:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Sat Sep 23, 2017 11:41 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Miscellaneous Forums » Game Chat » Command & Conquer Chat
RA2 BUG
Moderators: Global Moderators, Offtopic Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [17 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
PussyPus
Gauss Rifle Trooper


Joined: 14 Jul 2015
Location: The Arab Country, Time Travel?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 11:57 pm    Post subject:   RA2 BUG Reply with quote

I wanted to try something very rare for RA2YR, i downloaded a pirated version (i have westwood store version too), then there were one of my old .sav files for mental omega 2.0psi, i loaded the MO2.0 save game using the original game, what happened then is a huge surprise.

I will only show 1 of the 3 videos of what will happen if you loaded MO2.0 savegame using RA2YR.


avis.zip
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  avis.zip
 Filesize:  2.74 MB
 Downloaded:  8 Time(s)


_________________
If you are a MetalHead (Heavy Metal Fan) and don't want to be a metalhead, Just remove your metal ball from your head. �:p .

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NucleiSplitter
Shrapnel Sniper


Joined: 28 Oct 2016
Location: Manila, Philippines Status: I don't know what I'm doing with my life...

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm on android, I can't play the avi for some reason... Tell me what happened, I'll check out the video on my desktop later...
_________________
Call me Fission if my name is too long Laughing
PillBox20 wrote:
If you push yourself little beyond what you "think" you can, you will discover something much better.
Work hard, you won't regret it.

Update: My Tablet is still broken, but I'm back to voxel, but with lesser updates than before. Educational and Modding Time is stable, so I don't really have problems for now. And one thing, I am currently a Freelance Voxeller for now...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PussyPus
Gauss Rifle Trooper


Joined: 14 Jul 2015
Location: The Arab Country, Time Travel?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NucleiSplitter wrote:
I'm on android, I can't play the avi for some reason... Tell me what happened, I'll check out the video on my desktop later...


Random sounds were playing while in-game, even rhino's voice is the main soviet ship vessel's voice (dreadnought), the overall sound is a mind control sound playing infinite times, in main menu as the video is downloadable, navigation and check/uncheck sounds were replaced with explosions and siren sounds, even when clicking on dropdown lists unit voices will be heard!
_________________
If you are a MetalHead (Heavy Metal Fan) and don't want to be a metalhead, Just remove your metal ball from your head. �:p .

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
Shrapnel Sniper


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: ERROR: This guy is out of this world!

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rechk sound.ini Smile
_________________
One and only developer of Supremacy C&C mods.
Current projects:
http://www.moddb.com/mods/ra2-supreme
http://www.moddb.com/mods/supreme-yr
YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCRJ32BRTY8UPF49Ilq3rNDw
Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
Twitter:  TAK02 @SupremeCnCMods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
PussyPus
Gauss Rifle Trooper


Joined: 14 Jul 2015
Location: The Arab Country, Time Travel?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TAK02 wrote:
Rechk sound.ini Smile


I SWEAR i never edit anything, i am not joking, you ALREADY HAVE the pirated version, just get MO2.0psi and reach to a snow soviet mission where you get 8 rhino tanks and there are shadow tanks, when reach this mission, it will do an auto-save, after that, close the mod and delete its files (back up if you want), then go back to the original RA2YR game (only work with pirated version), then load the MO mission, and here you go  Very Happy (never wanted to upload it to youtube after what happened, but it does not mean i no longer use youtube).

@NucleiSplitter: almost all of my videos on youtube were avi o3g, mpeg and mp3.
_________________
If you are a MetalHead (Heavy Metal Fan) and don't want to be a metalhead, Just remove your metal ball from your head. �:p .

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
General


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is nothing new & is simply how the RA2 save system works. Because saving your game doesn't just save the current status of the map you are playing on but also the art/rules/sound/etc ini files that are being used. So loading a save file made for one mod while playing another will cause all sorts of mismatched glitches as it is trying to use a different set of ini, art & sound files to the ones currently active.  

This is a good demonstration of why save games in Ares wont work. Just like in two different mods each version adds new features which change the games code. So a save game made with one version of Ares will not work correctly with any other version.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PussyPus
Gauss Rifle Trooper


Joined: 14 Jul 2015
Location: The Arab Country, Time Travel?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mig Eater wrote:
This is nothing new & is simply how the RA2 save system works. Because saving your game doesn't just save the current status of the map you are playing on but also the art/rules/sound/etc ini files that are being used. So loading a save file made for one mod while playing another will cause all sorts of mismatched glitches as it is trying to use a different set of ini, art & sound files to the ones currently active.  

This is a good demonstration of why save games in Ares wont work. Just like in two different mods each version adds new features which change the games code. So a save game made with one version of Ares will not work correctly with any other version.


so only the old WW developers can take care of it?
_________________
If you are a MetalHead (Heavy Metal Fan) and don't want to be a metalhead, Just remove your metal ball from your head. �:p .

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
Shrapnel Sniper


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: ERROR: This guy is out of this world!

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But it still works, right?

