:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:35 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Media Hut
Blender templates [TD/RA & TS & RA2]
Moderators: Global Moderators, Media Hut Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators, Tiberian Sun Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 3 of 3 [138 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
DonutArnold
General


Joined: 18 Jan 2005
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep. With this you don't need to post-edit canvas scale (image cropping) ever again. If you have rendered stuff with 640x480 scale, you can use the same trick to scale the canvas down with Blender. I'll upload a separate Blender file for that later...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Agent Z
AA Infantry


Joined: 05 Sep 2013
Location: LocationNotFoundException at RealLife.Location.find() at line: -1

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have noticed something when using the cycles template. If the emission of a material is set too high (Think 5 was too high), the material will render as black in the template.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PussyPus
Commander


Joined: 14 Jul 2015
Location: Underground Clone City

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Resizing canvas did't work it's still 640x480.
_________________
If you are a MetalHead (Heavy Metal Fan) and don't want to be a metalhead, Just remove your metal ball from your head. �:p .

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
DonutArnold
General


Joined: 18 Jan 2005
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Agent Z: Will check that at some point. I haven't worked with the Cycles template for a long time.

@PussyPus: Did you check the path/folder you put in the node output? Also, did you check that the correct template was selected (from the top)?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PussyPus
Commander


Joined: 14 Jul 2015
Location: Underground Clone City

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This what exactly happened, the size never work.


2017-08-02 18-11-07-902.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  84.67 KB
 Viewed:  2845 Time(s)

2017-08-02 18-11-07-902.png



_________________
If you are a MetalHead (Heavy Metal Fan) and don't want to be a metalhead, Just remove your metal ball from your head. �:p .

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
PussyPus
Commander


Joined: 14 Jul 2015
Location: Underground Clone City

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works now!, but the problem is the imported images gets corrupted colors, like here below, even the blue background uses the shadow color.


colorbug.png
 Description:
unittem.pal: background color (0-255) uses shadow color (1-255)
 Filesize:  5.5 KB
 Viewed:  2810 Time(s)

colorbug.png



_________________
If you are a MetalHead (Heavy Metal Fan) and don't want to be a metalhead, Just remove your metal ball from your head. �:p .

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
PussyPus
Commander


Joined: 14 Jul 2015
Location: Underground Clone City

PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2017 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another Question, everytime i do a rotating object for converting it to SHP, it gives me smooth starting rotation and ending rotation, witch it's the opposite of gmax's frame moving (sharp moving like all the original ra2 and yr buildings), how to make it move sharply like the other building buildups?
_________________
If you are a MetalHead (Heavy Metal Fan) and don't want to be a metalhead, Just remove your metal ball from your head. �:p .

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
DonutArnold
General


Joined: 18 Jan 2005
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Finally got some time and interest to check Cycles, this attached image is just freshly rendered from RA2 template.

Changelist for versio 1.02 will be:
- Added sky texture which will allow more realistic renders. It'll affect specular/glossy materials much more than matte materials by making them have a tint of sky blue.
- Fixed lighting, I don't know why I put that crappy mix node to mix shadow and image. Instead of that I added a gamma node.
- Fixed shadows (frames), they wasn't good enough as they had mixed black, dark blue and graininess mixed.
- Enabled Denoiser feature which is available on the newest Blender 2.79, so in order to use this you need to update your Blender. The Denoiser provides a really nice and smooth result with 100 samples and attached image took 4.5 seconds to render. With same level of quality/smoothness without denoiser it would have taken at least 5 times longer.
- I tested Principled Shader, which looks great with above changes. I highly recommend using this as it saves a lot of time playing with materials.


template_cycles01.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  109.1 KB
 Viewed:  2323 Time(s)

template_cycles01.png



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DonutArnold
General


Joined: 18 Jan 2005
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And it's released, happy modeling!

Cycles version 1.02 changes:
-Smoother AA, was quite sharp
-Improved lighting
-Added Denoiser (requires Blender versio 2.79)
-Added background texture to give more realistic touch with the materials and blue tint for glossy materials
-Fixed shadow cast on objects by removing a node that broke it and added gamma node to correct brightness/shadow ratio
-Fixed grainy shadow frames which also had dark blue colors
-Fixed lighting affecting other scenes (thanks to Blender Foundation) (requires Blender versio 2.79)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Agent Z
AA Infantry


Joined: 05 Sep 2013
Location: LocationNotFoundException at RealLife.Location.find() at line: -1

