Project Perfect Mod Forums
:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::


The time now is Wed Apr 24, 2024 6:04 pm
All times are UTC + 0
Subterranean travel, crates, skirmish music & player power
Moderators: Global Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Madin
Plasma Trooper


Joined: 05 Apr 2009

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 2:58 am    Post subject:  Subterranean travel, crates, skirmish music & player power Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

1. I have a Tiberian Sun style Devil's tongue that uses 'subterranean' travel.
The trouble is that I can't prevent it from being selected when it is 'burrowed'
You can still drag select the unit, which kills the belief of subterranean travel.
I tried the code below, but the unit is only unselected after it surfaces, any ideas?
Code:
<TeleportSpecialAbilityUpdate id="ModuleTag_TeleportSpecialAbility" SpecialPowerTemplate="SpecialAbilityBurrowDevilsFlame" UnpackTime="2s" PackTime="2s" BusyDuration="1s" MaxDistance="10000" UnpackSound="HumanFaction_MediumBuilding_DieMS" PackSound="HumanFaction_MediumBuilding_DieMS" DestinationWeapon="DevilsDigWeapon" SourceWeapon="DevilsDigWeapon" FadeInTime="1s" SetObjectStatusOnTrigger="HIDDEN UNSELECTABLE" ClearObjectStatusOnExit="HIDDEN UNSELECTABLE"></TeleportSpecialAbilityUpdate>


2. Crates. I'm impressed with how limited the crates code seems. The unit crate will only allow me to spawn individual infantry, not squads.
Has anyone tried/managed to get whole infantry squads out of unit crates?

3. Still on crates, is there any chance at all at getting something like an armour upgrade crate pick-up or a stealth field crate?

4. How would I go about adding a couple of classic C&C tunes to C&C 3 skirmish music? I had a look at the audio.XML and I could not fully understand it. Red/Yellow/Blue zones etc.

5. I have a seed blue tiberium power that comes has part of an upgrade. I'd like it to replace the normal seed tiberium powers button, but the best I can do is to get the old seed tiberium power greyed out.
Is it possible to have a player power button replaced in game?

Again thanks for any help! Confused

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stygs
Cyborg Cannon


Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

2)
Only with a workaround:

Code:

   <!-- Basic object for all other unit crates -->
   <GameObject
      id="UnitCrateMP_Dummy"
      inheritFrom="UnitCrate"
      EditorName="UnitCrateMP_Dummy"
      Description="DESC:Crate">
      <DisplayName
         xai:joinAction="Replace" xmlns:xai="uri:ea.com:eala:asset:instance">NAME:Crate</DisplayName>
   </GameObject>

   <!-- Cant spawn squads through normal crate logic - needs to create a dummy unit and use OCL -->
   <GameObject
      id="UnitCrateMP_GDIRifleSoldierSquad"
      inheritFrom="UnitCrateMP_Dummy"
      EditorName="UnitCrateMP_GDIRifleSoldierSquad">
      <Behaviors>
         <UnitCrateCollide
            xai:joinAction="Replace"
            id="ModuleTag_CrateCollide"
            UnitCount="1"
            UnitType="CrateDummy_GDIRifleSoldierSquad" />
      </Behaviors>
   </GameObject>

   <GameObject
      id="CrateDummy_GDIRifleSoldierSquad"
      Side="Neutral"
      EditorSorting="UNIT"
      CommandSet="EmptyCommandSet"
      KindOf="IMMOBILE INERT UNATTACKABLE NO_COLLIDE"
      RadarPriority="NOT_ON_RADAR">
      <ArmorSet
         Armor="NoArmor" />
      <Draws>
      </Draws>
      <Behaviors>
         <SlowDeath
            id="ModuleTag_Death"
            DestructionDelay="0.1s">
            <OCL
               Type="INITIAL">
               <OCL>OCL_UnitCrateMP_GDIRifleSoldierSquad</OCL>
            </OCL>
            <DieMuxData
               DeathTypes="ALL" />
         </SlowDeath>
         <LifetimeUpdate
            id="ModuleTag_LifetimeUpdate"
            MinLifetime="0.1s"
            MaxLifetime="0.1s" />
      </Behaviors>
      <Body>
         <ActiveBody
            id="ModuleTag_Body"
            MaxHealth="9999999.0" />
      </Body>
      <VisionInfo
         VisionRange="0"
         ShroudClearingRange="0" />
   </GameObject>

   <ObjectCreationList
      id="OCL_UnitCrateMP_GDIRifleSoldierSquad">
      <CreateObject
         Options="IGNORE_ALL_OBJECTS"
         Disposition="ON_GROUND_ALIGNED"
         Count="2">
         <CreateObject>GDIRifleSoldierSquad</CreateObject>
      </CreateObject>
   </ObjectCreationList>


It looks a bit complicated, but basicly the UnitCrateMP_GDIRifleSoldierSquad crate creates a dummy that spawns the units through a death OCL.

If you want different units, you can easily use inheritfrom:

Code:
   <GameObject
      id="CrateDummy_GDIMissileSoldierSquad"
      inheritFrom="CrateDummy_GDIRifleSoldierSquad">
      <Behaviors>
         <SlowDeath
            xai:joinAction="Replace"
            id="ModuleTag_Death"
            DestructionDelay="0.1s">
            <OCL
               Type="INITIAL">
               <OCL>OCL_UnitCrateMP_GDIMissileSoldierSquad</OCL>
            </OCL>
            <DieMuxData
               DeathTypes="ALL" />
         </SlowDeath>
      </Behaviors>
   </GameObject>



5)
You can easily replace the specialpower (like replacing the green tiberium seed with a vertigo that seeds blue tiberium), but no idea how to replace the button :/

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
DaFool
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Nov 2006

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

How did you do the underground travel? I have an idea of how it would be done in Generals, which would be done via riders with two sets of behaviors, the underground version would have the locomotor which makes it go underground and a stealth update so the enemy doesn't know it's there (unless they have detectors).

