:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Mon Oct 03, 2022 7:20 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
Wont install
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Universal
Stealth Laser Trooper


Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 1:19 am    Post subject:  Wont install Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

My red alert 2 wont install anymore Sad

I get the following error message after i click on the install button


_________________
"Those who want to live, let them fight, and those who do not want to fight in this world of eternal struggle do not deserve to live."

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
-tr8er8-
Rocket Cyborg


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 5:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hah! That is what I get when there is an error in my mod of some sort. But I deleted that and now it has this other thing that pops up. Delete everything that has to do with the RA2, and check if there is already an RA2.dir
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Skype Account
Renegade
Cyborg Artillery


Joined: 21 May 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Are you sure this is a Westwood-encoded error, and not just you having Visual Studio installed and it catching unhandled exceptions?
_________________
#renproj:renegadeprojects.com via Matrix - direct link

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
-tr8er8-
Rocket Cyborg


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

No it happens with me too, I used to have that until I uninstalled it, then there is still this other thing that pops up. There must be something else wrong with it.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Skype Account
Renegade
Cyborg Artillery


Joined: 21 May 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

And you are sure you don't have Visual Studio 2005 installed?
_________________
#renproj:renegadeprojects.com via Matrix - direct link

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
m666
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Renegade, I think I do have this issue as well, but I know for a fact that I don't' have Visual Basic 2005. I think it has something to do with a WinXP update, as I had RA2 working before some update, and now it won't work.

Your guess is as good as mine.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account Yahoo Messenger Account AIM Address
Renegade
Cyborg Artillery


Joined: 21 May 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Well, if RA2 or the setup program were coded with M$ Visual Studio (which I think pd hinted at before), it is entirely possible this unhandled exception handler was (accidently?) automatically compiled into the exe.

Universal: Have you tried circumventing the autostart and executing the setup directly?
_________________
#renproj:renegadeprojects.com via Matrix - direct link

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Universal
Stealth Laser Trooper


Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yes tried both of those methods renegade and to no sucess Sad.

Edit: my last resort worked (install ra2 from TFD) Smile
_________________
"Those who want to live, let them fight, and those who do not want to fight in this world of eternal struggle do not deserve to live."

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John Galt
Commander


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Location: Galt's Gulch

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Renegade wrote:
Well, if RA2 or the setup program were coded with M$ Visual Studio (which I think pd hinted at before), it is entirely possible this unhandled exception handler was (accidently?) automatically compiled into the exe.


It is a product of having Visual Studio/other Visual Foo installed, not of WW's coding.

1. RA2/YR was compiled with MS's C++ compiler.

2. Unless someone perfected time travel without telling me, there is no way they could have compiled a link to Visual Studio 2005 back in 2000, when RA2/YR were in the works...

3. A simple Google search for "Visual Studio just-in-time debugger" shows that same screen as a result of crashes in other programs.

This post might be useful to those getting this error.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Renegade
Cyborg Artillery


Joined: 21 May 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

DCoder wrote:
2. Unless someone perfected time travel without telling me, there is no way they could have compiled a link to Visual Studio 2005 back in 2000, when RA2/YR were in the works...

God damn you and your fancy "logic" #Tongue

But I'll save my ass by pointing out that I asked whether they had Visual Studio installed twice, and nobody ever gave me a conclusive "yes" or "no".

Edit: Woohoo, 100th post!
_________________
#renproj:renegadeprojects.com via Matrix - direct link

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1816s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0086s) ][ Debug on ]