:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Wed Oct 21, 2020 9:36 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum
Tiberian Sun Client
Moderators: Global Moderators, Tiberian Sun Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 9 of 9 [421 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9
Author Message
Kerbiter
GDI Hacker


Joined: 05 Jun 2018

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2020 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

E1 Elite wrote:

Edit: Github link for changes /tag/2.6.0.4 doesn't exist anymore.

Should be updated to 2.6.0.5.
_________________

:: PPM + Discord = C&C Mod Haven :: Using MagicaVoxel to create voxel models

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2020 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, the link in Rampastein's previous post is already updated to 2.6.0.5, but the changelog.txt in TSClient still remains to be changed.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reallyjustoneq
Civilian


Joined: 20 Mar 2020

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2020 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey I have an issue with the client - none of the hosted CnCnet games will show up! Somehow the chat works, however. I can also see and join games using CnCnet client but I would rather use this one if possible

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2020 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

answered on the main post:
^Rampastein wrote:

*Note: This is not the only TS MP client. Most games are (currently) hosted with FunkyFr3sh's client, which is incompatible with this client. Games hosted with FunkyFr3sh's client cannot be joined with this client, and vice-versa.

_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Archerknight
Civilian


Joined: 16 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all,

I have a problem with my client 5.43.

I play with my on mod - on the same hdd, same path etc. which I used with win 7. Now since i have to use win 10 - I wanted to start this client and I only got error w/o any clue ...

I tryed a new clean client of TS 5.30, 5.43 & 5.46 - without any mods and its still works. When I just replace the theme.ini in the new clean client, the game give me the same error what I said before... So can anybody help me out?

thanks


EXCEPT_26_3_2020_20_18.TXT
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  EXCEPT_26_3_2020_20_18.TXT
 Filesize:  20.6 KB
 Downloaded:  3 Time(s)


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

since you already narrowed it down to your new theme.ini, why not narrow it further down by reverting your changes one by one?

Or upload your theme.ini so we could check it.
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Archerknight
Civilian


Joined: 16 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2020 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've uploaded my files on my google cloud

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1jDAfmgjeisiaRmksBdbSqJZIcSH8LMn-

because the theme.ini was only an example.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2020 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

a) you can attach files to a post in this forum
b) Do you put your complete TS folder in the rar? I'm not downloading 144 MB just for a single 1kb ini textfile
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Archerknight
Civilian


Joined: 16 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2020 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I said in my post before - the theme.ini was only an example.

The Error log shows me only ???? so I cant figure out, which data isnt correct or maybe my system dont work correct. Thats why I uploaded my moded files for someone who wanna try out the files with his own clean client and can maybe tell me then - if the person got the same problem which I had before.

*EDIT*

I found the problem - one of my mix files was encrypted. That was the problem. But thank for the help anyway

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
A.Productions
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 17 Aug 2019

PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2020 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you thinking about making something akin to a replay saver? Making a directory that stores generated files of skirmish and
online games?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
^Rampastein
Rampastring


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Location: Gensokyo

PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2020 8:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If proper replay support for Tiberian Sun is made one day, then probably.
_________________
CnCNet Client | CnCNet TS patches | More Quality-of-Life Improvements for RA Remastered


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL
2mg
Civilian


Joined: 27 Jul 2020

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2020 12:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a heads-up: you can't make SUN.ini read-only if you want a custom resolution or more importantly, DragDistance IF you want to start a new campaign (crashes because file isn't accessible).

You can however start a campaign, save the game, then edit and lock your SUN.ini file.

As a newbie to these TS clients, and seeing how TSClient doesn't have the option for DragDistance or custom rez, I had to go the long way to figure out why game was crashing.

Would be nice if these 2 were supported in the future without needing to go into SUN.ini.

But excellent "mod" if I may say so, thanks for making TS playable in this era.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2020 2:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You shouldn't make sun.ini as readonly. For custom resolutions, you could edit ddraw.ini file in the game folder when using cnc-ddraw or ts-ddraw renderers available through options. Respective INI files in Resources folder has the comments/meaning for the options used in ddraw.ini file. There is limitation of the game when it comes to in-game menu size and position, otherwise custom resolutions works well in-game.

