:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Wed Dec 19, 2018 4:05 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Featured Projects » Dawn of the Tiberium Age » Screenshots
Eradicating the Red Soviet Army...
Moderators: Dawn of the Tiberium Age Staff
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
virtue
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 08 Oct 2014
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2014 10:10 pm    Post subject:  Eradicating the Red Soviet Army...
Subject description: that never even touched me :)
Reply with quote

I manged to bottleneck this lot by building my base on the old GDI site, it was a simple case of wearing down their bases with nukes and Termites, along with the reinforcements (which never even got attacked by the initial tank rush!)


lol.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  862.09 KB
 Viewed:  3648 Time(s)

lol.png



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
virtue
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 08 Oct 2014
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2014 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FYI that barracks was the last building to be destroyed

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HG_SCIPCION
Cyborg Artillery


Joined: 07 Jun 2013
Location: Perú

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oooops #Tongue
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Facebook Profile URL
^Rampastein
Rampastring


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Location: Gensokyo

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, you surely got lucky when the stupid AI managed to get itself stuck like that #Tongue

I thought about opening a second route to the GDI base when making the mission, appears that I indeed should've done that. Maybe I'll still do that for 1.13. But congratz on clearing the mission (and breaking it, I'm impressed #Tongue )
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL
virtue
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 08 Oct 2014
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

there was actually a lot more, i managed to clear most of the tanks running up to the first bottlneck with my SSM launcher, artillery and microwave tanks (slow, labourous process)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
^Rampastein
Rampastring


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Location: Gensokyo

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can imagine that you were forced to do that to prevent the game from slowing down to 1 FPS. When the AI is stuck like that, it is constantly searching for a new path for all those units - and that pathfinding takes a lot of CPU time.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL
virtue
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 08 Oct 2014
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 1:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah thats what happened.

Also, I dont think you should edit the map, I mean obviously I found a novel way to beat the map working things out by trial and error (believe me, it took me many many tries for my tactic to work) so forcing players to play exactly how you want i dont think is good mapping, as it does not allow players to find their own solutions.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bittah Commander
Defense Minister


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 2:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A solution and an exploit are different things however; getting rid of exploits in updates is something that developers do all the time.

In your screenshot the AI isn't unable to get to you just because you blocked it (if that was the case, it indeed would've been a solution and less of an exploit, if at all); it's unable to get to you because the terrain caused the AI to block its own units and thus is malfunctioning.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL
virtue
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 08 Oct 2014
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well near the start of the map theres a natural bottleneck, I originally had some microwave tanks disabling the mammoths blocking the rest of the armys path, also if you look, the first couple of tanks arnt being blocked by anything, if I was to take them out all the rest of them would come pouring through and annihilate me, therefore its down to dumb ai more than anything, not really an exploit, its just the same as say in the original C&C building defense towers and thats all they will nuke, or in RA placing a unit in the far left corner on skirmish and thats all they'll go for, knowing the tricks of the AI is not an exploit IMO

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
^Rampastein
Rampastring


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Location: Gensokyo

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the AI attacked you from that narrow path, it'd be fine in my opinion. You'd still have to use your Microwave tanks, Obelisks and other things to kill the tanks as they approach from the narrow path. However, when the AI gets entirely stuck like this, it turns into an exploit.

Basically, I think you found a clever solution. But if you can consistently make the AI stuck with your solution, the solution turns into an exploit. That's my opinion on it; if the AI can be blocked consistently by taking your MCV to the destroyed GDI support base, it's an exploit. If you just got lucky and usually the AI would attack you from the narrow route to the base, it's just a solution.

So, whether I change this or not depends on whether this stuck AI issue happens often/always when you build your base on where the GDI support base is or not.

I don't have anything against players finding solutions like this, I actually like it. But I will fix any exploits that make you able to win a mission without doing practically anything.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL
virtue
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 08 Oct 2014
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, as i said it took me a good 10 attempts to get it right, I noticed that the soviets will go for the allied light tanks that you find regardless of any reinforcements, they WILL go for them and completely ignore your units, not sure if you programmed it that way but basically you can position the light tanks so the AI cant reach them and I used microwave tanks to block the path just for good measure.

I really dont know if i can replicate it again, it took me hours and hours for me to beat the level as i had about 5 light tanks left of the reinforcements after taking out 2 of the 3 soviet bases, so it was a close match in that regard. Of course, because of the slowdown i had to resort to waiting (and waiting) for the nuke to recharge to take out the rest of the bases.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Featured Projects » Dawn of the Tiberium Age » Screenshots
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1639s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0220s) ][ Debug on ]