:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Sat May 30, 2020 1:15 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Tutorials Vault
Tutorial Requests
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 4 of 12 [557 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
nikoleah
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 30 Mar 2007

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So... I place that like [YURIPR] in infantry list?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
tobiasboon46
Shrapnel Sniper


Joined: 09 Sep 2005
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How to convert .png's to .tmp's?
_________________



Err...the image above means no offence to the american people...It's a bit of what I feel about it's gov't >_>

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Dupl3xxx
Commander


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Location: somewhere south of the north pole

PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Start MS paint
Open your file
save as "BMP 24 bit"
Import the new file in SHP builder
(remember selecting pallet and so on)
Save as xxxx.tmp (in the dropdown menu)

There you go!

EDIT: oops, it wasn't PNG>BMP it was PNG>TMP Laughing ^^
_________________
This is a signature

Last edited by Dupl3xxx on Fri Jun 08, 2007 7:40 am; edited 1 time in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
IcySon55
Commander


Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Location: Overworld

PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

^^^^^
Worst .png to .tmp tutorial ever. Sorry, but it is. SHP Builder is not a tool to be used for TMP files just yet. There may be a new tool released sooner or later. But until then, XCC TMP Editor 1.05 would be your best bet.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Skype Account
Dupl3xxx
Commander


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Location: somewhere south of the north pole

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have seen people do maps where the light turns from day to night. Does anyone of you know how to do so?
_________________
This is a signature

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
John Galt
Commander


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Location: Galt's Gulch

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Map triggers. FA2 even includes a script to do this.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
DaRTzO
Laser Commando


Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Location: Country Swing

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can any1 make a tutorial how to make ra2 / yr skins?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anderwin
General


Joined: 16 May 2005

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I dont see a How you add a animation to your mod out. I Want a tuts some say how i add a animation Smile.

Thx in advance
_________________
Can you hide from me Wink?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
warlock
AA Infantry


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Location: Bournemouth, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 2:59 pm    Post subject:  Warlock Reply with quote

I need 3 tutorials:
1st - To add new buidings(techcenters, others) to RA2 e FA2;
2nd - add new units to both things too;
3rd - Add new textures or tiles.
Thanks for the attencion!!!

Sorry about my english!!! Laughing
_________________

Last edited by warlock on Tue Oct 02, 2007 3:40 pm; edited 1 time in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
bonzy_buddy
Shrapnel Sniper


Joined: 31 Oct 2006

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

both already exist.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
warlock
AA Infantry


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Location: Bournemouth, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Were i can found the three tutorials?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Don
Disk Thrower


Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Location: India

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How do i write art code for buildings

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger Account
Tony
Commander


Joined: 02 Apr 2005
Location: United States

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Be more specific, what type of building are we talking about here ? a defensive building, helipad, nuke silo ?

Also..

Open art.ini or artmd.ini (md for yuri\'s revenge) and look at other buildings code..that is the best way to learn along with the occasional question to help you along, just remember to be specific as to what you need help with.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
nikoleah
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 30 Mar 2007

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2007 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How i can add custom art in RA2?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Ickus
General


Joined: 25 Nov 2002
Location: @__@

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2007 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

depends what it is. .shp or vxl. heres the rundown.

you need to add a new entry in the art.ini. and the rules.ini
make sure you put .shps in a .mix file called ecacheXY. (XY=#>02)
voxels can simply go in the ra2 folder, but best put them in a mix file aswell. usually expandXY(XY=#>02)

Look at the existing entries to see what each type needs.

(infantry,tank and building or effects animation "trailers,overlay,explosions,and projectiles")

Each type have special settings to define what it is and to function properly ingame.

mainly for animation cycles and sequences also what cameo to use and sometimes palette. etc. Westwood left definitions on what the tags do.

.shps need to have the correct palette units use unittem.pal while trees and rocks use isotem.pal

also if it is terrain object/overly it needs the correct extension for theater art. (.sno, .lun. .tem...etc)

voxels are simple. all it needs to be defined. by giving it the tagg voxel=yes. of course it needs other tags if it has a turret or fires at a specific area. ( Forward,Lateral and Height coordinates. FLH)

then hop over to your rules.ini add Image= to the unit or type entry. with the value of the name you have your art.ini entry.

so. if you made. [DUDE] in the art it should be Image=DUDE.

or the new entry be declared as [DUDE] and it will automatically use the art entry with the same name.

thats the crash course I hope it helps, theres more tutorials though on the specifics, best search the forum for more.
_________________
Delirium..

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Shadow 750
Cyborg Engineer


Joined: 27 Jul 2007

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How to make a war factory like in Robot Storm were the unit appears as soon as it is made along with a chronosphere animation without N-Patch.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
n0th1ng sp3c1al
Soldier


Joined: 01 Oct 2007
Location: Philippines

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thats just an modified shp war factory......and anims..

