:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Wed Oct 23, 2019 8:27 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum
Tiberian sun - optional building path question.
Moderators: Global Moderators, Tiberian Sun Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Moose
Civilian


Joined: 22 Jun 2019

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 9:18 am    Post subject:  Tiberian sun - optional building path question.
Subject description: See details of post don't know how to summarise.
Reply with quote

My question is in regards to TS/FS.

Firstly is this even possible -

I'd like to make the player have to choose one of three structures. For example lets sat you have built a tech centre and this has given you 3 different further tech buildings. I want the make the player only allowed to pick one and then not allow them to pick the other two. So it would look something like this -> Build Tech building which gives the options of - option 1, option 2, option 3. You pick option1 for example and the other options would be removed only allowing you to invest into one tech.

If this is possible how would I go about it. I'm aware you can make a building a one time only thing by making the BuildLimit=-1. However I want to build a structure and remove the other two options - preferably without using map triggers.

Cheers

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
Commander


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ares has Prerequisite.Negative=(list of buildings).
Code:
[option1]
...
Prerequisite.Negative=option2,option3
[option2]
...
Prerequisite.Negative=option1,option3
[option3]
...
Prerequisite.Negative=option1,option2

It does what you want, but the downside is that Ares doesn't work with TS or FS. Or even vanilla RA2, for that matter; just plain-ol' YR.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OpenRA can do everything too, but no point of mentioning a completely different engine/game here.

@Moose:
There is only a bugged way to do this by using Upgrades as prerequisite and have the upgraded building only have a single upgrade slot.

The bug however is, that Upgrades work only as prerequisite, when build right after the building on which they are placed. Since that can't be ensured every time (players may build something else in between) it's not really a feasible way.

A mod in the past got around this by giving the conyard the upgrade. Since there is no other building available yet, it was this way ensured that one of the upgrades is build right after the conyard is deployed. Each Upgrade would then offer a certain subfaction powerplant and the rest of the subfaction would use this powerplant as prerequisite.


Another option might be, by using the alternate factory workaround.
e.g.
-building is alternate conyard (conyards are like factories)
-conyard offers 3 different strutures
-when one of them is build, use the conyards ProductionAnim to destroy the conyard

Since the alternate conyard offers the new buildings, their construction options would be removed again when the conyard self-destructs. (removed construction options work only when using the alternate factory trick, not when using the ordinary Prerequisite setting)

It wouldn't prevent you from building that alternate conyard again, but it wouldn't be immediately possible again.
For that you could try giving the alternate-conyard BuildLimit=-1, so you can build it only once in the entire game.
See modenc BuildLimit, the comment about negative values.

Not sure if -1 actually works this way, as i think -1 means unlimited. Maybe -2 needs to be set instead.
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moose
Civilian


Joined: 22 Jun 2019

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cheers for the replies. Busy at work so haven't had a chance to play around yet with the suggestions. Will update if I have any issues Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bittah Commander
Defense Minister


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The alternate factory work-around actually doesn't work for structures because the game will crash whenever you build a structure that has Factory=BuildingType and then cancel it.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1389s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0176s) ][ Debug on ]