Joined: 05 Mar 2007 Location: Less than 10 minutes from the internet
Posted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 1:28 am Post subject:
Revolver weapon trouble
Subject description: Using "ammo" properly
Hey all, I've been working on a simple infantryman, with a 6 shot revolver. Theoretically, all 6 shots would be unloaded quickly, before a lengthy reload.
I tried doing it with ammo controlled by the unit before each reload, but that didn't do it.... it never reloaded. W/e, here is the code. Maybe you guy's will know what has to be changed.
Ammo=6
Reload=20; (time delay between reloads)
;InitialAmmo=-1 ;IDK if these would help at all.
;ReloadIncrement=20 ;(amount to add to how long a unit reloads at every time a unit fires.)
;EmptyReload=20; (how long it takes to fire. –1 means none)
Also, could I put pipscale=ammo in there to keep track of the shots? It seems like it would work, but I want to know how I can get that weapon to allow him to reload after a complete discharge.
Any ideas what I'm doing wrong would help. I only ask about something if I am really stumped. _________________
Remove Ammo and Reload from the infantry and add Burst=6 to the weapon. Change ROF= to 20 (reload time) and to indicate the time in between the shots add BurstDelay0=5 up 'till BurstDelay4=5 (the actual rate of fire; I just used the same numbers you used for the delays).
So if I'd adapt your weapons code for you, it'll look like this:
Code:
[Revolver]
Damage=150
ROF=20
Range=6
Projectile=InvisibleLow
Speed=100
Warhead=HollowPoint2
Report=ClintAttack
AssaultAnim=UCBLOOD
Burst=6
BurstDelay0=5 ;the delay in between the 1st and 2nd shot
BurstDelay1=5 ;the delay in between the 2nd and 3th shot
BurstDelay2=5 ;the delay in between the 3th and 4th shot
BurstDelay3=5 ;the delay in between the 4th and 5th shot
BurstDelay4=5 ;the delay in between the 5th and 6th shot
This is how it works in TS anyway... It should also work in RA2/YR for as far as I know, unless the BurstDelay logic was removed (can't imagine why however). _________________ QUICK_EDIT
Joined: 05 Mar 2007 Location: Less than 10 minutes from the internet
Posted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 2:57 am Post subject:
Bittah Commander wrote:
This is how it works in TS anyway... It should also work in RA2/YR for as far as I know, unless the BurstDelay logic was removed (can't imagine why however).
I will TRY it, and if it fails to work, I will return to tell you that it didn't.
Lets try to stay positive, Dark Templar X, okey? I will try it your way after I try it Bittah Commander's way. Just chill out. Why does everyone gotta be so negative around here, anyway? So much stuff in ALL CAPS == internet yelling. Ah, whatever. _________________
Joined: 13 Jan 2007 Location: Netherlands! Banned: 3 times
Posted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 10:26 am Post subject:
Just do burst=6 and do a long ROF. Although with burst it may fire too fast. _________________ ☭☭☭☭☭☭☭☭☭☭
Become one with your heart's desire:
http://www.moddb.com/mods/command-conquer-red-renegade1
☭☭☭☭☭☭☭☭☭☭ QUICK_EDIT
>.< Idiot. Readb4upostplz, that's what has already been suggested.
In RA2/YR burstdelay goes on the unit, on TS it goes on the weapon. Do not get the two mixed up, although the code is exactly the same. _________________ Yes, work on MV continues. It is not forgotten. QUICK_EDIT
Joined: 13 Jan 2007 Location: Netherlands! Banned: 3 times
Posted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 12:27 pm Post subject:
Well, they're talking about BurstDelay. I only said Burst, which hasn't been talked about. But they probably ment the same. _________________ ☭☭☭☭☭☭☭☭☭☭
Become one with your heart's desire:
http://www.moddb.com/mods/command-conquer-red-renegade1
☭☭☭☭☭☭☭☭☭☭ QUICK_EDIT
Errr.... Like I said, READ THE THREAD please. Then you'd notice they were talking about burst as well, and when you specify a BURSTdelay, first you have to have a BURST, do you not? _________________ Yes, work on MV continues. It is not forgotten. QUICK_EDIT
Joined: 13 Jan 2007 Location: Netherlands! Banned: 3 times
Posted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 1:20 pm Post subject:
Yeah, I kinda said that in my last post.
To make it even more clear, you were right, I was wrong, we all go happily along. _________________ ☭☭☭☭☭☭☭☭☭☭
Become one with your heart's desire:
http://www.moddb.com/mods/command-conquer-red-renegade1
☭☭☭☭☭☭☭☭☭☭ QUICK_EDIT
Joined: 05 Mar 2007 Location: Less than 10 minutes from the internet
Posted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 7:23 pm Post subject:
I tried it Bittah Commander's way, and I had success. It works excellently, and I upped the times on the weapon reload, and we are golden. Other than that, the unit just needs some tweaking, new graphics, etc.
Oh, and everybody here is really quick to respond. Im surprised at how fast my first two threads have been jumped on, and help has been administered hastily. Thank you again.
Thanks to all y'all, I have made quite a few bug fixes, and my mod is looking better already. _________________
Yeah, we're an active lot really. Surprising as it may be for a game this old... There are far younger games far less active _________________ Yes, work on MV continues. It is not forgotten. QUICK_EDIT
I guess that these games from simpler times are easier to mod.
But didn't Bittah say that that the burstdelay should go on the weapon (while common knowledge, and Fen, dictate the unit), so shouldn't it not have worked for Atari2600 here? QUICK_EDIT
Since the game ignores unknown keys and Atari isn't an experienced modder,
I assume that the game ignored the BurstDelay on the weapon and that Atari didn't recognize the difference which would be created by such a small BurstDelay. _________________ SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection: Nod buildings
In terms of gameplay for an RTS, I don't know if reloading for units is such a good idea. On one hand it will add the sense of realisism of them being vulnerable while reloading, but on the other hand there will be long moments of time when they are just stading there being shot. Also consider when you reload in battle you're probably gonna do so behind a rock or in a hole, but here you are still out in the open in the almost perfectly flat world or RA2. _________________ Please, read the signature rules of the forum. QUICK_EDIT
Joined: 05 Mar 2007 Location: Less than 10 minutes from the internet
Posted: Sun Jul 19, 2009 3:52 am Post subject:
Lin Kuei Ominae wrote:
Since the game ignores unknown keys and Atari isn't an experienced modder,
I assume that the game ignored the BurstDelay on the weapon and that Atari didn't recognize the difference which would be created by such a small BurstDelay.
Hey, Im still learning the tricks of the trade, but I can do most of the stuff I want with no problem. Whatever I did, I hear the breaks between firing, and it does what it needs to do.
Its been close to 3 years that I have been really getting the hang of working my way through the code and graphics. And nobody knows everything, so I will learn what I can either by the seat of my pants, or tutorials, or asking y'all when I really get stumped.
DaFool wrote:
In terms of gameplay for an RTS, I don't know if reloading for units is such a good idea. On one hand it will add the sense of realisism of them being vulnerable while reloading, but on the other hand there will be long moments of time when they are just stading there being shot. Also consider when you reload in battle you're probably gonna do so behind a rock or in a hole, but here you are still out in the open in the almost perfectly flat world or RA2.
The infantryman packing this weapon has a BuildLimit=1, so when using him, its just like Tanya, but you just gotta get him to back up every so often, for no more than ROF=40. So it does what it needs to do, and I find it entertaining. But I appreciate the concern, DaFool.
I'm happy with the weapon the way it is, so relax everybody. Again, I appreciate your assistance, but I believe the problem has been resolved. _________________
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You can download files in this forum