Because if it does, SCREW inconsitencies. Modders are the ones who should tell people not to mess up things with saves.
_________________
One and only developer of Supremacy C&C mods.
Current projects:
http://www.moddb.com/mods/ra2-supreme
http://www.moddb.com/mods/supreme-yr
YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCRJ32BRTY8UPF49Ilq3rNDw
Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
Twitter:  TAK02 @SupremeCnCMods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Mig Eater
General


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would have thought that it was commonsense that save games don't work correctly in different mods :/ Like most things in life you cant change the variables & then expect the same results.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
deathreaperz
Commander


Joined: 20 May 2013
Location: Indonesia, Secret Base

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TAK02 wrote:
Modders are the ones who should tell people not to mess up things with saves.
What does people do that you asked not to mess up the save things? It's not their fault, they are just players for mods. I tested Save Game and Load Game on ARES, you could save the game, but you couldn't load the game, because the engine injected with ARES results corrupted savegame file. While I believe ARES team can fix the savegame issue, I believe it will take lots of time, because when on that time they can make lots of new features. They also need to do research before proceeding.
_________________
Yuri wrote:
The flower is going to bloom soon!


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomsons26lv
Pyro Sniper


Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Location: Latvia

PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Reason for this is due to how the saving works.
The way savegames work in the C&C engine is its not a savegame in other game sense but its a selective memory dump.

When you load the "savegame" you are loading in the memory stored in it overwriting the existing memory. Hence why Ares hasn't gotten save games to work.

Ares changes the memory layout meaning when you load a savegame you are overwriting the wrong memory areas.

The solution for this is writing code to fix the memory areas that don't match Ares, but handling older savegames is something even Westwood gave up on and had implemented only once in RA and TS for two specific patches.
_________________
Tiberian Dawn, Red Alert, Tiberian Sun ,Red Alert 2,Renegade, Command & Conquer 3,Tiberium and Tiberium Wars and Westwood related image & video archive
https://picasaweb.google.com/113361105083292812413?noredirect=1

Skype live:tomsons26
Don't forget to state who are you otherwise i'll ignore the invite

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
OmegaBolt
President


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Location: York, England

PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wouldn't even call this a bug. I don't know why anyone would load a save from one mod in another. What do you think the game is gonna do with all the missing units, art, sounds, terrain tiles etc?
_________________


A mod for Hearts of Iron 4.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
PussyPus
Gauss Rifle Trooper


Joined: 14 Jul 2015
Location: The Arab Country, Time Travel?

PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2017 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suggest to make a new different save file extension, instead of SAV make it SAV'MOD NAME'.
_________________
If you are a MetalHead (Heavy Metal Fan) and don't want to be a metalhead, Just remove your metal ball from your head. �:p .

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deathreaperz
Commander


Joined: 20 May 2013
Location: Indonesia, Secret Base

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2017 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PussyPus wrote:
I suggest to make a new different save file extension, instead of SAV make it SAV'MOD NAME'.
Wow, bro. You are a magician.
_________________
Yuri wrote:
The flower is going to bloom soon!


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
Shrapnel Sniper


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: ERROR: This guy is out of this world!

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2017 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think he meant different format, simply a different name.

Either way, too hard #Tongue
_________________
One and only developer of Supremacy C&C mods.
Current projects:
http://www.moddb.com/mods/ra2-supreme
http://www.moddb.com/mods/supreme-yr
YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCRJ32BRTY8UPF49Ilq3rNDw
Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
Twitter:  TAK02 @SupremeCnCMods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
PussyPus
Gauss Rifle Trooper


Joined: 14 Jul 2015
Location: The Arab Country, Time Travel?

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2017 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ares should edit gamemd.exe to change the game save file format from SAV to ARESSAVE, this will avoid savegame disable and game corruption, also to avoid load the original game sav file.
_________________
If you are a MetalHead (Heavy Metal Fan) and don't want to be a metalhead, Just remove your metal ball from your head. �:p .

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
Shrapnel Sniper


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: ERROR: This guy is out of this world!

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2017 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PussyPus wrote:
Ares should edit gamemd.exe to change the game save file format from SAV to ARESSAVE, this will avoid savegame disable and game corruption, also to avoid load the original game sav file.

And adding the Ares version to the extension should make it harder for an Ares mod to load a save a previous Ares version made.

We're geniuses, bro! Cool Laughing

But I'm sure AlexB already thought of this himself. Something as simple as saving the game with a different extension for every new Ares version to avoid mash-ups must've crossed his mind.
Although, sometimes you need people out of the loop to point out something you either didn't notice, or just didn't come across it.

Either way, I'm sure there's an easy way, but it's all over-complicated. I could be wrong tho. Like I said, I'm out the loop.
_________________
One and only developer of Supremacy C&C mods.
Current projects:
http://www.moddb.com/mods/ra2-supreme
http://www.moddb.com/mods/supreme-yr
YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCRJ32BRTY8UPF49Ilq3rNDw
Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
Twitter:  TAK02 @SupremeCnCMods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [17 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Miscellaneous Forums » Game Chat » Command & Conquer Chat
Jump to:  
Quick Reply
Username:


If you are visually impaired or cannot otherwise play the game below please contact the Administrator for help.


 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1385s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0094s) ][ Debug on ]