:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Sun Mar 29, 2020 8:39 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Tutorials Vault
Tutorial Requests
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 3 of 12 [557 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
John Galt
Commander


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Location: Galt's Gulch

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only difference between adding a unit to the rules file and a map is that in map you cannot add new art assets. Beyond that it's absolutely the same.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Red_Alert_Junkie
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 26 Feb 2006

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2006 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah but how do u get them into maps??? what do u do in FA2>? a in depth tut would be nice, thanks

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
John Galt
Commander


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Location: Galt's Gulch

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2006 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You wrote:
i can get new units for the game, thats easy, but its getting them onto maps thats tricky


Me wrote:
(I)t's absolutely the same.


For crying out loud...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Crimsonum
Seth


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Location: Fineland

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2006 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

omg, just click at them and place them into the f*cking map! (sorry, got mad) they're already there if you've coded them at rules/art ini
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Red_Alert_Junkie
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 26 Feb 2006

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah but then i cant play with m8s on internet if i have an edited rules file can i??


PLz explain

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Phatdaddymac99
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 07 May 2005
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok i see what you need so this is what you have to do.

Open wordpad.
Open your map in wordpad
Copy the new unit you made thats in your edited rule.ini to the bottum of the wordpad as long as it doesn't use a new artfile and you make sure you copy the part of list for the unit in Unitlist it should work.
Heres a quick example:
----------------------------------------------------------
^loads of map text that will be very long

***Unitlist***
-
-
-
100(wot ever next new number should be)=MBUGGY

[MBUGGY]
Name=Missle attack buggy
blah blah blah you get the idea i hope
_________________

Pic and sig made by LazerAce7

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Nology5890
Civilian


Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Location: 7th Layer of frozen (you get the picture)

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you would make a tutorial on how to make hvas with hva builder Banshee, that would be freakin' sweet. I can make awesome voxels, but I would like to know how to make turrets work, too.
_________________
I am the king, and the king is good.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
THE Protagonist
Commander


Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Location: The Etto

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 11:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have a tut request how to make sequences for shp units
i cant figure it out or someone could just give me the sequences for the firestorm units core defender and cyborg reaper since they were made before sequences were in the games
_________________
Global Genocide Website

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
John Galt
Commander


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Location: Galt's Gulch

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Units don't need sequences, only infantry do.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
THE Protagonist
Commander


Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Location: The Etto

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry it is a infantry i just called it a unit because they say unit ready in the game so it seems to be a unit to them Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Apex
General


Joined: 24 Dec 2005
Location: Final Alert 2

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a request, I want to make a second artilarty type for GDI with farther range, better accuracy and a 10 second rate of fire (using the rules.ini(basically I want to know how to copy weapons and vehicles and make the copied versions different)

like: NOD artillary being the normal one and GDI artillary being the copied and modified version.
_________________
Comcast: Yo dawg we herd yo were downloading, so we put fail in yo modem so yo cant download while yo failin!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account Yahoo Messenger Account
SMT
Flamethrower


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Location: On the battlefield destroying GDI and Nod

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OMG you just copy rename copy rename the fire rate is ROF= tag the range=tag is range. God Look around first. And be sure you post is in the right forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John Galt
Commander


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Location: Galt's Gulch

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
sorry it is a infantry
Why did you create the reaper and the defender as infantry in the first place, then? They make much more sense as vehicles... and you don't need any sequences then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
THE Protagonist
Commander


Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Location: The Etto

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah i changed it but when the big guy is created his hed aperes in the roof and i dont like that Sad but its ok
_________________
Global Genocide Website

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Tony
Commander


Joined: 02 Apr 2005
Location: United States

PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How do i select which pixels in voxel editor III i want to use as remap?

for some reason my whole tank except the treads and turret base was remap..

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Zodiac
Gauss Rifle Trooper


Joined: 02 Feb 2006
Location: Svaynaq *Uses ROT13* The answer is: Finland!

PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Remap is the red colours in the left bottom corner...
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
avpx
Cyborg Engineer


Joined: 30 Jun 2006

PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would like to read the full tutorial of creating drone harvester for the soviets.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony
Commander


Joined: 02 Apr 2005
Location: United States

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zodiac wrote:
Remap is the red colours in the left bottom corner...


yes ok..I figured that out but i have another question.

when making a tank without a turret..like the Howi, is it possible to make a seperate barrel voxel..or is that only needed for turretless tanks?

