:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Tue Jun 25, 2019 2:12 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
Cliff Passable by Hover Unit
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [16 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
cxtian39
Commander


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: United States

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2019 6:39 am    Post subject:  Cliff Passable by Hover Unit Reply with quote

Is it possible?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Allen
Cyborg Specialist


Joined: 13 Feb 2007
Location: C:\Westwood\ TechLevel=12

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2019 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Should be able to. Find

; ******* Land Characteristics *******

in the rules and all terrain types are listed.
_________________


C&C in RA-1 Get it here
http://www.ppmsite.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=30101 100+ Single Player Missions! Now playable on CnCNet 5!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2019 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that would only make the unit able to move on cells with Land=cliff, but it would not allow it to move across the height difference. Only fly locomotor can do this IIRC.
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OmegaBolt
President


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Location: York, England

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2019 9:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pretty sure that isn't true. If you have a broken cliff conscripts can simply walk through (and up / down the height the difference). Think its just the terrain type that's blocking movement.
_________________
TAK02 wrote:
Screw AttachEffect. Can't think of any use for it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Allen
Cyborg Specialist


Joined: 13 Feb 2007
Location: C:\Westwood\ TechLevel=12

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2019 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I tested this in TS with the Hover MLRS years ago and found it worked but pathfinding was janky
_________________


C&C in RA-1 Get it here
http://www.ppmsite.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=30101 100+ Single Player Missions! Now playable on CnCNet 5!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crimsonum
Seth


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Location: Fineland

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2019 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Allen wrote:
I think I tested this in TS with the Hover MLRS years ago and found it worked but pathfinding was janky


This. Pathfinding generally seems to avoid crossing between different height levels unless slopes are present. It's still possible for units to jump between the levels, especially near corners.

You can test it simply by making a dummy map with clear tiles on various levels, no slopes.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2019 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jumpjet unit with a low flight level?
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2019 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mig Eater wrote:
Jumpjet unit with a low flight level?

can it be made to be still considered a ground target, avoiding AA shooting it?
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2019 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I cant remember the exact height but if it's below a specific level it will be considered a ground unit & will be targeted accordingly. The same thing happens in reverse when ground units are paradropped, AA weapons can target them while they are in the air etc.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
cxtian39
Commander


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: United States

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2019 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tested jumpjet before, 0 height is still not touching the ground but floating, and it tried to move up when encounters a building, and looks like it’s climbing the building

Btw how destructible cliff works does it change to another terrain?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Crimsonum
Seth


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Location: Fineland

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2019 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cxtian39 wrote:
Btw how destructible cliff works does it change to another terrain?


Yes, there's two facings, each gets replaced by two specific pieces from SlopeSetPieces. IIRC even if you have just a single cell from the destroyable cliff tile on the map, if you destroy it, a whole ramp will appear in its place.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cxtian39
Commander


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: United States

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2019 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it possible to make a slope passable by hover unit but not passable by others then I can replace all cliffs with this new “slope”

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2019 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the rules under [Rock] change Hover=100% then hover units will be able to move over cliffs. As mentioned above the units will jump up & down the cliffs in an odd manner though & the they may get stuck with pathfinding.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
G-E
General


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2019 2:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The ideal mechanic of a jumpjet for the purposes of a helicopter would be to fly over anything that is less height than itself and around anything higher (or higher by a certain amount), so it would fly around tall buildings and search for slopes to fly up to cliffs.
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cxtian39
Commander


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: United States

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2019 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mig Eater wrote:
In the rules under [Rock] change Hover=100% then hover units will be able to move over cliffs. As mentioned above the units will jump up & down the cliffs in an odd manner though & the they may get stuck with pathfinding.
I want to make a cliff looking slope that only hover unit can pass. Since it's a slope pathfinding should be fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2019 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[Ice] type terrain is unused in RA2 so it can be used for new custom terrain with special movement. When some types of units pass over ice it will spawn the water wake anime though.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [16 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1278s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0064s) ][ Debug on ]