:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Mon Aug 20, 2018 8:55 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum » HyperPatch
Help: Internal Errors
Moderators: Global Moderators, HyperPatch Moderators, CCHyper
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 2 of 12 [585 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
Dark Templar X
Commander


Joined: 26 Feb 2009

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure since it didn't seem specific. Post your map and let Aro examine it. He'd probably know.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ARustySpoon
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 20 Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB

PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well here is the map if anyone wants to take a look at it. The power plants at the very top of the map are not the cause.


fsgdi01.map
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  fsgdi01.map
 Filesize:  144.22 KB
 Downloaded:  270 Time(s)


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darkstorm
Commander


Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Location: Unknown

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can someone solve my error, I just don't know what it is anymore.


except.txt
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  except.txt
 Filesize:  20.75 KB
 Downloaded:  201 Time(s)


_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joshy
Schwing!


Joined: 13 Aug 2006

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It has been a while since I looked into this stuff, but I want to say it's something with an animation. Now I could be totally wrong here. #Tongue I haven't looked through code for ages.

Hyper can shed some light on this.
_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Templar X
Commander


Joined: 26 Feb 2009

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure what the function does that blew up... but it's definitely not an animation.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CCHyper
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Apr 2005

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BlitTransXlatAlphaZReadClass... Messy shit...

Hunted though the stack a bit and found a return pointer that was inside a UnitClass function, and the pointer was in the area of drawing harvestr.shp, that would also explain the calls to CC_Draw_Shape. So yea, it pretty looks like its down that route...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darkstorm
Commander


Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Location: Unknown

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So? Harvestr anim is bad?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darkstorm
Commander


Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Location: Unknown

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can the great genius Hyper tell me what's wrong now?


except.txt
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  except.txt
 Filesize:  20.75 KB
 Downloaded:  175 Time(s)


_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Templar X
Commander


Joined: 26 Feb 2009

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No. That's a bad exception. The EIP is well outside the usable range. Either TS shit on itself hard or you have ETS running.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joshy
Schwing!


Joined: 13 Aug 2006

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

^
What Fen said. #Tongue

About the animation, I just said something, I didn't even check the EIP. Very Happy
_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darkstorm
Commander


Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Location: Unknown

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well It can't be just random, and I don't have ETS. I tried 3 times to start the same mission (I was running Team Black's test map) and it IEed all 3 times at the "Creating theories on possible enemy plan". I did make it a separate campaign but it didn't have issues til I added new graphics for the civilian tech structures (Array, Hospital, and Armory). The only structure editting was changing ammo to 999, making them captureable, and changed the name of the Civilian Array.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Templar X
Commander


Joined: 26 Feb 2009

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then TS shit on itself really, really hard. I would keep a tally of EIPs and see if you get a usable one. Until then, there's nothing Hyper or I can do.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darkstorm
Commander


Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Location: Unknown

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How would I know if the EIP is useable?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Templar X
Commander


Joined: 26 Feb 2009

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The rule is if the first two digits are 00, you're good to go. Anything else, and it's toast.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darkstorm
Commander


Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Location: Unknown

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I fixed the issue, I had my new Hospital, Array, and Armory graphics in a Ecache, they needed an expand.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CCHyper
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Apr 2005

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You guys should check the stack more, if the exception pointer is usless, the stack can help you quite a bit, you can normaly detect a patern too...

As for the whole exception pointer issue, the ETS pointers would be around the 008***** mark, where TS is anything between 004***** and 007*****, anything higher and its pretty likley is not a pointer. but data has got into the pointers variable. Ill get exact figures one day.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Revolutionary
Commander


Joined: 19 May 2008
Location: Scotland, starting a Revolution Cameo: metricon. Posts:???

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's 2 IE ive got when playing my mod recently

i recently edited the language.dll how ever the things i edited were more likly to make menus look ugly than crash TS

1st crash i was playing at the fast setting and just when i drove a mammoth tank to the enemys starting location it IE'd (yesterday)

2nd Crash didnt not generat an IE, TS crashed on start up and i had to reboot my machine (Today)

3rd Crash i noticed it was not in compatability mode or running as admin so i tryed that. This time when i was playing a map i droped some drop pods in to the middle of the enemys base and when thay hit the ground it IE'd

EDIT; I un-did the changes. i am unsure of the cause of the first error but i managed to replicate the 3rd, same error more or less and the thing both have in common was TS was lagging fog of war was on (i dont normally trun it on at all) and i drop'd the pods next to a mini oblisk. im going to try and replicate with out fog-of-war.