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent work, especially on the lighting! This will certainly be very useful.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kamuix
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 02 Nov 2012
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 1:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is a small tower i came up with


qualtower.PNG
 Description:
 Filesize:  11.13 KB
 Viewed:  1250 Time(s)

qualtower.PNG



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DonutArnold
General


Joined: 18 Jan 2005
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Finally CnC Template for Blender 2.8 EEVEE render engine is work in progress. In this render the lighting is almost 1:1 with the regular template's lighting. However, this is best I can achieve with cast shadows because there's still something wrong with Blender 2.8 beta's lighting and shadows. I hope that one day the shadow quality will be better.


cnc_eevee_01_01.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  17.92 KB
 Viewed:  1107 Time(s)

cnc_eevee_01_01.png



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PussyPus
Commander


Joined: 14 Jul 2015
Location: Underground Clone City

PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2019 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I encountered an error with the main template blend file (not the cycles one), when i click on 'Run Script' button on any 'Script' on any 'Scene' except for the scene 'Red Alert 2', i get an error related to 'Python Script Failure', i didn't change anything on blender since i got a new laptop in September 2018, sorry for reporting it late.
_________________
If you are a MetalHead (Heavy Metal Fan) and don't want to be a metalhead, Just remove your metal ball from your head. �:p .

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
DonutArnold
General


Joined: 18 Jan 2005
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2019 5:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for a bug report, I'll fix it asap.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DonutArnold
General


Joined: 18 Jan 2005
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2019 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

New CnC Version 2.11 released.
-Fixed run script error caused by wrongly named Switch node (thanks PussyPus for notifying me)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ReFlex
Disk Thrower


Joined: 18 Jul 2006
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2019 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome work!

It has been a long time since I made my last post here.  Shocked

I'm switching at the moment from 3dsmax to blender 2.8 and for learning I also made my own shitty RA2 template in blender:

Ignore the ugly building, I made it just for testing. Wink

It works without scripts and 100% on Eevee, I only used the compositor.

Testet it with the shp editor, but it does not use the background and shadow color.

Maybe, if someone is interested, I could upload the blender file.


wftest.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  63.16 KB
 Viewed:  858 Time(s)

wftest.JPG



untitled0000.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  939.7 KB
 Viewed:  858 Time(s)

untitled0000.png



_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DonutArnold
General


Joined: 18 Jan 2005
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2019 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yo ReFlex, glad to hear that you liked using my Blender template and that you've taken interest on Blender. I'm currently making templates for Blender 2.8 with 100% full Cycles and Eevee support in the same file and I'll be releasing it at some point in the near future. Come back later, to grab it. Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ReFlex
Disk Thrower


Joined: 18 Jul 2006
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2019 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DonutArnold wrote:
Yo ReFlex, glad to hear that you liked using my Blender template and that you've taken interest on Blender. I'm currently making templates for Blender 2.8 with 100% full Cycles and Eevee support in the same file and I'll be releasing it at some point in the near future. Come back later, to grab it. Smile


I have not downloaded your template, just looked the pictures, I made my template 100% by myself. because I wanted to find a own way to get a result.
And yes, Blender 2.8 really nice.  Very Happy
I see no shadows on all screens, how do you make them? Alpha Channel?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DonutArnold
General


Joined: 18 Jan 2005
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In Blender Render Engine I used transparency for the blue plane and in Cycles I used a holdout shader.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ReFlex
Disk Thrower


Joined: 18 Jul 2006
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use transparency for the shadow, and change it with the compositor to green. Very Happy

Is green (0,255,0) the right color for shadows, the SHP editor does not use it for the shadow?  Question

(I'm only using Eevee in Blender. )
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only program that uses green for the shadows is XCC Mixer, when it's converting a SHP into individual frames. Everything else uses dark blue for shadows (like the game).

The actual colour doesn't mater much though, only that the colour is using a specific slot in the pal file; 2 for dark blue & 5 for green.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
ReFlex
Disk Thrower


Joined: 18 Jul 2006
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And how should the image look for shp import?
Is there a way to import it with the right shadow, or is there always need to give the shadow in the shp editor the right color?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can use any distinct color that you are comfortable with for background and shadows. SHP Builder/Image Shaper tools use 256-colored palettes to import the rendered images into SHP files. And custom palettes could be made in a minute or two with palette editor tool to set the background or shadow colors of your choice. Color at first index in the palette is used for backgound and at 2nd index is used for shadow. Those colors differ based on game (TS/RA2) and theater (snow/temperate) etc.

