:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Tue May 18, 2021 12:44 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Tutorials Vault
Adding a Wolverine or Titan to RA2
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [27 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
tibmaker
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 15 Mar 2003

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 4:02 am    Post subject:  Adding a Wolverine or Titan to RA2 Reply with quote

Author: tibmaker

How to add a Wolverine or Titan in Red Alert 2
Requirements:
XCC Mixer
Ini files
Tiberian Sun
Open XCC Mixer and goto the Tiberian Sun directory and select TIBSUN.mix. Go to Conquer.mix and find smech.shp (Wolverine file). The Titan and the Wolverine are not vxl's they are shps. You have to make sure they are in a good palette that is compatible for Red Alert 2 so you go and click View ' Palette and select auto, Convert from TD, and Use for Conversion. After that you right click on smech.shp and copy it. Now it will be in the correct palette. So now you have the file for the Wolverine and you need to insert it. Open up your art.ini file (Yuri's Revenge is artmd.ini) and create a new entry or overwrite one. It should look like this:
[title] ; name
Voxel=no
Remapable=yes
Cameo=your cameo file
PrimaryFireFLH=0,48,48
WalkFrames=12
FiringFrames=4
If you name the title something don't forget to name the shp file the same as that title. Now you have the Wolverine unit. Just insert the image entry into the rules file.
The Titan goes exactly the same way but with a different file. The files you need are mmech.shp. Once you have that Open up the art.ini file and make a new entry or overwrite a new entry. It should look like this:
[title] ; name
Voxel=no
Remapable=yes
Cameo=your cameo file
WalkFrames=15
FireFrames=11
PrimaryFireFLH=20,-50,100
If you name the title something don't forget to name the shp file the same as that title. Now you have the Titan! Just insert the image entry into the rules file.

Key Words: #Tutorials #Modding #RedAlert2 #YurisRevenge #Rules.INI #Art.INI #XCCUtilities 

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Mike
Commander


Joined: 11 Jan 2003
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2003 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the titan is a voxel.....
_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2003 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Titan is a voxel with shp. The body is shp while the barrel is voxel.

Banshee, for the PPM Graphic Competition (Challenge #1), wrote:
Is it so hard to make it or you guys don't give a toss to this comp? If the answer is "hard", then let's make a deeper analysis in the structure of the mechs using Titan (GDI) as example.

Titan is composed of a body (mmch.shp) and a barrel (mmchbar.vxl) and the hva of the barrel (mmchbar.hva)

As you may see, the body is a .shp file, so it doesn't need a .hva file for it. The body uses the .shp format because of the walking animations.

The .Shp part is divided in 2 parts: the botton movement and the head.

The botton movement is exactly the walking animation and it has it walking for each of 8 sides. (North, Northeast, East, Southeast, South, Southwest, West and Nothwest respectivelly). Each direction has 15 frames, but it's up to you to decide how many frames each direction will have as long as all directions have the same number which will be placed in the WalkFrames= setting in art.ini.

The head animations are just the rotation and has the head pointing 32 different directions (if you do that in 3D Studio Max, the difference for each angle is 11.25º).

The other 152 pictures are shadows that you dont need to do otherwise you'll go crazy....

The voxel is just the barrel.

The art.ini codes are something you shouldnt worry much, specially because the weapon is a vulcans and vulcan projectiles in the game invisible.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Dark
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 19 May 2003
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2003 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, this tutorial is missing where you have to put the .shp file after you've extracted it from the tiberian sun mix...

i figured out how to import the new units myself today of which i'm proud :d but there's obv stillstuff i need to find out.. not a bad tut..

