Project Perfect Mod Forums
:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::


The time now is Fri Apr 19, 2024 7:25 pm
All times are UTC + 0
deployfire on structures
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Tratos
General


Joined: 01 Jan 2003

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 1:27 am    Post subject:  deployfire on structures Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Anyone know if this is possible, ive been messing about trying to get the nuke reactor to irraditate the ground if i 'deploy' it. Im sure i remember seeing the genesis 'water extractor thingy' doing this in an older version of AR2 but cant for the life of me figure out how they did it.

Im currently just using this code:

Code:

Primary=SpyCameraWeapon
Secondary=RadEruptionWeapon
Deployer=yes
DeployFire=yes


Spycamera weapon is in the primary slot just because its the first 'dummy' weapon that came to mind.

edit: damn, ive become a newb again since i left modding :p

firther edit: ive done some more on it and got it working, with 1 minor snag.

i added;

Code:

GapGenerator=yes
GapRadiusInCells=1
SuperGapRadiusInCells=5
HasRadialIndicator=true
ExtraPower=600


With this code added (stolen from the gap gen) i can get the deploy cursor to come up, and clicking it makes the gap gen area increase as it should, it also makes it fire the primary weapon. So i took out the spycamera dummy and put the radexplosion in as primary. It works fine BUT whilst clicking it again reduces the gapgen effect again, it wont stop firing, which it kind of needs to do (an emergncy release of nuclear waste is a great weapon against enemies, but not much good when you can't turn it off again and kills anything coming out your barracks). I do plan to limit the radius of the radiation so it only affects a couple of cells around the nuke plant, not 5-6 like it currently does, but still the ability to turn it on/off at will would be great. Any ideas? i'll keep working on it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
John Galt
Commander


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Location: Galt's Gulch

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 4:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Clone RadEruption and add FireOnce to it? Just an idea.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Dupl3xxx
Commander


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Location: somewhere south of the north pole

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

In Alide Revenge, I think they used light to do that. Try ataching a rad-weapon to an anim (if possible, this is uotside my knowlege)

_________________
This is a signature

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Rattuskid
Sergeant


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Location: Jersey,new

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

In AR2, I think that structure just provided the green glow lighting, not actual radiation.

The closest hack you can get is giving the structure an infinite range rad-weapon with AreaFire set.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account AIM Address
Tratos
General


Joined: 01 Jan 2003

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

DCoder wrote:
Clone RadEruption and add FireOnce to it? Just an idea.


That works brilliantly thanks Dcoder. Clicking deploy will cause the structure to produce an area of radiation around itself which is configurable within the limits of the weapon. However, it only fires once and then turns itself off, i was hoping to allow it to continue firing until i turned it off. Now to figure out which parts of the gapgen code are uneeded to get it to deploy.

Rattuskid wrote:
In AR2, I think that structure just provided the green glow lighting, not actual radiation.

The closest hack you can get is giving the structure an infinite range rad-weapon with AreaFire set.


I distinctly remember it being a weapon becuase it used the (currently unused in vanilla RA2) IsRadEruption= effect which is a weapon tag. This was an older version of AR2 when the extractor looked like the allied naval yard.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Allied General
General


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I think that effect may have been permanent though e.g. a infinite range raderuption weapon so constant deploy unfortunatly.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Apex
General


Joined: 24 Dec 2005
Location: Final Alert 2

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Well for the gap logic, you could use:

Code:
GapGenerator=yes
GapRadiusInCells=1 ;maybe 0?
SuperGapRadiusInCells=1 ;maybe 0?
HasRadialIndicator=false
ExtraPower=0

_________________
Comcast: Yo dawg we herd yo were downloading, so we put fail in yo modem so yo cant download while yo failin!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account Yahoo Messenger Account
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
 
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1619s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0075s) ][ Debug on ]