:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Mon Oct 22, 2018 1:30 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Featured Tools » Community Tools
CNC Maps Renderer rewritten - works for Tiberian Sun and RA2
Moderators: Community Tools Developpers
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 2 [58 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
zzattack
Combat Engineer


Joined: 29 May 2007

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 1:10 am    Post subject:  CNC Maps Renderer rewritten - works for Tiberian Sun and RA2 Reply with quote

Over the past Christmas break I have rewritten my map rendering tool in C#. This resulted in nicer, better and faster code, and as it turned out, filling the request of adding TS support wasn't much work either.
One more important update over the previous versions is that Voxels are now rendered. This happens in an OpenGL context which sadly requires me to ship a 2MB dll along, but this will change in the future.

I will be posting a full installer with updated GUI tomorrow, but for the brave ones a command-line version is already attached. On a final note, for now, .NET 4.0 is required. Here's two example renders:

http://files.zzattack.org/images/forestfires.jpg
http://files.zzattack.org/images/pockets.jpg

Update @ 9 Oct. 2016 - updated installer (always available from http://cnc-maps.net/tool/get_latest by the way!)


CNCMaps_release_v2.2.zip
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  CNCMaps_release_v2.2.zip
 Filesize:  1.59 MB
 Downloaded:  38 Time(s)


Last edited by zzattack on Sun Oct 09, 2016 2:31 pm; edited 1 time in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joshy
Schwing!


Joined: 13 Aug 2006

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Amazing.
_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CCHyper
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Apr 2005

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Amazing, great new years present to the community!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scorched Earth
Commander


Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Haha, great work man.
_________________
Okay, my signature was starting to annoy even me.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aro
Alcohol Fueled


Joined: 10 Sep 2006
Location: Birmingham, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good stuff, this will save me a lot of time. Thanks.
_________________
I no longer work on Twisted Insurrection or take part in community discussions. Any messages directed towards myself will go unanswered.
Please direct any queries towards the other team members.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Orac
President


Joined: 11 Jul 2008
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dutchygamer
President


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Location: Dordrecht, the Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aro wrote:
Good stuff, this will save me a lot of time. Thanks.

No more hand-created Megamaps for you boss #Tongue
_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Crimsonum
Seth


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Location: Fineland

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wonderful.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Nyerguds
General


Joined: 24 May 2004
Location: Flanders (Be) Posts:300000001

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So.. does it export PNG too? Jpeg is sooo last decade #Tongue
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
zzattack
Combat Engineer


Joined: 29 May 2007

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why not try it? Source code is at http://github.com/zzattack/ccmaps-net

Last edited by zzattack on Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:43 pm; edited 1 time in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daTS
Mr. Moosey


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Location: Star Kingdom of Manticore

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

does it render lighting?
_________________
"Reality is a lovely place, but I wouldn't want to live there." -Adam Young
Founder - Savage Media Group

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Skype Account
zzattack
Combat Engineer


Joined: 29 May 2007

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes... but it's not perfect. Try it (or look closely to the glow emitted by the tib fields on forest fires...)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daTS
Mr. Moosey


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Location: Star Kingdom of Manticore

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, okay I see it. It's just hard to see with the .jpg blurred up. Is it possible to render in .png or lossless .jpg?
_________________
"Reality is a lovely place, but I wouldn't want to live there." -Adam Young
Founder - Savage Media Group

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Skype Account
CCHyper
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Apr 2005

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try, it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daTS
Mr. Moosey


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Location: Star Kingdom of Manticore

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's the command line version, brah. I don't do command line.
_________________
"Reality is a lovely place, but I wouldn't want to live there." -Adam Young
Founder - Savage Media Group

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Skype Account
zzattack
Combat Engineer


Joined: 29 May 2007

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lossless JPEG? Tell me more!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaRTzO
Laser Commando


Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Location: Country Swing

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good job, Franky. Very Happy

Soo about that PNG... Laughing

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Allied General
General


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

any news on the GUI version?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
EVA-251
General


Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere in Michigan, I suppose.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How on Earth did I miss this? Your contributions to this community are amazing. Extremely well done.
_________________
ORA/YR modder/artist, DOOM mapper, aka evanb90
Project Lead Developer, New-Star Strike (2014-), RA Tweaked (2015-)
Former Project Lead Developer Star Strike (2005-2012), Z-Mod (2006-2007), RA1.5 (2008-2013), The Cold War (2006-2007)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
daTS
Mr. Moosey


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Location: Star Kingdom of Manticore

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 7:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zzattack wrote:
Lossless JPEG? Tell me more!