_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Madin
Plasma Trooper


Joined: 05 Apr 2009

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks! the squad code works great!
So using your idea, I tried an 'Armour' upgrade crate.
Doesn't work, most likely because I got the weapon code wrong.

Code:
<GameObject id="CrateDummy_UnitCrateMP_Armour" Side="Neutral" EditorSorting="UNIT" CommandSet="EmptyCommandSet" KindOf="IMMOBILE INERT UNATTACKABLE NO_COLLIDE" RadarPriority="NOT_ON_RADAR">
    <ArmorSet Armor="NoArmor" />
    <Draws></Draws>
    <Behaviors>
      <SlowDeath id="ModuleTag_Death" DestructionDelay="0.1s">
        <DieMuxData DeathTypes="ALL" />
      </SlowDeath>
      <FireWeaponWhenDead id="ModuleTag_FireWeaponWhenDead" InitiallyActive="true" DeathWeapon="CrateArmourWeapon">
        <DieMuxData DeathTypes="ALL" />
      </FireWeaponWhenDead>
      <LifetimeUpdate id="ModuleTag_LifetimeUpdate" MinLifetime="0.1s" MaxLifetime="0.1s" />
    </Behaviors>
    <Body>
      <ActiveBody id="ModuleTag_Body" MaxHealth="9999999.0" />
    </Body>
    <VisionInfo VisionRange="0" ShroudClearingRange="0" />
  </GameObject>


Code:
<WeaponTemplate id="CrateArmourWeapon" Name="CrateArmourWeapon" RadiusDamageAffects="ALLIES ENEMIES NEUTRALS" ClipSize="1" AcceptableAimDelta="360d">
    <FiringDuration MinSeconds="1.0s" MaxSeconds="1.0s" />
    <Nuggets>
      <AttributeModifierNugget AttributeModifierName="Modifier_CrateArmour" Radius="30">
        <SpecialObjectFilter Rule="NONE" Include="VEHICLE HUGE_VEHICLE" />
      </AttributeModifierNugget>
    </Nuggets>
  </WeaponTemplate>


Code:
<AttributeModifier id="Modifier_CrateArmour" Category="NONE" StackingLimit="4">
    <Modifier Type="ARMOR" Value="50%" />
  </AttributeModifier>


Can you see were I went wrong? Confused

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
purplescrin
Light Infantry


Joined: 21 May 2008

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 5:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Subterranean travel, crates, skirmish music & player power Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

For question 1, ask Carnius via PM in Moddb. He has done a subterranean vehicle in the Tiberium Essence mod. No one else has known how to use that unit ability.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Golan
Flamethrower


Joined: 21 Nov 2007

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Carnius uses Firehawk-teleporting, TSR uses Shadow locomotor switches with negative height aircraft locomotors, God uses Bibber, the possibiliies really are limitless here.

_________________
Off Duty.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stygs
Cyborg Cannon


Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

@ Madin

Your problem may be the filter:

Rule="NONE"
Include="VEHICLE HUGE_VEHICLE"

That means that only units with both KindOf are affected, you might want to try ANY instead of NONE.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Alex06
Commander


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 3:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

So it works like in TS?
Mind putting up the full code and posting a video demonstration on youtube?
This could come in handy for many mods!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
purplescrin
Light Infantry


Joined: 21 May 2008

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Golan wrote:
God uses Bibber, the possibilities really are limitless here.


Bibber is not God yet. Razz

Stygs, please remove your signature referring to my quote. Bibber can do it, if only he's got something rare with him.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Madin
Plasma Trooper


Joined: 05 Apr 2009

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Stygs wrote:
@ Madin

Your problem may be the filter:

Rule="NONE"
Include="VEHICLE HUGE_VEHICLE"

That means that only units with both KindOf are affected, you might want to try ANY instead of NONE.

Right I'll give that a try.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Madin
Plasma Trooper


Joined: 05 Apr 2009

PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Golan wrote:
Carnius uses Firehawk-teleporting, TSR uses Shadow locomotor switches with negative height aircraft locomotors, God uses Bibber, the possibilities really are limitless here.

When using Shadow style locomotor switches, is there anyway around the tendency, when you have multiple selections of the same unit, for all the selected units to attempt to 'surface' (land, dig-in etc) in the exact same location?

This one has me puzzled! Confused

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ju-Jin
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 23 Mar 2009
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Just use a special power instead of a targeted special power, they use the position they are currently in then.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Madin
Plasma Trooper


Joined: 05 Apr 2009

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks!, still I'd still have to come up with a pleasing way to let players know that their Devil's Tongue is 'under' the map terrain, even when the Devil's Tongue is not selected.
No doubt the TSR crew have found some nice way to implement this.

Also it'd have to be coded to be detectable, but not attackable, etc.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
huhnu
Cyborg Engineer


Joined: 16 May 2009

PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You could give it a second scriptedmodeldraw with no parse_default, but have a parse_normal with the conditionyes="SELECTED", then still no model but put a decal into it. That should be convincing enough.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ju-Jin
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 23 Mar 2009
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

There is a decal already if you select it. But for the other cases it is a valid solution.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
 
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
Quick Reply
Username:


If you are visually impaired or cannot otherwise answer the challenges below please contact the Administrator for help.


Write only two of the following words separated by a sharp: Brotherhood, unity, peace! 

 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1851s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0076s) ][ Debug on ]