You should keep the normal frames without shadow first and then equal number of frames which contains only shadow. Then import it to make the SHP file.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ReFlex
Disk Thrower


Joined: 18 Jul 2006
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I have changed a few things and made two outputs.
I also fixed the position of the camera.


shptest.JPG
 Description:
SHP Editor test, works perfect
 Filesize:  66.94 KB
 Viewed:  672 Time(s)

shptest.JPG



Image0001.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  422.93 KB
 Viewed:  698 Time(s)

Image0001.png



Image0001.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  422.93 KB
 Viewed:  698 Time(s)

Image0001.png



_________________

Last edited by ReFlex on Fri Apr 19, 2019 5:52 am; edited 1 time in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Grantelbart
Medic


Joined: 13 Apr 2019
Location: southern Germany (Austria)

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, when you said that you have to "Move the model so its (top)corner is at zero-point." you meant this point, correct? I always placed the model into the middle and I was wondering, why the shadows don't look right #Tongue


blender templato.PNG
 Description:
 Filesize:  49.15 KB
 Viewed:  663 Time(s)

blender templato.PNG



_________________
I use Arch btw Cool

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ReFlex
Disk Thrower


Joined: 18 Jul 2006
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Look at the image with the grid, the cam is pointing to the middle and the building needs to be "under" the middle".
If you look my image with the weapon factory, it was to far below.


Unbenannt.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  335.66 KB
 Viewed:  654 Time(s)

Unbenannt.JPG



_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Grantelbart
Medic


Joined: 13 Apr 2019
Location: southern Germany (Austria)

PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2019 5:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks alot! Grüße aus Vorarlberg #Tongue
_________________
I use Arch btw Cool

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ReFlex
Disk Thrower


Joined: 18 Jul 2006
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2019 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grantelbart wrote:
Thanks alot! Grüße aus Vorarlberg #Tongue


NP, und schöne Grüße aus der Steiermark. Wink

I will make a second template for tiberian sun and release both this weekend for all.
Can someone please tell me the tile size of tiberian sun? I can't find the info.  Confused
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2019 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The rectangle tile size for TS is 48x24, for RA2 is 60x30. Make a diamond/rhombus inside it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Grantelbart
Medic


Joined: 13 Apr 2019
Location: southern Germany (Austria)

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, could someone tell me what the "template" file is for?
I always opened the template file and then I went to file > open to open the cycles file, but today I found out that it doesn't combine the two files, but just opens the cycles file. So what's the template file for, or what am I doing wrong?
_________________
I use Arch btw Cool

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DonutArnold
General


Joined: 18 Jan 2005
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Template file is for having the right lighting and render settings out of the box instead of manually each time setting them. You can have two approaches when you're creating assets you want to render for a C&C game:
1. You create a new blender file and model your asset. Then you will append that model to the template by opening the template, File -> Append -> .blend file -> Object -> Select all the needed objects, without camera and lights.
2. You open the template, save it as copy and then start modeling your asset. When you are done you can render it out right away.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Grantelbart
Medic


Joined: 13 Apr 2019
Location: southern Germany (Austria)

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunatelly, when I do that I get grainy rendered images again #Tongue So I either have to look at the cycles setting from the cycles file and change the replace the ones in the template file OR I just use the cycles file, since there already seems to be a good template included.
_________________
I use Arch btw Cool

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DonutArnold
General


Joined: 18 Jan 2005
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What render engine are you using to create your models? Cycles or Blender Render?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Grantelbart
Medic


Joined: 13 Apr 2019
Location: southern Germany (Austria)

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried all renderers actually. The problem is that if I open the template file it doesn't have your cycles configuration (which is what I meant before). But when I open the cycles file only everything is fine. That's why I asked what the template file is for.
_________________
I use Arch btw Cool

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DonutArnold
General


Joined: 18 Jan 2005
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cycles template is for Cycles render engine and CnC template is for Blender Render engine.

If you've created your model with Cycles engine, you use the Cycles template, and if you've created it with Blender Render engine, you use the CnC template. Blender Render doesn't support Cycles materials and vice versa.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ReFlex
Disk Thrower


Joined: 18 Jul 2006
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2019 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are using Blender 2.8, Eevee works pretty good. (seen on my images above)
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ReFlex
Disk Thrower


Joined: 18 Jul 2006
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2019 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If someone wants to try my template, here is it with the tesla coil as sample:
Blender 2.8 is required!
Just press "F12" and the rendered images are in the same folder as the blender file.
_________________

Last edited by ReFlex on Tue Jun 11, 2019 2:04 pm; edited 1 time in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ReFlex
Disk Thrower


Joined: 18 Jul 2006
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So.... any feedback about my Blender 2.8 template?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 3 of 3 [138 Posts] Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Media Hut
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 1.8748s ][ Queries: 25 (1.2942s) ][ Debug on ]