Instead of hardcoding a fixed value in game.exe, DragDistance variable is used for scaling it depending on the width of current resolution. Other options are also fetched and written back to sun.ini, so try avoiding to make it readonly.

Different renderers (ddraw.dll) takes different inputs for custom resolution and some may not support it. Any implementation for it would need to be specific to the renderers, so that should make it difficult, some of those are still being developed.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
2mg
Civilian


Joined: 27 Jul 2020

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

E1 Elite wrote:
You shouldn't make sun.ini as readonly. For custom resolutions, you could edit ddraw.ini file in the game folder when using cnc-ddraw or ts-ddraw renderers available through options. Respective INI files in Resources folder has the comments/meaning for the options used in ddraw.ini file. There is limitation of the game when it comes to in-game menu size and position, otherwise custom resolutions works well in-game.

Instead of hardcoding a fixed value in game.exe, DragDistance variable is used for scaling it depending on the width of current resolution. Other options are also fetched and written back to sun.ini, so try avoiding to make it readonly.

Different renderers (ddraw.dll) takes different inputs for custom resolution and some may not support it. Any implementation for it would need to be specific to the renderers, so that should make it difficult, some of those are still being developed.


I want qHD aka 960x540.

Why? Because units/buildings/map remain the similar size like it is in 800x600/640x480, but you get that 16:9 viewport.
Similar to CnC Remaster - looks old but works like new.
Yes, I've tried the game's own 720p, stuff is too tiny for me.

For that qHD rez, in both cncnet and DTA/TSclient you need to edit SUN.ini, you can NOT input a custom rez from GUI.

However, cncnet doesn't overwrite SUN.ini, TSClient does. Also, TSClient doesn't have a GUI setting for DragDistance like cncnet does.

Regarding changing resolutions in ddraw.ini - that is for scaling the GAME's resolution into a ddraw FRAME.
ts-ddraw doesn't do scaling (yet) - it just makes your display switch to game's resolution if possible.
cnc-ddraw CAN scale to full screen frame, but either without aspect ratio, then everything is squashed, or with aspect ratio, but you have 4:3 cramped viewport (if you're playing in those 4:3 rez that is). It also has issues that I raised on GitHub if you want correct aspect ratio.

qHD fixes that by giving you 4:3-into-16:9 because cnc-ddraw automatically stretches that small 16:9 resolution into a full 1080p frame. And that needs SUN.ini.

I'm using cncnet for comparison, not to bash TSClient - I just finished GDI campaign in TSClient because it offers double tap, hover health and few more QoL stuff that cncnet doesn't for SP  Wink

PS: qHD is actually a very specific resolution anyway because cnc-ddraw has a code for certain resolutions to automatically try to scale them, and in case of quarterHD, it just stretches it to 1080p VERY NICELY. I mean, it would scale ANY rez you give it, but if you feed it a 16:9 from the start, all it has to do is fill 16:9 1080p with it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Agreed. Original game allows custom resolution in sun.ini but TSClient resets it if there is a non-standard resolution. TSClient could be made to allow custom resolutions.

And the cnc-ddraw, ddraw.ini value of fullscreen if set to true should override game resolution (as per the comments), but it doesn't. Probably that should also be looked into.

DragDistance shouldn't be difficult, but can't see much value for it to be on the UI.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
2mg
Civilian


Joined: 27 Jul 2020

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

E1 Elite wrote:
Agreed. Original game allows custom resolution in sun.ini but TSClient resets it if there is a non-standard resolution. TSClient could be made to allow custom resolutions.


It actually resets a a few options, not just resolution and DragDistance. In fact, it does change DragDistance, but not ScrollDelay for some reason?

E1 Elite wrote:

And the cnc-ddraw, ddraw.ini value of fullscreen if set to true should override game resolution (as per the comments), but it doesn't. Probably that should also be looked into.


I think people thought ddraw.ini's rez setting means "render the game at that rez", but it isn't.

