Project Perfect Mod Forums
:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

The time now is Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:25 pm
All times are UTC + 0
Nomenclature of Naval Units
Moderators: Dawn of the Tiberium Age Staff
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
Einhander
Cyborg Soldier

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 11:34 pm    Post subject:  Nomenclature of Naval Units
Subject description: Innaccurate ships
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I was playing a game of Allied vs Soviet when I noticed something very off about the allied naval units.

Since when is a Frigate larger than a Destroyer?
I completely understand that anyone without a nautical background could easily confuse the ships and I am not faulting anyone for that.

I'm a Navy veteran and I simply want to bring this oversight to the attention of the developers. Keep in mind to determine the classification of a ship you need to account for tonnage and length of the ship.

A quick description of these two ships:

Frigate:
Designed and typically used for patrol or the picket (Guard) of larger ships such as destroyers, cruisers, Aircraft Carriers, etc...
Their most notable role in combat are anti submarine for the time frame allies would have used them. They also suffer from the moniker of "Torpedo Catcher" because they were often used as walls to prevent torpedoes from striking larger ships.
(A Smaller cheaper to produce ship that is capable of sailing across the ocean with the big boys.) But don't misunderstand the frigate is larger than what would be a corvette for the period as corvettes cannot leave the coastline and venture out into open waters.