Project Perfect Mod Forums
:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::


The time now is Thu Apr 18, 2024 3:44 am
All times are UTC + 0
[1.0] Bug: Slave Miner crashes the program when open [fixed]
Moderators: stucuk
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Also Known As: banshee_revora (Steam)
Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2003 3:21 pm    Post subject:  [1.0] Bug: Slave Miner crashes the program when open [fixed] Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

This has been found ages ago, but I have only confirmed it myself now. For some strange reason, it causes a memory access violation. It's the only case known so far... Other YR units were tested and all loaded fine....

A temporary fix would be to extract the file as .pcx and copy as SHP(TS) again (disabling compression), so the file might load...

I personally have no idea of what causes it...

Last edited by Banshee on Wed Sep 01, 2004 6:09 pm; edited 2 times in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Also Known As: banshee_revora (Steam)
Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2003 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Same problem found with Guardian GI and Einstein.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Also Known As: banshee_revora (Steam)
Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2003 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Stu... in case you read this, the access violation happens on the... guess where? decode3 function... we are fucked, my freind #Tongue. Solving this will be a way hard #Tongue. It's in the while part, v := source[sp]

Code:
while count >0 do
begin
     dec(count);
     v := Source[SP];  //  <--- Problem detected here! SP is 62756 with
                               //  Guardian GI
     Inc(SP);
     if v <> 0 then
     begin
     inc(x);
     Dest[DP] := v;
     Inc(DP);
     end
     else
     begin
     dec(count);
     v := Source[SP];
     Inc(SP);
     if (x + v) > cx then
     v := cx - x;
     x := x + v;
     while v >0 do
     begin
     dec(v);
     Dest[DP] := 0;
     Inc(DP);
     end;
     end;
end;



As you see, SP is a way above the maximum it should be (94 x 78 = 7332). As soon as you see me in MSN, talk to me and let's try sorting it together...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Also Known As: banshee_revora (Steam)
Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Update: Stucuk fixed the problem Smile.

Next version reads slave miner, GGi and Einstein correctly Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Kravvitz
Commander


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 2:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'm glad to hear it. Very Happy

_________________
Check out my FAQ and Modding Info Page.
Community Links Page
http://www.dynamicsitesolutions.com/

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account Yahoo Messenger Account AIM Address
Mike
Commander


Joined: 11 Jan 2003
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

what is this for program?

_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Kravvitz
Commander


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

that question make no sense, but I will attempt to answer it anyway...

this was a bug in the BS SHP Builder.

_________________
Check out my FAQ and Modding Info Page.
Community Links Page
http://www.dynamicsitesolutions.com/

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account Yahoo Messenger Account AIM Address
Mike
Commander


Joined: 11 Jan 2003
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

it made sense i thought it was another programme and i did not know about for some reason

_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Kravvitz
Commander


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

you meant "what is this program for?"

_________________
Check out my FAQ and Modding Info Page.
Community Links Page
http://www.dynamicsitesolutions.com/

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account Yahoo Messenger Account AIM Address
John Galt
Commander


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Location: Galt's Gulch

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I think he meant "What program is this bug in?".

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Also Known As: banshee_revora (Steam)
Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

if he meant that, it's BS SHP Builder 1.0, SHP View 1.0 and SHP Engine 1.7

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
stucuk
Geek


Joined: 27 Aug 2002

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The problem lied in the SHP_Engine, which is the thing that all SHP Programs made by banshee and me use.

(which reminds me ill have to recompile SHP View)

_________________
Free Map Editor - Game Requirements - Stucuk.Net

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DJBREIT
Soldier


Joined: 23 Nov 2002
Location: PA,USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2003 4:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Two things I thought of was a masking tool to keep a section of the image from being changed when you use the color replace tool and for which frames. And a color used button just like in the vxl editor. For the next time you update the shp editor.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
 
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
Quick Reply
Username:


If you are visually impaired or cannot otherwise answer the challenges below please contact the Administrator for help.


Write only two of the following words separated by a sharp: Brotherhood, unity, peace! 

 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1711s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0071s) ][ Debug on ]