Now I need to find out what that 9,0,0,8 stands for... >_< not so much the 8 but the 9,0,0,... humm... _________________ MadHQ's Graveyard - Click here!
(Permissions) - (F.A.Q.) QUICK_EDIT
At least, I can say I got the data for a tree... Am eventually gonna have to figure out the other shp compression format thing.... _________________ MadHQ's Graveyard - Click here!
(Permissions) - (F.A.Q.) QUICK_EDIT
Any one know why I had to multiply isotemp.pal's RGB values by 2.45 (random guess, just changed it to 3.00... So I do not know...) to get them to a color they should be? is that some kind of ambient light level? If that is true any one know what its really meant to be?
colors are only 6 bit, not 8 for c&c palettes.
so actually you have to multiply each R G and B value with 4 to get the real color.
This is some excellent research and coding you've done there.
Will you offer this to PPM as well. Would be an awesome feature if the site can show VXL, SHP and TMP directly.
MadHQ wrote:
Note* this is a rendering in 3d... (left click-hold = rotate, right click pan, middle wheel zoom )
i don't see anything when i click on one and then Submit.
Tested in Opera USB 12.17 and an old Internet Explorer. _________________ SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection: Nod buildings
Any one know why I had to multiply isotemp.pal's RGB values by 2.45 (random guess, just changed it to 3.00... So I do not know...) to get them to a color they should be? is that some kind of ambient light level? If that is true any one know what its really meant to be?
colors are only 6 bit, not 8 for c&c palettes.
so actually you have to multiply each R G and B value with 4 to get the real color.
This is some excellent research and coding you've done there.
Will you offer this to PPM as well. Would be an awesome feature if the site can show VXL, SHP and TMP directly.
I will have to look into what you are saying about the * 4 RGB values... I coded some weird hex-2-RBG thing, as that is what I thought Ra2/YR used but the look of the data... It works but is a little odd...
Ya, like if I told MigEater a wail ago, it would be awesome if other people can find a way to use anything I do. Its just, I am still developing it slowly or when I have free time.
But, If any one wants to use a current version of anything let me know, I try to come up with some thing... I just did not think any one would care...
And, if any one want to see code, let me know and I can try to do some thing about that too, my concern is I am a pretty novice programmer and my code isn't too hot... it works and I am proud that I can do this but I sure there is a better code/way...
Lin Kuei Ominae wrote:
MadHQ wrote:
Note* this is a rendering in 3d... (left click-hold = rotate, right click pan, middle wheel zoom )
I have added a few trees. Now I have to figure out what to do about shadows and proper tile location for objects...
and!
I re-coded tile creation on the canvas, original was to sloppy and expensive... _________________ MadHQ's Graveyard - Click here!
(Permissions) - (F.A.Q.) QUICK_EDIT
this one i can see though. So this must be different than the VXL viewer.
MadHQ wrote:
I have added a few trees. Now I have to figure out what to do about shadows and proper tile location for objects...
TerrainTypes should be centered when you subtract Tile.Height/2 (12 for TS, 15 for RA2, the value stands in the header of the TMP) from their position. _________________ SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection: Nod buildings
Joined: 22 Nov 2010 Location: Iszkaszentgyorgy, Hungary
Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 3:49 pm Post subject:
MadHQ wrote:
People should really just use chrome...
To hell with Chrome. My workplace is strictly Firefox anyway. Opera is afaik a reskinned Chrome nowadays as well. _________________ "If you didn't get angry and mad and frustrated, that means you don't care about the end result, and are doing something wrong." - Greg Kroah-Hartman
=======================
Past C&C projects: Attacque Supérior (2010-2019); Valiant Shades (2019-2021)
=======================
WeiDU mods: Random Graion Tweaks | Graion's Soundsets
Maintainance: Extra Expanded Enhanced Encounters! | BGEESpawn
Contributions: EE Fixpack | Enhanced Edition Trilogy | DSotSC (Trilogy) | UB_IWD | SotSC & a lot more... QUICK_EDIT
From what I read here, it says that if the compression is used, you will need a specific frame drawn first to continue...