Im making a SU-152 spg. much like the one in my AVI.
the body looks great..but my barrel didnt show up ingame.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Rattuskid
Sergeant


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Location: Jersey,new

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Barrels are for turreted voxels only. Originally, in TS they would aim up or down dependant upon their target, but that got removed in Ra2, in favor of just using the static 'fire angle'. It's pointless to make a BARL voxel for something that doesn't have a turret. You could euther make the chassis and barrel all one voxel, or add it in as another voxel section.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account AIM Address
Tony
Commander


Joined: 02 Apr 2005
Location: United States

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that was real helpful Thanks!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Kurorahk
Soldier


Joined: 20 May 2005
Location: Defiance Industries HQ, Antarctica

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is a simple request (i hope), ok i have the animations and the rest of the shps and i have edited the rulesmd.ini and artmd.ini but in game the building will not be displayed on the sidebar and if i have something that has the prerequsit of the building it acts as if any building is it. In short i need a how to add a building tutorial. Thx
_________________
Defiance Industries: We prefur to call it well prepaired not over kill.

Blaze, Demon of The Round Table, Mobuis One call me what you want I am one with the sky.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oshog
General


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I need a tutorial how to make an airstrike. Just tell me what should I modify - Boris's flare or some existing SW...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Geoff17391
Medic


Joined: 25 Dec 2005
Location: England, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey all,

i got a tutorial request (been a while since you had a one of these Wink ). how do you make carpet bombs, dropping from a plane. so that there's loads of little bombs dropping in a line and slowly dropping on the enemies heads. i've got the voxels/SHPs i need for it.. just need to know how to code it in my rules and art files.

cheers dudes. Smile
_________________
Geoff (Geoff17391) Wink
#Newbie

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Clarkson
General


Joined: 25 Aug 2004
Location: DAS BOOT IM DER OSTSEE

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rattuskid wrote:
Originally, in TS they would aim up or down dependant upon their target, but that got removed in Ra2, in favor of just using the static 'fire angle'.


because things like Mammoth Tanks aimed their cannons upward at attacking aircraft and shit like that... Its kinda funny to see that.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account AIM Address
John Galt
Commander


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Location: Galt's Gulch

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Geoff, the [Bomb] weapon already does that. Fiddle with its ROF and Range properties if need be.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Rosco999999
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 28 Feb 2004

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 9:55 am    Post subject: how do i? Reply with quote

how do i get a picture of the map i made from final alert 2 to put in my zip file.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John Galt
Commander


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Location: Galt's Gulch

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Screenshot#Microsoft_Windows

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Dubzac
Commander


Joined: 21 May 2004
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i need to find out abot cell tags and how to use them you see the finalsun deon't tell you much about this item at all its important to member to understand how it works.

dcoder this i very important to mission objective indepth knowleage on cell tags and triggers ,chage sides and editing snigle player mission I.E ion storms start and stop .
_________________
Link to a document to see what mods i have and/or working on or working with
Click

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger Account
Jeeves
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Location: Oz, but near Melbourne, so its ok

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried ModEnc?
_________________

MSN Status: (if says mobile, talk anyway)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
wardeathfun
Commander


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i just realized this topic so ill ask here. how do i add shapes and voxels to my mod? im very confused. i didnt make any since i really suck at it but how do i add the shapes to the game? is there a way to find the proper code? is there a proper place besides the RA2 directory?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Oshog
General


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Erm, shapes? You must mean voxels and SHPs. There is already a tutorial on properly adding tanks and infantry here in PPM.

Also, there is RA2 FAQ.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
wardeathfun
Commander


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2007 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks... i figured out what i did wrong #Tongue

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
nikoleah
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 30 Mar 2007

PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can somebody make tutorial about how to add more health for new units.
I'm created new units but they die with one shot...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2007 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
Strength=XXXX


XXXX is a number.

Here's some strength references:


GI = 125
Grizzly Battle Tank = 300
Apocalypse = 800
Chrono Harvester = 1000
Kirov Airship = 2000


More reference at:
http://modenc.renegadeprojects.com/Strength

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
nikoleah
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 30 Mar 2007

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2007 5:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's problem:
They everybody sarts with 1 hp and i placed 2500 strenght for the vulcan agent Laughing

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
John Galt
Commander


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Location: Galt's Gulch

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Post the code...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
nikoleah
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 30 Mar 2007

