:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Sun Jun 24, 2018 8:04 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Media Hut
AutoCAD for SHP or VXL?
Moderators: Global Moderators, Media Hut Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators, Tiberian Sun Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
TAK02
Commander


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 6:29 am    Post subject:   Reply with quote

Crimsonum wrote:
Unfortunately active 3D modelers/animators (not counting voxelers) are a rarity in the classic C&C community, which leaves many mods, TI included, perpetually craving for new building art.


Does AutoCAD Revit have that?
I mean, is it possible to use Revit for Buildings and build-up anims?
(I don't use it myself, my father does, but I might attempt to learn it one day if it benefits me/C&C)
_________________
One and only developer of C&C S. True Supremacy.
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCRJ32BRTY8UPF49Ilq3rNDw | Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue
I once ninja'd MigEater #Tongue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cxtian39 wrote:
I could be noob. Isn't buildup just moving every mesh down into the ground one after another?

That would be the cheap and ugly solution.
A bit more work so it is a build up and not an unrealistic raise up animation is preferable.

TAK02 wrote:
Does AutoCAD Revit have that?
I mean, is it possible to use Revit for Buildings and build-up anims?
(I don't use it myself, my father does, but I might attempt to learn it one day if it benefits me/C&C)

It would be a bit like shooting sparrows with cannons.
You don't want to use a CAD program to really construct a fantasy building with correct statics, just to then render tiny sprites out of it.
But in theory, yes it could work.
AutoCAD has everything necessary to create and render 3D models.
But where in 3ds max and other 3d modeling programs you simply arbitrarily extrude a polygon (even taking account of tiny distortions/irregularities), you would have to actually measure and calculate at which angle and distance you have to extrude a face.

Technically correct construction in AutoCAD is not the same as simple 3d modeling in 3ds max, blender etc.
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
Commander


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apologies for bumping, but was messing a bit with CATIA and found these formats you can save as:

CATPart, stl, stp, igs, 3dmap, 3dxml, amf, cgr, hcg, NavRep, stpZ, vps, wrl. And even txt.

Can any of these be used for VXLs?
_________________
One and only developer of C&C S. True Supremacy.
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCRJ32BRTY8UPF49Ilq3rNDw | Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue
I once ninja'd MigEater #Tongue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not directly.
you need obj, 3ds or Doom3's MD5 format files to convert them with either VSE or 3ds2vxl.

\Topic split.
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
Commander


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think Blender can handle the conversion from STL to OBJ, so I should be able to make some high-quality voxels with real-life scales and carefully thought dimensions Very Happy
_________________
One and only developer of C&C S. True Supremacy.
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCRJ32BRTY8UPF49Ilq3rNDw | Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue
I once ninja'd MigEater #Tongue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
MRMIdAS
Pyro Sniper


Joined: 17 Jul 2008

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TAK02 wrote:
I think Blender can handle the conversion from STL to OBJ, so I should be able to make some high-quality voxels with real-life scales and carefully thought dimensions Very Happy


MAKE A TANK WITH TANKS FOR ARMS THAT SHOOTS MAD TANKS!

REALISM!
_________________
MIdAS - Turning wages into beer since 2002

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
General


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I made a few models in Solidworks for use as source images for making buildings, I would never use it for vehicles, an actual rendering program would be better suited to that, especially since accuracy isn't that important when shrinking.


celltower.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  172.34 KB
 Viewed:  557 Time(s)

celltower.jpg



_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
Commander


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm...
That radio tower...

Could CATIA/Solidworks be also suited for SHPs?
_________________
One and only developer of C&C S. True Supremacy.
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCRJ32BRTY8UPF49Ilq3rNDw | Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue
I once ninja'd MigEater #Tongue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
4StarGeneral
Commander


Joined: 14 Sep 2006
Location: Constant Flux

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, but as everyone has said AutoCAD is overkill and slower than modeling in Blender/3DSMax.
_________________
"Don't beg for things; Do it yourself or you'll never get anything."
Lin Kuei Ominae wrote:
wrong forum. this is not minecraft.


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
G-E
General


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

4StarGeneral wrote:
Yes, but as everyone has said AutoCAD is overkill and slower than modeling in Blender/3DSMax.

That cell tower was made of parts that were patterned, and as a pattern can be extended with a single digit. The antennae on the tower were also mated concentrically to the posts, so they could be rotated or moved along it without them coming detached, adding more was just a matter of inserting the same object I drew earlier.

The only real drawback is not being able to render the shadow correctly for use in-game.
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
Commander


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 7:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But conversion is possible right? If so, we could make the models in AutoCAD (overkill, I know) or CATIA or what-ever, then convert it to something Blender/3DSMax can do something with for the renders.
Of course, the modeller him/herself must decide which software he/she is acquainted with better, or which one will serve his/her needs better.

For instance, G-E's radio tower/transmitter can be built much faster with repeating patterns. I can't speak for other programs, but I know 3DS' CATIA can do that, I even did it myself a few times.
_________________
One and only developer of C&C S. True Supremacy.
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCRJ32BRTY8UPF49Ilq3rNDw | Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue
I once ninja'd MigEater #Tongue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Repeating patterns are also possible in 3ds max.

It's the construction of objects using exact angles and lengths with real measurement units which is not possible in 3ds max, but overkill in AutoCAD since you don't care for such accuracy in game modeling.


I'm also pretty sure you can create a camera/light setup in AutoCAD to render assets in game style.
After all AutoCAD has several ways to visualize your model, including orthographic projection/views. I wouldn't wonder if nearly all rendering options of 3ds max are also included in AutoCAD.
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Media Hut
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.2143s ][ Queries: 16 (0.0385s) ][ Debug on ]