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger Account
Apex
General


Joined: 24 Dec 2005
Location: Final Alert 2

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your talking about RA2, you can't have working running animations for warfactories(them opening and closing).
_________________
Comcast: Yo dawg we herd yo were downloading, so we put fail in yo modem so yo cant download while yo failin!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account Yahoo Messenger Account
n0th1ng sp3c1al
Soldier


Joined: 01 Oct 2007
Location: Philippines

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

speak that to the RA2 Soviet warfactory >_>.....

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger Account
Deformat
Defense Minister


Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Location: Bucharest,Romania Posts:29240348568

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

one tutorial that would be pretty rare:How do i create custom ore,mainly because i have an 3D model,but i dont know what should i make with it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Shadow 750
Cyborg Engineer


Joined: 27 Jul 2007

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How to make a weather storm weapon for use with tanks and buildings.
_________________
DCoder wrote:
We're having a "post the obvious" contest again and nobody told me?


DCoder wrote:
people tell me I'm wrong when I say the world is getting dumber.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SuperMario949
Jumpjet Infantry


Joined: 24 Jun 2008
Location: you know it

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:41 am    Post subject: Super Weapon Without RP Or NP ? Reply with quote

By The By Does Any One Knows How To Super Weapon'S With Out Using Rock Patch I Was Thinking That I Can Deleat The Weather Storm Controll's And Pasting Them In The Real One The Into Another Clone Then Make It An Ion Cannon Can Anyone Test It For Me

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Biohazard
Commander


Joined: 17 Jan 2008
Location: MD,USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no. you can edit the already created superweapons. and most likely nobody is gonna test it for you they are just gonna say do it yourself #Tongue
_________________

Retired YR Player
Steam Account : MAS93
Xfire: msbiohazard

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger Account AIM Address
stephen1341
Grenadier


Joined: 13 Jun 2008
Location: behind you...

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it would e nice for someone to make a complete tutorial on how to make infantry.
_________________
just shut up...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
whys
Medic


Joined: 04 May 2008
Location: Bucharest

PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 7:53 am    Post subject: IFV stuff Reply with quote

Can someone turn on the light for me (and maybe others), please?
That is, can someone explain the relations between *TurretIndex= Weapon*= *TurretWeapon= IFVMode= (from rulesmd.ini) Weapon*FLH= (in artmd.ini)?
A scheme on how a tag affects another?
_________________
Единый, могучий, Советский Союз!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Allied General
General


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

its a bit obvious no? it even has in comments, what ifv mode relates to which flh
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
whys
Medic


Joined: 04 May 2008
Location: Bucharest

PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are lots of stuff more obvious than this.
I've read the comments but they are ambiuguous.

"WeaponX=the name of the weapon to be thought of as weaponX (where X is
an integer)"
kind of cyclic explanation...
A little scheme wouldn't take longer than a flammy reply for an experienced modder.
IMO it would've been much easier if there were only 2 tags: IFVmode= (for occupant weapon) and HVA for graphics; no numbers.
But there are 5 tags (mentioned above) + fvtur<no>.
So, what are the relations?
_________________
Единый, могучий, Советский Союз!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John Galt
Commander


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Location: Galt's Gulch

PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lol braindamage. Don't say what would be better unless you actually can understand what happens, kthx.

%sTurretIndex determines the index of turret (fvtur%02d) to use for the %sTurretWeapon 'th slot. (Elite)Weapon%d defines the weapon used by certain IFVMode.
I would never have guessed that.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
whys
Medic


Joined: 04 May 2008
Location: Bucharest

PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 12:17 pm    Post subject:   Reply with quote

Ok, thanks for assuming I'm familiar with the fv part routine in rulesmd.ini, artmd.ini and expandxx.mix... Rolling Eyes
I'm a newb, that's why I'd use a tutorial. If I knew it, I wouldn't ask for it in the first place, would I?

Anyway, now that you mentioned TurretIndex sets fvtur untangled 90% of the knot.

It's not difficult as much as it's cumbersome.
_________________
Единый, могучий, Советский Союз!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
warlock
AA Infantry


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Location: Bournemouth, UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2008 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello there I'm looking for a tutorials to teach me how to add new civilian and faction buildings to RA2/RA2YR, and how to use them in final alert 2 you can help me? Yes I'm a newbie at modding.
Thanks for the help.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
MRMIdAS
Gauss Rifle Trooper


Joined: 17 Jul 2008

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Requesting a tutorial on how to make a building that automatically generates ore around it, without the need for force-firing or rockpatch/npatch.
_________________
MIdAS - Turning wages into beer since 2002

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AprilWar
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 05 Sep 2007
Location: Somewhere in rulesmd.ini

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sup.