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[YURIPR]
UIName=Vulcan agent
Name=Vulcan agent
Category=Soldier
Primary=Vulcan
;CanPassiveAquire=no ; Won't try to pick up own targets
CrushSound=InfantrySquish
Strenght=2500
Armor=none
TechLevel=1
Sight=14
Speed=10
Owner=Russians
Prerequisite=NAHAND
Cost=150
Soylent=25
Pip=blue
Points=5
VoiceSelect=YuriSelect
VoiceMove=YuriMove
VoiceAttack=YuriAttackCommand
VoiceFeedback=
VoiceSpecialAttack=YuriMove
DieSound=YuriDie
Locomotor={4A582744-9839-11d1-B709-00A024DDAFD1}
PhysicalSize=1
MovementZone=Infantry
ThreatPosed=15 ; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
ImmuneToVeins=yes
ImmuneToPsionics=yes
;Bombable=no
VeteranAbilities=STRONGER,FIREPOWER,ROF,SIGHT,FASTER
EliteAbilities=SELF_HEAL,STRONGER,FIREPOWER,ROF
AllowedToStartInMultiplayer=no
Deployer=yes
DeployFire=yes
UndeployDelay=150
Size=1
DetectDisguise=yes

There's code.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
John Galt
Commander


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Location: Galt's Gulch

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2007 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strength. TH, not HT.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
nikoleah
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 30 Mar 2007

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2007 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ehm sorry i writed it wrong and now it works!
Vulcan Agent destroys everything with AVulcan #2gunfire and it costs 10000 Cool

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Elerium-155
Commander


Joined: 07 Mar 2005

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2007 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think we just gave rise to a new clone just as bad as the chrono monkey.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger Account
Trukem
Civilian


Joined: 02 May 2007

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 4:58 pm    Post subject:  A guide that introduces the editorial program Reply with quote

Can someone please make a guide for the editor, that explaines its functions step by step, screenshots on every step would be extra helpfull. A guide that goes through the editor step by step and lets you do the things described in the guide while you read them, like the Heroes5 tutorial for the map editor or the tutorial for the elder scrolls 3 construction set.

The guide should have a goel, for example to make a new faction and a map. The guide describes step by step what you have to do and you just read and follow the instructions and do what's described. The guide should let you do both own new units and importing already existing units and buildings. Because when you know have to make a new faction you also know have to edit an already existing faction. So it would be optimal for the learning to have to make a whole new faction.

The guide should be very simple and very explaining, like explaining for a child. It would be optimal if the guide contained screenshots from the editor on every stage of the modding process and screenshots on how the changes made in the editor affects the game.

So then when you start modding and gets a bit unsure, you just have to look in the guide to see how they did there.

It would be were helpfull for us newbies with a guide like this, that introduces the editor to you in a simple way.

Edit: The guide would be great if it were as explaining as this:

http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/Quest_Tutorial

But with screenshots!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Allied General
General


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

which editor?

there are like loads

FA2 always has one with picture examples

INI coding is just common sense ..
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Trukem
Civilian


Joined: 02 May 2007

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Allied General wrote:
which editor?

there are like loads

FA2 always has one with picture examples

INI coding is just common sense ..


You see now, I really need a tutoriaguide. Some guys told me to get the XCC editor, but according to you there are many, which should I use?

What's FA2?

EDIT: Is there an easy tutorial for XCC or FA? I could only find complicated ones.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Allied General
General


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FA2 is Final Alert 2 the offical map editor.

XCC Mixer is used to created mod.exe files and extract ini files and for plugging in custom graphics, etc.

The pinned topics in RA2/YR can help.

I can really only give help if its specific problem, trying to explain something like XCC is normally too generalised.

Basically Try and Ask
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Trukem
Civilian


Joined: 02 May 2007

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's why I pin up a notice about someone making a tutorialguide for the XCC editor. That would be very helpful for us newbies, but I guess I'll have to learn the hard way like everyone else. But if there were a guide like that, nobody would have to ask questions because the easy tutorialguide would explain everything.

Should I test Final Alert, btw what's that?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John Galt
Commander


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Location: Galt's Gulch

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2007 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://modenc.renegadeprojects.com/Final_Alert
Topics get pinned for a reason, the "Useful References" thread in the RA2 Editing Forum should be, well, useful.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Trukem
Civilian


Joined: 02 May 2007

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2007 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Wink But I still want an even easier tutorial, like; "Final Alert2 for dummies" Very Happy

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2007 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Open the program and get practicing. The program is quite intuitive.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
nikoleah
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 30 Mar 2007

PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm... I'm wondering so if you add new unit like [YURI] thing then it replaces teh yuri.
So how i can make units they don't replace any other units?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
John Galt
Commander


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Location: Galt's Gulch

PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Add them to the appropriate list, such as InfantryTypes or BuildingTypes.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 3 of 12 [557 Posts] Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Tutorials Vault
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.5250s ][ Queries: 10 (0.0088s) ][ Debug on ]