Custom width/height or fullscreen setting in ddraw.ini means that it will take the game's rez, then fill it into one of those two settings you put into ddraw.ini.

Eg 800x600 game > 1280x720 custom ddraw rez - it will then report to your display "I'm running an exe in 720p (which is actually stretched 800x600), switch to that 720p". Which is kinda pointless. Maybe it's legacy, or when fullscreen parameter doesn't work properly for some, I'm not fully sure about this. Or for windowed options, prolly.

Unless I'm wrong, but I just tested that scenario, rendered 800x600 into 720p, my display switched to it. But it's STILL 800x600, just badly stretched since aspect ratio is kinda broken in cnc-draw (see "handlemouse" issue on GitHub).
And 720p while supported on my display, isn't even it's native rez, so again, pointless unless for windowed gameplay?

E1 Elite wrote:

DragDistance shouldn't be difficult, but can't see much value for it to be on the UI.


Dunno, I hate scrolling the screen with right click and my units deselect mid scrolling. I also like to fine tune the scrolling/panning with ScrollDelay, seems to be some kind of fine multiplier to ScrollRate. Weird how TSClient doesn't overwrite that value. And cncnet has that option in it's config.exe.

Cheers.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
2mg
Civilian


Joined: 27 Jul 2020

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, while qHD resolution is a nice compromise, there is also the alternative:

4:3's height * 16:9's aspect ratio (1.7777) = 854x480, 1066x600, and 1366x768 (wasn't in TibSun though).

None of these are technically true 16:9, but they are 16:9 for the purpose of having 4:3's height and 16:9's width (field of view).

So, another reason why having non-read-only SUN.ini.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Both xna-cncnet-client used in TSClient and ts-patches used for game.exe are open source and available. So, anyone can change those features and use it as they want their modded TS to be.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
2mg
Civilian


Joined: 27 Jul 2020

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

E1 Elite wrote:
Both xna-cncnet-client used in TSClient and ts-patches used for game.exe are open source and available. So, anyone can change those features and use it as they want their modded TS to be.


Well I know how to edit an INI file, changing source code is a bit outside of my skillset  Mad
I mean none of this is a huge issue, but more of a nuisance, I finished TS and FS and had to unlock sun.ini only 4 times, once for starting each campaign.


I do have another question - where are QoL stuff like show health on hover, or jump to team double tap stored? I don't see hover show health in SUN.ini?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hacks are applied to the game.exe, check:
- https://github.com/CnCNet/ts-patches/blob/master/src/center_team.asm
- https://github.com/CnCNet/ts-patches/blob/master/src/hover_show_health.asm
- https://github.com/CnCNet/ts-patches/blob/master/src/sun.ini.c

Hover show health is enabled by default, can be disabled through sun.ini. Sun.ini.c fetches the additional setting variables.

Client fetches those for its own purpose like for options window or for default sun.ini values etc.:
- https://github.com/CnCNet/xna-cncnet-client/blob/master/ClientCore/Settings/UserINISettings.cs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
2mg
Civilian


Joined: 27 Jul 2020

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

E1 Elite wrote:
Hacks are applied to the game.exe, check:
- https://github.com/CnCNet/ts-patches/blob/master/src/center_team.asm
- https://github.com/CnCNet/ts-patches/blob/master/src/hover_show_health.asm
- https://github.com/CnCNet/ts-patches/blob/master/src/sun.ini.c

Hover show health is enabled by default, can be disabled through sun.ini. Sun.ini.c fetches the additional setting variables.

Client fetches those for its own purpose like for options window or for default sun.ini values etc.:
- https://github.com/CnCNet/xna-cncnet-client/blob/master/ClientCore/Settings/UserINISettings.cs


Oof, I just wanted to copy paste stuff into cncnet's to see if it will stick in Singleplayer, they've limited these to MP only. Their loss I guess, TSclient is awesome for SP.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 9 of 9 [421 Posts] Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9
View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.5064s ][ Queries: 12 (0.1417s) ][ Debug on ]