This seems fine... But what I need to find out is how long each rows "span data" is. Also what frame is needed... and does the needed frame define the offsets/sizes...
If any one knows please help... In the meantime I will keep pondering and testing...
THeader_Image = record
x,y,cx,cy : word; {cx and cy are width n height of stored image}
compression,unknown,zero,offset : longint; {Unknown}
end;
this says compression,unknown,zero,offset are longint (4 bytes) each...
But I was looking at "unknown" as two words (2 bytes) each, and I found that the second word comes close to a number that is the "Y" size of the sprite... So I wonder if this is the "rows" of pixels for that frame...
This shows only frame 2's header and data...
Whats interesting is that unknown is close to what I am guessing the number or rows should be... as "frame 2: Number Rows = 29" seems like its one row to many... However the formatting I have is totally made up... So its probably not right... >_<
Code:
THeader_Image = Frame Number = 2{
X = 59
Y = 32
CX = 9
CY = 29
compression = 1
//-------Skip 2 bytes
unknown = 28 //----- read this as word not longint
zero = 0
offset = 30536
}
Look! you can even see her... (that is Tanya frame 3)...
Have I figured out the compression already with out knowing... Like below how I had to get the length of each row of data... and the number of transparent pixels...
The Format20 images use the same format as the Format40, the difference is
that they are xor-ed with the image that precedes them in the file. That can
be either in Format20 or in Format40.
The offset part of the RefOffs field contains the number of the first
Format40 image in the chain, and the format field is always 48h.
Also Known As: banshee_revora (Steam) Joined: 15 Aug 2002 Location: Brazil
Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 11:49 pm Post subject:
Sorry for not responding your PM, buddy.
I have little to none comprehension of the TD/RA1 SHP encoding formats. In OS SHP Builder, I've pratically adapted XCC Mixer code into it. The encoding used in TS/RA2 SHPs are a way easier. QUICK_EDIT
This stuff from openRa says there only two formats 1 & 3. (others just look like the same.)
Code modified/removed to not pass code that isn't mine around. Left comments in
Code:
if (Format == 3){
// Format 3 provides RLE-zero compressed scanlines
}else{
// Format 2 provides uncompressed length-prefixed scanlines
// Formats 1 and 0 provide an uncompressed full-width row
}
Then what was that other stuff from XCC's doc? Was it TD/RA1 SHP encoding formats? I did not want to read those files... Olaf van der Spek should note that more clearly...
Other then that, I guess I have all the info I need for shp's... I think... I hope... Now time for the next step.
I've posted an updated format description for the C&C SHP files to that thread. There is another SHP format which the C&C and RA mouse cursor files are in that dates back to Dune2 at least as well. QUICK_EDIT
Also Known As: banshee_revora (Steam) Joined: 15 Aug 2002 Location: Brazil
Posted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 1:34 pm Post subject:
MadHQ wrote:
This stuff from openRa says there only two formats 1 & 3. (others just look like the same.)
Code modified/removed to not pass code that isn't mine around. Left comments in
Code:
if (Format == 3){
// Format 3 provides RLE-zero compressed scanlines
}else{
// Format 2 provides uncompressed length-prefixed scanlines
// Formats 1 and 0 provide an uncompressed full-width row
}
Then what was that other stuff from XCC's doc? Was it TD/RA1 SHP encoding formats? I did not want to read those files... Olaf van der Spek should note that more clearly...
Other then that, I guess I have all the info I need for shp's... I think... I hope... Now time for the next step.
Anyway I think I am going to try and make some kind of twin-stick-shooter game, A Tanya commando mission I guess...
Still much to do...
Better controls
Work in more frames
Bigger map
Layer sorting for objects
... you should get the idea. _________________ MadHQ's Graveyard - Click here!