Read this tutorial at modenc it works.
http://www.modenc.renegadeprojects.com/Ore_spawning
_________________


My Art

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MRMIdAS
Gauss Rifle Trooper


Joined: 17 Jul 2008

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AprilWar wrote:
Sup.

Read this tutorial at modenc it works.
http://www.modenc.renegadeprojects.com/Ore_spawning


I knew about that, but does it work on buildings without destroying them?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Javier
My Rank Will Never Change


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Location: Wars World!!! Posts: -99999999

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works without destroying them. Destroying them will stop from ore spawning.
_________________
Awesome banner made by m-.. I mean AltomareXD!

MY MOOOOOOOOD!!!!!!11!!1!!1111!!!11!!!1

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MRMIdAS
Gauss Rifle Trooper


Joined: 17 Jul 2008

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Javier wrote:
It works without destroying them. Destroying them will stop from ore spawning.


Right, I've attatched my ore producing debris to a building, and it does nothing, I'm probably missing somthing really stupid here, so can someone help?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MT
General


Joined: 23 Jun 2008
Location: Wandering Time

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MRMIdAS wrote:
Javier wrote:
It works without destroying them. Destroying them will stop from ore spawning.


Right, I've attatched my ore producing debris to a building, and it does nothing, I'm probably missing somthing really stupid here, so can someone help?


Post your code.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AprilWar
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 05 Sep 2007
Location: Somewhere in rulesmd.ini

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lmao i posted the wrong tutorial. srry.
If you meant AG's tutorial it seems that you will have to force-fire into the ground to make it spawn. I don't have any trouble with that it works perfect.

But there is a tutorial made by Apollo and gamemate that has what you need:
http://forums.revora.net/index.php?showtopic=38062
_________________


My Art

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MRMIdAS
Gauss Rifle Trooper


Joined: 17 Jul 2008

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

| AprilWar | wrote:
lmao i posted the wrong tutorial. srry.
If you meant AG's tutorial it seems that you will have to force-fire into the ground to make it spawn. I don't have any trouble with that it works perfect.

But there is a tutorial made by Apollo and gamemate that has what you need:
http://forums.revora.net/index.php?showtopic=38062


Cheers Very Happy

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ConMan
Tiberian Beast


Joined: 16 Dec 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2009 12:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would highly appreciate if anybody could make a normals painting tutorial, with clear instructions and is complete.

I pray.... Crying or Very sad

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freedom fighter
General


Joined: 14 May 2009

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've seen that there are two voxels in the ra2.mix file that are for the GDI/Nod apc(apc.vxl and apcw.vxl).So how do I make amphibious units like it(uses the ***w.vxl when on water)in RA2?
_________________
The future belongs to The Forgotten!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Templar X
Commander


Joined: 26 Feb 2009

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't. Logic went kaboom.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Revolutionary
Commander


Joined: 19 May 2008
Location: Scotland, starting a Revolution Cameo: metricon. Posts:???

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It was a one of special hardcoded unit so there is a very high chance (im not a experianced RA2 Modder) the logic has been removed from the exe (it is useless any way, 1 unit only with no turret was all that was supported)
_________________
Creator of TS:BoB and some other things that might be good when finnished.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Dark Templar X
Commander


Joined: 26 Feb 2009

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh yeah, it was removed alright. There is a very slim chance that in RA2 1.000 it might work. Even think, I think it was tested to no avail.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freedom fighter
General


Joined: 14 May 2009

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh dang Sad .I wanted to make such a unit(like a tsunami tank that has a ***w.vxl where the treads are upside down when on water) Crying or Very sad
_________________
The future belongs to The Forgotten!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Templar X
Commander


Joined: 26 Feb 2009

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Create a request for Ares. May get done...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freedom fighter
General


Joined: 14 May 2009

PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How do I add a new faction in RA2YR (needs Npatch or Rockpatch right?) without replacing the existing ones?
_________________
The future belongs to The Forgotten!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Templar X
Commander


Joined: 26 Feb 2009

PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's a tutorial in the MDK.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freedom fighter
General


Joined: 14 May 2009

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Crap! I can't find it. Sad Help?
_________________
The future belongs to The Forgotten!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Templar X
Commander


Joined: 26 Feb 2009

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NP 1.00 MDK - http://vk.cncguild.net/NPATCH/DATA/NP_1_00_MDK.exe
NPSE MDK - http://vk.cncguild.net/NPATCH/DATA/NP_SE_MDK.exe
NPAE MDK - http://vk.cncguild.net/NPATCH/DATA/NP_AE_MDK.exe

Pick whichever you need.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freedom fighter
General


Joined: 14 May 2009

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks comrade Smile
_________________
The future belongs to The Forgotten!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 4 of 12 [557 Posts] Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Tutorials Vault
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.6849s ][ Queries: 10 (0.0152s) ][ Debug on ]