Double EDIT; 3 times in a row ive managed to get the same error.


except (2).txt
 Description:
3rd crash, 2nd with IE

Download
 Filename:  except (2).txt
 Filesize:  20.75 KB
 Downloaded:  190 Time(s)


except.txt
 Description:
1st Crash

Download
 Filename:  except.txt
 Filesize:  20.75 KB
 Downloaded:  195 Time(s)


_________________
Creator of TS:BoB and some other things that might be good when finnished.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Dark Templar X
Commander


Joined: 26 Feb 2009

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

except exploded in RLEBlitAlpha blah but I traced it back quite a ways and it looks like it had an issue loading an SHP. Though... Hyper would know this better than I.

except (2) blew up in the building class drawing routine around redrawing it and near the charged anim section.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Revolutionary
Commander


Joined: 19 May 2008
Location: Scotland, starting a Revolution Cameo: metricon. Posts:???

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think ive found to the second problem but im not 100% sure how to fix it. (i think its my bad art codding)

I have found the building that blew up the game and in doing so created a almost identical IE



as for the first i think it was one of those one off errors.
_________________
Creator of TS:BoB and some other things that might be good when finnished.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Dutchygamer
President


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Location: Dordrecht, the Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Woah! How did you get that huge IE message #Tongue
_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Revolutionary
Commander


Joined: 19 May 2008
Location: Scotland, starting a Revolution Cameo: metricon. Posts:???

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You like

http://www.ppmsite.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=22841

look for the link under Game.exe and language.dll basics and read the pdf Very Happy (its at the end if i remember correctly)
_________________
Creator of TS:BoB and some other things that might be good when finnished.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
CCHyper
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Apr 2005

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That dialog is a unused resource that was linked to the old exception routine. It would display the except file and allow programmers to pass the error onto the debugger, quit the application or return to the games debug menu.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CCHyper
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Apr 2005

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Address Information:

00401000 to 00868FFF is a TS address
0086D000 to 008BD000 is a ETS address
00869000 to 009E9000 will be HP addresses, but the except.txt will have information marking it as HP, so no confusion between ETS and HP.

Hope this helps you guys out when im not around

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crevio
Commander


Joined: 19 Apr 2009

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ ARustySpoon
I took a look at your map file, I havent opened it up with FS yet, but I'm leaning towards a faulty trigger, I'll know more when I open it with FS and take a look at your triggers. I noticed you had a trigger or two dealing with power plants, so that may just be the problem.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ARustySpoon
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 20 Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I removed all the triggers, tags and teams. It still crashed 30 seconds into the game. :/

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CCHyper
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Apr 2005

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Upload latest except.txt and map file, ill debug it....

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ARustySpoon
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 20 Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here you go.


except.txt
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  except.txt
 Filesize:  20.75 KB
 Downloaded:  207 Time(s)


fsgdi01.map
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  fsgdi01.map
 Filesize:  142.15 KB
 Downloaded:  233 Time(s)


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Templar X
Commander


Joined: 26 Feb 2009

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only thing I can think of from looking at the map is that it's having an issue with a building be half offscreen.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CCHyper
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Apr 2005

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

last imporant fuction called (EIP) is CC_Draw_Shape, so it died on a SHP drawing task.

Aswell as a CellClass function, what i think is CellClass::Draw_Tiberium or so, ill have to debug it when i get home...

EDIT:
Yup, i was right, its Tiberium...

Check the tiberium field on the bottom right of the map, to the right of the start location, remove it and and make sure it dont go on any slopes.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Templar X
Commander


Joined: 26 Feb 2009

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought that too looking at the map... I didn't think it was that simple though.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CCHyper
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Apr 2005

PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yea, when i debuged the game i noticed when i scrolled to the right all the time it crashed, and checked the stack data when it crashed and there was pointers to the CellClass function, traced it back and it was something with frame order when drawing, or something #Tongue

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EVA-251
General


Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere in Michigan, I suppose.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EVA-251 wrote:
The first one has come recently.

I have added several new graphics to the game and made some minor tweaks to rules and art.ini to accommodate these changes.

The second is old, and was a result of an online game. I have no idea what caused it, as far as I know, there are no missing weapons, etc.

The first IE I mentioned in this post, I have new information about it.

I was adding a new building to my mod, and noticed the crash occurred as a result of the building's art settings having DemandLoad=true.

I had a matching "garbage" EIP- and when I cut DemandLoad=true, the building no longer crashed TS.
The building is civilian, and has a CAFILENAME and CTFILENAME SHP file; they are both located in an ecache MIX file.
_________________
ORA/YR modder/artist, DOOM mapper, aka evanb90
Project Lead Developer, New-Star Strike (2014-), RA Tweaked (2015-)
Former Project Lead Developer Star Strike (2005-2012), Z-Mod (2006-2007), RA1.5 (2008-2013), The Cold War (2006-2007)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
CCHyper
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Apr 2005

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, very strange, are you sure your SHP is bug free?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EVA-251
General


Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere in Michigan, I suppose.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 5:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it is a modified TS building.
_________________
ORA/YR modder/artist, DOOM mapper, aka evanb90
Project Lead Developer, New-Star Strike (2014-), RA Tweaked (2015-)
Former Project Lead Developer Star Strike (2005-2012), Z-Mod (2006-2007), RA1.5 (2008-2013), The Cold War (2006-2007)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DemandLoad is used when buildings are placed in isotemp.mix or isosnow.mix. Since you don't changed those original files and placed it in a normal ecacheXX.mix, you don't need this key.