(Permissions) - (F.A.Q.) QUICK_EDIT
Do you plan to create some kind of map renderer for the browser, which shows SHPs, VXL and TMP together?
Otherwise i'm a bit confused in which case you wanna use this, as there is usually only one asset type at a time offered/uploaded.
None the less an impressive work.
You could create some kind of browser game using c&c assets. _________________ SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection: Nod buildings
This is very nice! Local emergency fighting with Rebels and Terrorists. In this case, they surrounded bad guys in ruined city. Awesome scene!Do you have those police voxels for download? _________________
You could try giving the long trains an invisible "connector wagon" between 2 real wagons, so the distance works.
Graphic wise they look nice. A few of the finer 1 voxel big lines should be better anti-aliased as they look quite pixelated. _________________ SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection: Nod buildings
Yeah, I need this! tech Police station could provide some firepower into urban areas. I am definitively going to use.
Regarding trains. I am not using them, and never used or got interested in them, but they can prove nice eye candy for maps, especially yours. Very professional work. _________________
After a few changes
-color fix
-normal fix
-size/location fix
-some de-pixeling fixs as Lin Kuei Ominae suggested
And after placing them in a "scene", I do not hate them. I have been sitting on those for a wail... just couldn't get motivation to try and finish them tell today...
Would have to be used as decoration though... but that is fine.
I could make some tracks at some point... But isn't there tracks around that can be use?
Come on down to MadHQ's used car lot! All hummers 20% off!
sixhummers.png
Description:
Six Personal Humvee's voxels in screenshot.
Filesize:
1016.14 KB
Viewed:
15774 Time(s)
_________________ MadHQ's Graveyard - Click here!
(Permissions) - (F.A.Q.) Last edited by MadHQ on Fri Jan 08, 2016 11:37 pm; edited 1 time in total QUICK_EDIT
Joined: 22 Nov 2010 Location: Iszkaszentgyorgy, Hungary
Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 11:34 pm Post subject:
Terrain Expansion had train tracks as far as I can remember. _________________ "If you didn't get angry and mad and frustrated, that means you don't care about the end result, and are doing something wrong." - Greg Kroah-Hartman
=======================
Past C&C projects: Attacque Supérior (2010-2019); Valiant Shades (2019-2021)
=======================
WeiDU mods: Random Graion Tweaks | Graion's Soundsets
Maintainance: Extra Expanded Enhanced Encounters! | BGEESpawn
Contributions: EE Fixpack | Enhanced Edition Trilogy | DSotSC (Trilogy) | UB_IWD | SotSC & a lot more... QUICK_EDIT
Why are the yellow lines not straight? They are diagonal very slightly. The lines on the other trains are better examples of what I'm talking about. QUICK_EDIT
It almost looks like the hva tilts the entire voxel for just a few degrees, thus making the lines not perfect horizontal.
Some wagon details are also 1 voxel higher on one side than the other.
Though it might be even a nice idea to make the hva animated and have the vxl tilt for +1° and -1°, so it looks like it moves over uneven terrain. _________________ SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection: Nod buildings
@G-E - I will have to try some "irregular colour patterns" some time to see if it does.
@ViPr & Lin Kuei Ominae - HOLY CRAP! I see what you mean now. >_< And I have no idea... I have not changed the rotation at all, I have only changed position. I guess I will have to look at that, as ya it is slightly tilted. does not show in vxl edit, only in-game... and I do not notice in HVA builder (visually)... weird...
And I guess maybe I will have to make some train tracks some time... _________________ MadHQ's Graveyard - Click here!
(Permissions) - (F.A.Q.) QUICK_EDIT
Well I am giving up on a modded mission pack project I was working on. Ended up being too much work.
So I am just going to release things as they are. Not everything is complete, what you see is pretty much it.
I am doing this because I want to spend more time playing with html5 stuff.