It's basically a jpg with a compression ratio of 1:1.01 (or something similar). Photoshop does it. Larger file size. Not quite as big as .png though, which is true lossless. There is very very minor changes to the image due to the minuscule amount of compression.
_________________
"Reality is a lovely place, but I wouldn't want to live there." -Adam Young
Founder - Savage Media Group

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Skype Account
Atari2600
Cyborg Cannon


Joined: 05 Mar 2007
Location: Less than 10 minutes from the internet

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

daTS wrote:
zzattack wrote:
Lossless JPEG? Tell me more!


It's basically a jpg with a compression ratio of 1:1.01 (or something similar). Photoshop does it. Larger file size. Not quite as big as .png though, which is true lossless. There is very very minor changes to the image due to the minuscule amount of compression.


Yep, I remember hearing about this from my dad long ago. He encouraged me to save with files as Tiff's if they needed to be lossless. However, they proved to be rather unused in most cases.

PNG is pretty widely accepted these days for lossless on the internet from what Ive seen.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Crimsonum
Seth


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Location: Fineland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I will be posting a full installer with updated GUI tomorrow, but for the brave ones a command-line version is already attached.


Slight bamp, but we're waiting.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
iNs0MNiaC
Medic


Joined: 23 Jan 2011

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I see him on msn I'll poke him.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Krow
Commander


Joined: 30 Jan 2010
Location: Malaysia

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 4:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Need help guys. I tried this and it won't work at all. Every time I open it, the application errors comes out. It says, The application failed to initialize properly (0xc0000135). What's wrong with it?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Krow
Commander


Joined: 30 Jan 2010
Location: Malaysia

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 6:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Help needed. Sad
_________________
Team Black wrote:
interesting seeing your voxel work. They're still better than Aro's!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iNs0MNiaC
Medic


Joined: 23 Jan 2011

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Topic maker is too lazy.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Krow
Commander


Joined: 30 Jan 2010
Location: Malaysia

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That doesn't help at all.
_________________
Team Black wrote:
interesting seeing your voxel work. They're still better than Aro's!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ixith
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Location: under there!

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will not lie...i am using the fact that there's no easy to start/idiot proof version of this out yet as to why i haven't finished up some of my map projects.
Of course that's far from the truth....but dammit it's good enough for me!

as for you Krow...
Quote:
but for the brave ones a command-line version is already attached. On a final note, for now, .NET 4.0 is required.

maybe that helps you understand that it's not a ready to go thing straight out of the package it comes in. You need to go through command-line stuffz to get it going. and well...like stated...it's for the brave ones....who don't mind messing with that.
_________________
Kalistia Crestland (2)
In Soviet Russia, grass grows on tiberium!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account AIM Address
Krow
Commander


Joined: 30 Jan 2010
Location: Malaysia

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay , I get your point but this also happens with the old version. The 0.99 one. The same error.
_________________
Team Black wrote:
interesting seeing your voxel work. They're still better than Aro's!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iNs0MNiaC
Medic


Joined: 23 Jan 2011

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The old original works fine for me.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Krow
Commander


Joined: 30 Jan 2010
Location: Malaysia

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can't anyone help?
_________________
Team Black wrote:
interesting seeing your voxel work. They're still better than Aro's!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Comr4de
Gauss Rifle Trooper


Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using .NET Framework and I click on the exe file, all I get is an EMPTY command prompt windows, then it *poofs* out, gone. Should there happen something?
I'm on XP SP3 (with .NET 4.0 ofcourse)
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nyerguds
General


Joined: 24 May 2004
Location: Flanders (Be) Posts:300000001

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lol, lrn2cmd #Tongue

Krow wrote:
Can't anyone help?

I'm guessing you need the .net framework?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Krow
Commander


Joined: 30 Jan 2010
Location: Malaysia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 6:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you sure? Because i've used the older version before and it didn't need the .net framework.
_________________
Team Black wrote:
interesting seeing your voxel work. They're still better than Aro's!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nyerguds
General


Joined: 24 May 2004
Location: Flanders (Be) Posts:300000001

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep...
zzattack wrote:
Over the past Christmas break I have rewritten my map rendering tool in C#.

^ This means you need .net to run it now.

In my opinion as a programmer, you should get the .net framework anyway. Not installing .net is like not installing java... it's simply something you need to run programs.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Morpher
General


Joined: 28 Jan 2005

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This application opens and immediately shuts for me, I have .net installed.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nyerguds
General


Joined: 24 May 2004
Location: Flanders (Be) Posts:300000001

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Morpher... read the first post. It's a command line tool -_-
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Krow
Commander


Joined: 30 Jan 2010
Location: Malaysia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay , understood. But the error still happens with the older version. The one that doesn't need to use the .net.
_________________
Team Black wrote:
interesting seeing your voxel work. They're still better than Aro's!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ixith
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Location: under there!