DemanLoad is afaik something like a path declaration for the engine so it knows where to look for the building SHPs and if you placed them in ecacheXX.mix it can't find them or has trouble finding them.
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EVA-251
General


Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere in Michigan, I suppose.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for clarifying.

This one just started happening, no apparent reason.
Probably just an aside, but the name for MIX file extensions is now just "mix". It used to be "MIX file". No idea why it happened.


except.txt
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  except.txt
 Filesize:  20.75 KB
 Downloaded:  180 Time(s)


_________________
ORA/YR modder/artist, DOOM mapper, aka evanb90
Project Lead Developer, New-Star Strike (2014-), RA Tweaked (2015-)
Former Project Lead Developer Star Strike (2005-2012), Z-Mod (2006-2007), RA1.5 (2008-2013), The Cold War (2006-2007)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Dark Templar X
Commander


Joined: 26 Feb 2009

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mangled except. No usable data.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EVA-251
General


Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere in Michigan, I suppose.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That except wasn't the one I intended to upload... :/ Ah well.

No matter.
_________________
ORA/YR modder/artist, DOOM mapper, aka evanb90
Project Lead Developer, New-Star Strike (2014-), RA Tweaked (2015-)
Former Project Lead Developer Star Strike (2005-2012), Z-Mod (2006-2007), RA1.5 (2008-2013), The Cold War (2006-2007)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
CCHyper
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Apr 2005

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, it is kinda usable, check the stack out...

Do you remember when this IE occurred? Becuase there is a pointer to UCrackedIceStruct...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EVA-251
General


Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere in Michigan, I suppose.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All of these IEs are occurring during the loading process; each when the fourth or fifth line of loading text is on the screen.
_________________
ORA/YR modder/artist, DOOM mapper, aka evanb90
Project Lead Developer, New-Star Strike (2014-), RA Tweaked (2015-)
Former Project Lead Developer Star Strike (2005-2012), Z-Mod (2006-2007), RA1.5 (2008-2013), The Cold War (2006-2007)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Crimsonum
Seth


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Location: Fineland

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Word.

Propably has to do with the new sounds I added.....or not....can't check atm, sorry.

EDIT: Nvm, it was just a missing weapon, like usual >_>
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
skifi
Civilian


Joined: 15 Jun 2009
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 9:53 pm    Post subject: again IE Reply with quote

Hi, I started to get this IE recently after doing some changes. I did a lot of them and even if I revert to last IE free version I get this IE .. I probably made my backup already with something wrong Sad I get this IE each game within 1 or 2 minutes.


except.txt
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  except.txt
 Filesize:  20.75 KB
 Downloaded:  181 Time(s)


_________________
JOIN THE STELLAR FORCE
www.skifi.sk

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Dark Templar X
Commander


Joined: 26 Feb 2009

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well... it occurs within DriveLocomotionClass. So, I would venture a guess to a bad HVA or a new unit having a mangled locomotor.

Though I'm probably wrong and Hyper would know right off I'm sure.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CCHyper
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Apr 2005

PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to check the version of the game before you attempt on reading these Wink

Hes using TS2.00 (Firestorm), and needs to update to TS2.03.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Templar X
Commander


Joined: 26 Feb 2009

PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh. Yeah. I always assume people run 2.03. #Tongue

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alurcas
Soldier


Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi again,

since i had no luck with my first except.txt, i'll try a second time. TS always crashes seemingly random after some minutes of playing, both in singleplayer and LAN games.

Thanks in advance. Wink


except.txt
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  except.txt
 Filesize:  20.75 KB
 Downloaded:  162 Time(s)


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Templar X
Commander


Joined: 26 Feb 2009

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hm. Blowing up after BuildingClass_Redraw and just before BuildingClass_PlayChargedAnim. So the best guess is some building is missing a reference to a charged animation or the building itself is bad. Something to do with a building for sure though.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alurcas
Soldier


Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, indeed, TS crashes already when i build an obelisk of darkness. I'm just wondering why i did not notice this earlier...

Anyway, thanks Templar Wink

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crimsonum
Seth


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Location: Fineland

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got this while a buggy with speed bonus was driving to a cell occupied by a bonus crate. It might have something to do with a unit I was working on a while ago, that has a broken weapon or so, and tried to come out from the crate.


except.txt
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  except.txt
 Filesize:  20.75 KB
 Downloaded:  170 Time(s)


_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CCHyper
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Apr 2005

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well the crash was inside a function that gathers what the projectile can fire at, that function is in turn inside UnitClass::Greatest_Threat().

Does this happen all the time? I mean with the same EIP Address?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 2 of 12 [585 Posts] Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum » HyperPatch
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.3419s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0667s) ][ Debug on ]