Are the matrixes in the HVA files, for the trains, not just simply zeros and ones? Are there matrixes elsewhere in the voxel data files? I don't remember.
By the way, I think your pre-rendered sprites need some simulation of reflection effects such as specular. I noticed I've said this so many times now on this forum to various people. QUICK_EDIT
The SHPs need proper lighting. SW facing walls need to be brighter than the shadowed SE facing walls (which currently have no shadow at all).
Detail is nice though, but the missing/bad lighting ruins them.
How did he get the shadows to go in the correct direction with the light in the wrong location?
Using different light sources, usually strong one for shadow and a weak one for ambient, though he might have even used a 3rd or more light sources.
Since shadow frames need a different model anyway, with the object itself having the background color so it gets invisible,
it's no problem to set there a different lighting.
For some of my TI buildings i also lowered the light source for the shadow frames, to give them a tad longer shadows, which would have otherwise cast no or only very small shadows due to for example slanted walls on the building, which would have taken most of the shadow.
\Edit
looking at the church he might have set only the strength of the light sources wrong, since the tower casts correct a shadow on the roof. Even though a rather weak shadow.
e.g.
he is using a
directional light with 0.01 intensity but 100 for the shadow intensity (so he gets a shadow even for this super weak light)
and an omni light with 1.0 intensity and Ambient only checked.
Thus even the shadowed areas are that bright due to the way too strong ambient omni light and weak shadow light.
Usually i use a 0.75 directional light for the main lighting and shadow casting
and an Ambient only 0.25 omni light, so the shadowed areas aren't pitch black. _________________ SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection: Nod buildings
AH! I almost forgot... The rotations for voxels should only be in the HVA files... As there is only voxel size/bounds in the voxel files them self.
... I think...
But vxl edit can show hva transformation data. 2nd attach image shows one of the trains data... As seen there is no rotation, just diagonal 1's for scale and the I guess I will call it "z" location.
Now the 1st image is a "from scratch" voxel... from vxl edit, size 250x10x50.
Now I did not nor have I edited the HVA file. All data shows no rotation...
Joined: 22 Nov 2010 Location: Iszkaszentgyorgy, Hungary
Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:49 am Post subject:
The 140.5 is in the HVA header. This view is a bit tricky, because the matrix is part of the HVA and isn't part of the VXL header _________________ "If you didn't get angry and mad and frustrated, that means you don't care about the end result, and are doing something wrong." - Greg Kroah-Hartman
=======================
Past C&C projects: Attacque Supérior (2010-2019); Valiant Shades (2019-2021)
=======================
WeiDU mods: Random Graion Tweaks | Graion's Soundsets
Maintainance: Extra Expanded Enhanced Encounters! | BGEESpawn
Contributions: EE Fixpack | Enhanced Edition Trilogy | DSotSC (Trilogy) | UB_IWD | SotSC & a lot more... QUICK_EDIT
But vxl edit can show hva transformation data. 2nd attach image shows one of the trains data
vxl edit seems to show the hva matrix transformations, it must be some thing they have added in. And as seen there is no rotation.
Also the 140.5 is not in the header of a HVA file, its in one of the frames matrix... the link below shows the HVA data for the same train VXL's HVA file...
What if you made the voxel face to the left instead of the right? Will it still be tilted the same way relative to the screen or to the vehicle itself? QUICK_EDIT
Actually, I just checked. The VXL file itself (not just the HVA file) contains space for what could be matrix data, although I do not know why, and I do not know whether the game engine ignores it. My voxelizer software fills it with identity matrix data (ones and zeros in the backslash pattern). QUICK_EDIT
It appears that it is slightly tilted counter-clockwise relative to the camera, as if the camera itself was tilted clockwise. Tilting the voxel will be useless then. Anyway, all I really care about is determining which program is causing this error. It seems it might be the game itself.
This seems like a really bizarre bug for the game to have. I can't imagine how someone would manage to make an error like this. QUICK_EDIT
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You can download files in this forum