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hrmm well the older version was simply just RA2/YR i do believe which is why this rewritten one needs the .net and commandline stuff to work properly as it's not completely set up yet.

Here's a grand idea...have you tried running the older version as Administrator? if not...try that...it surprisingly makes a lot of stuff work.
_________________
Kalistia Crestland (2)
In Soviet Russia, grass grows on tiberium!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account AIM Address
Morpher
General


Joined: 28 Jan 2005

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ooops, used command line prompt, entered everything but it errors at "recalculating object palettes"
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Krow
Commander


Joined: 30 Jan 2010
Location: Malaysia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And how do I do that, Ixith?
_________________
Team Black wrote:
interesting seeing your voxel work. They're still better than Aro's!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ixith
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Location: under there!

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

right click it instead of left clicking on it and you should get an option in the list of things that says "Run As Administrator"
_________________
Kalistia Crestland (2)
In Soviet Russia, grass grows on tiberium!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account AIM Address
Nikademis Von Hisson
General


Joined: 05 Sep 2007
Location: Wilkes Barre PA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 5:54 am    Post subject: Map render Reply with quote

I get a message about net frame, but I have read the posts and thought never mind, I went back to the old version. When I try using a map with custom tiles, i get nothing. Size of map is 215 by 200, but I use a 215 by 200 blank map I get a render. any thoughts?
_________________
I am authorized to send out the TMP Studio, PM ME IF YOU WANT IT And check this out, these were sent to me for help with terrain and zdata help along with TMP Studio/Builder

http://www.ppmsite.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=27714

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Krow
Commander


Joined: 30 Jan 2010
Location: Malaysia

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've figured out what caused the application error. I was wrong about the older version not requiring a .net framework, because it does need it and my .net framework was totally outdated. And thanks Ixith for helping. Smile
_________________
Team Black wrote:
interesting seeing your voxel work. They're still better than Aro's!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ixith
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Location: under there!

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2011 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hrmm well figured i'd bump this up just to poke the ashes and put out the question...

Did this ever get a full program with GUI and the what not so that the not so brave and willing to go through command prompt people can use it?


seriously...i'd like to get a megamap produced the lazy way instead of the 'oh hey imma take a bunch of pictures and then line them up in an image editor'
_________________
Kalistia Crestland (2)
In Soviet Russia, grass grows on tiberium!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account AIM Address
Nikademis Von Hisson
General


Joined: 05 Sep 2007
Location: Wilkes Barre PA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2011 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i cant get any of my maps to use this program. its not the size of my maps, but i think it can't read my new terrain, even though all tiles are in proper mix files and they are in the proper place
_________________
I am authorized to send out the TMP Studio, PM ME IF YOU WANT IT And check this out, these were sent to me for help with terrain and zdata help along with TMP Studio/Builder

http://www.ppmsite.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=27714

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Crimsonum
Seth


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Location: Fineland

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2011 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ixith wrote:
hrmm well figured i'd bump this up just to poke the ashes and put out the question...

Did this ever get a full program with GUI and the what not so that the not so brave and willing to go through command prompt people can use it?
]


It did, for RA2 once...
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Nikademis Von Hisson
General


Joined: 05 Sep 2007
Location: Wilkes Barre PA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2011 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can take a blank yuri map and render it, but not a fully made map...or did i miss that can't be used on Yuris
_________________
I am authorized to send out the TMP Studio, PM ME IF YOU WANT IT And check this out, these were sent to me for help with terrain and zdata help along with TMP Studio/Builder

http://www.ppmsite.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=27714

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Ixith
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Location: under there!

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 3:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bah. well someone needs to be awesome and get the renderer that works for TS a nice GUI and the works so I can be lazy. #Tongue
_________________
Kalistia Crestland (2)
In Soviet Russia, grass grows on tiberium!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account AIM Address
EVA-251
General


Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere in Michigan, I suppose.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://code.google.com/p/ccmaps/source/detail?r=18
"Updated GUI and Installer".
_________________
ORA/YR modder/artist, DOOM mapper, aka evanb90
Project Lead Developer, New-Star Strike (2014-), RA Tweaked (2015-)
Former Project Lead Developer Star Strike (2005-2012), Z-Mod (2006-2007), RA1.5 (2008-2013), The Cold War (2006-2007)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 2 [58 Posts] Goto page: 1, 2 Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Featured Tools » Community Tools
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
Quick Reply
Username:


If you are visually impaired or cannot otherwise answer the challenges below please contact the Administrator for help.


Write only one of the following words: Brotherhood, unity, peace! 

 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 1.1684s ][ Queries: 15 (0.7341s) ][ Debug on ]