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account AIM Address
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2003 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you have the expandXX.mix for your mod (or expandmdXX.mix in YR case)... and XX is a number with 2 digits from 02 to 99. It's where you put the voxel and the hva file. Inside this mix file, you may find an ecacheXX.mix or ecachemdXX.mix where you put the shp file.
_________________


Mods, Mods Support, Public Researchs, Map Archives, Tutorials, A Friendly Community and much more. Check it out now!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Dark
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 19 May 2003
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2003 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmmmmmmmm, that all means nothing to me, i just put them into ra2.mix since i'm not making an actual mod, i don't have the vision to create something such...
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account AIM Address
Mike
Commander


Joined: 11 Jan 2003
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2003 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dont let westwood hear ya
_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2003 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Putting in ra2.mix is bad, as it can create problems when you want to play on wol. Try getting XCC Utilities at XCC Homepage and create a new mix file with the XCC Mix Editor called "expandmd02.mix" (or call it expand02.mix if you dont have the Yuri's Revenge). There you add your voxels by using a non-maximized window of windows explorer and draging and droping the selected files into it. And also add your hva files there. Then, you use your XCC Mix Editor to make another file called "ecache02.mix" and add all the .shp files that you use in your mod on that. After you add all the files in a mix file, make sure to press the button "compact mix". When ecache02.mix is done, open your expandmd02.mix (or expand02.mix) and add your ecache02.mix in it.
_________________


Mods, Mods Support, Public Researchs, Map Archives, Tutorials, A Friendly Community and much more. Check it out now!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Dark
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 19 May 2003
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2003 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i already have the mixer and mix editor tools, thats how i extracted and compacted the files... the only reason i put them in ra2.mix is because i didn't know where else to put em... plus i can't play on wol with ra2 so thats no problem to me...
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account AIM Address
scoobmiester
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 26 Sep 2003

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I took all the mix files from the language.mix and put them in the ra2.mix. plus i put my own shps and vxls in there and had no problem on wol.
_________________
We will bury them!! -Russian officers

Can i have a scooby snack cause im hungry

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jamesminilogo
Medic


Joined: 16 Jul 2003

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2003 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

arent all the tiberian sun voxels already in RA2??? i think they are in local.mix
_________________
WOL Nick: Lawes

Member of Black Raven Mods
Mission and Map maker for Nuclear Winter

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Skype Account
DeeZeL
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Location: Egypt

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2003 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not all of them
_________________
"Sometimes the mind needs to find somethings on its own" -Dr. Xavier


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Skype Account
OmegaBolt
President


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Location: York, England

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can someone do a tut on how to convert voxels and hva from TS to RA2/YR?

And I thought TS shps are in the right pallete for YR anyway.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Allied General
General


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

u don't need to convert.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
- geno -
Energy Commando


Joined: 29 May 2003
Location: Las Pinas, Philippines

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, if you put TS Buildings/Units you will see some pink dots
_________________

Fight for the freedom side, March with the Imperial War Machine or Conquest for World Domination
https://www.facebook.com/YRZH.Mod/
https://www.moddb.com/mods/yr-zero-hour

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL Skype Account Yahoo Messenger Account
Oshog
General


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2005 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the tip.Can I add this way all the rest of the units?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ChrisBlitz
Medic


Joined: 17 Sep 2005

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, his tutorial, does not tell how to add a barrel or turret to a SHP body. I would really appreaciate it if this could be explained.
_________________

Oxid Wars Forums

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Allied General
General


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what Turret=yes?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Oshog
General


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Duh...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DonutArnold
General


Joined: 18 Jan 2005
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What if I want to resize 'em example 15% bigger?
1. I know how to resize shp...
2. But I don't know how to resize voxel 15% bigger!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oshog
General


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I beleive it's the exact opposite of smallifing them...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Vincent93
Commander


Joined: 07 May 2005
Location: Behind you!!!

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You use HVA Builder but it seperates some of the voxels leaving blank layers so there is no way to do it correctly afaik sorry.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Skype Account
Oshog
General


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So it makes holes in them?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Vincent93
Commander


Joined: 07 May 2005
Location: Behind you!!!

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep it adds these layers that are blank, so you best bet is to use vxlse and resize canvas then nudge the voxel to the side you want and mirror it.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Skype Account
Oshog
General


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So how do we fill the blanks?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Vincent93
Commander


Joined: 07 May 2005
Location: Behind you!!!

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no idea...when you open the voxel after you rezized it in hva builder it is the voxel before you rezized it.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Skype Account
John Galt
Commander


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Location: Galt's Gulch

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would suggest simply resizing it to 200%, then editing the voxel bounds. See ModEnc for a "Voxel Bounds" tutorial.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [27 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Tutorials Vault
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.2000s ][ Queries: 10 (0.0099s) ][ Debug on ]