegaBolt wrote:
AttachEffect.Type=a unique ID
That contradicts negative AEs. We do want the two same AEs with pos and neg duration so that they can weaken each other like Psychedelic and EMP.
The dilemma is, if they have different duration, they have to be different AE, haha?
Uh what? Why? I don't understand how it contradicts "negative AEs". As for the duration, the solution is simple: if its cumulative add them together, if not then set the value to the longest duration, as is done with other time based effects.
_________________
TAK02 wrote:
Screw AttachEffect. Can't think of any use for it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
cxtian39
Commander


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: United States

PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2018 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OmegaBolt wrote:
cxtian39 wrote:
OmegaBolt wrote:
AttachEffect.Type=a unique ID
That contradicts negative AEs. We do want the two same AEs with pos and neg duration so that they can weaken each other like Psychedelic and EMP.
The dilemma is, if they have different duration, they have to be different AE, haha?
Uh what? Why? I don't understand how it contradicts "negative AEs". As for the duration, the solution is simple: if its cumulative add them together, if not then set the value to the longest duration, as is done with other time based effects.
Duration is unique for every AE types if it's unique. You can't do 2 warheads with the same type of AE but different duration.
Code:
[Warhead1]
AttachEffect.Duration=50 ; pos effect
AttachEffect.SpeedMultiplier=0.5
AttachEffect.Cumulative=yes
AttachEffect.Type=SLOWDOWN

[Warhead2]
AttachEffect.Duration=-10 ;neg effect reduces timer
AttachEffect.SpeedMultiplier=0.5
AttachEffect.Cumulative=yes
AttachEffect.Type=???; SLOWDOWN?? But it's unique...

Then negative duration is completely useless because there isn't any other positive duration AE of the same type it can interact with.

This 1-to-1 relationship needs to be changed...
Even a shared type can't fix it.

I suggest AE sections.
Code:
[AttachEffectTypes]
0=SLOWDOWN
1=SPEEDUP

[SLOWDOWN]
; all AE properties except duration go here
SpeedMultiplier=0.5
Cumulative=yes
Animation=AESLOWDOWNANIM

[Warhead1]
AttachEffect=SLOWDOWN
AttachEffect.Duration=50

[Warhead2]
AttachEffect=SLOWDOWN
AttachEffect.Duration=-10

_________________
Aircraft Factory Mod
Command & Conquer: Genetic Rhapsody

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
OmegaBolt
President


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Location: York, England

PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2018 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I still don't remotely understand your point. #Tongue  Of course you could do different durations if they're the same type. That's how EMP, psychedelic, sonar, weapons disabling etc works.
_________________
TAK02 wrote:
Screw AttachEffect. Can't think of any use for it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
cxtian39
Commander


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2018 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OmegaBolt wrote:
Of course you could do different durations if they're the same type.
#Mad If durations are different they must not be the same types, for AttachEffect

The fact is, if AEs are defined at different places, they are different.

Try this and they are not gonna cancel each other Twisted Evil
Code:
[SA]
AttachEffect.Duration=10000
AttachEffect.SpeedMultiplier=0
AttachEffect.Cumulative=yes

[AP]
AttachEffect.Duration=-10000
AttachEffect.SpeedMultiplier=0
AttachEffect.Cumulative=yes

_________________
Aircraft Factory Mod
Command & Conquer: Genetic Rhapsody

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
OmegaBolt
President


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Location: York, England

PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2018 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But theres no reason why that would have to be the case. That's why I suggested a type tag, so you could link AEs together for the purpose of removal or not overlapping. I don't know why this is hard to understand lol. The other special effects already do it.
_________________
TAK02 wrote:
Screw AttachEffect. Can't think of any use for it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
WoodleMyNoodle
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 09 Apr 2018

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 3:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also have another question, would it perhaps be possible to expand on the Saboteur logic?

I don't want the saboteur to actually destroy the building upon entering. I basically want it to fire a weapon once after an x period of time.(after entering the building)

For example:
[TechnoType]
Saboteur=yes
Saboteur.Weapon=

Another suggestion would be adding an AIAdjacencyBonus=
Which is similar to the AINavalYardAdacency, but applicable to all buildings.

Also, some expansion on the overload count & overload damage would be very useful. If it were possible to make it a non-public tag so we can have different values for different units, it would be great.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cxtian39
Commander


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 4:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Custom gravity for arcing projectiles

[DumbCannon]
Arcing=true
Arcing.Gravity=3; default to [AudioVisual]>Gravity
_________________
Aircraft Factory Mod
Command & Conquer: Genetic Rhapsody

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
OmegaBolt
President


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Location: York, England

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[Warhead]
SuppressDieSound=bool

Would be most useful for AnimToInfantry transformations that are meant to be positive for the player. Infantry screaming in agony as they're being given better equipment sends the wrong message. #Tongue
_________________
TAK02 wrote:
Screw AttachEffect. Can't think of any use for it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
MasterHaosis
Commander


Joined: 01 Nov 2010

PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2018 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I support that.
Also, it would be wise if tag could be added to infantry type to prevent it from changing direction randomly. Infantry do that always, but we have some ,,special" infantry which are not meant to be regular troops (driving boats, bikes, aliens, robots/drones etc...)
_________________
OrangeNero wrote:
Me picking a fight? I know I am the greatest user alive here so everyone starts reading topics with my posts first and ignores the ones before and after.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WoodleMyNoodle
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 09 Apr 2018

PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2018 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was also wondering, although it may be quite difficult.. Would it be possible to add a switch to animations?

For example; a switch would alternate between different animations and keeps cycling through the list.

[Anim1]
Switch.Lists=1
Switch.List1=Anim2
Switch.List2=Anim3
Switch.Rate=300 (Amount of frames between the switch)

This would be great regarding attacheffect animations for example.

It would also be perfect if it was possible if you could make superweapons not show up in the armory tab using:
DontShow=yes

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fortranm
Civilian


Joined: 10 Aug 2018

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2018 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
AI picks power plants respecting the prerequisites of the structure (fix by FS-21)

It seems AIs would still build the basic power plants regardless of the prerequisites. Is this intentional so that the AIs always have at least one type of power plant to build?

Last edited by Fortranm on Sun Nov 18, 2018 4:49 pm; edited 1 time in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RehteA
Soldier


Joined: 16 Oct 2013

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2018 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[General]
XXXModifier.Min= float
XXXModifier.Max= float

XXX can be Firepower, Armor, Speed and ROF, default to none means no limit

[TechnoType]
XXXModifier.Min= float
XXXModifier.Max= float

default to values in [General]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2018 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fortranm wrote:
Quote:
AI picks power plants respecting the prerequisites of the structure (fix by FS-21)

It seems AIs would still build the basic power plants regardless of the prerequisites. Is this intentional so that the AIs always have at least one type of power plant to build?

AI uses the first building for that side in BuildPower (or its Ares equivalent) to build its first powerplant. The bug was regarding prereq of NodAdvancedPower that is Sov Nuke Reactor in few Ares versions, that is fixed now.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 6 of 6 [266 Posts] Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Ares (Unofficial Forum)
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.2290s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0871s) ][ Debug on ]