Project Perfect Mod Forums
:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::


The time now is Fri Apr 19, 2024 1:07 pm
All times are UTC + 0
A Jumpjet Miner, one that-won't land
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [30 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
DerxwnaKapsyla
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 26 Dec 2013
Location: Wherever you want

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 1:00 am    Post subject:  A Jumpjet Miner, one that-won't land Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

So, I was trying to set up a new type of miner - basically it's a helicopter that mines ore, but it functions like a jumpjet (ie: it doesn't land). What I have so far shows the targeting reticle over the Ore, but when it reaches it it doesn't mine it, and it doesn't show the docking icon when I hover over a refinery. Here's my code.
Code:
; Heli-Miner 2.0
[JHARV]
UIName=NOSTR:Anti-Grav Miner
Name=Anti-Grav Miner
Image=SCHP
Prerequisite=PROC,TECH
Primary=BlackHawkCannon
Secondary=160mm
Category=Support
JumpJet=yes
Strength=700
Armor=medium
TechLevel=7
Sight=7
Speed=12
PitchSpeed=1.1
JumpjetSpeed=30 ;params not defined use defaults (old globals way up top)
JumpjetClimb=10
JumpjetCrash=40 ; Climb, but down
JumpJetAccel=12
JumpJetTurnRate=6
JumpjetHeight=500
JumpjetWobbles=.01
JumpjetDeviation=1
Owner=Russians,Confederation,Africans,Arabs
Cost=1400
Soylent=1400
Points=15
ROT=5
Crewed=no
ConsideredAircraft=yes
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUMU60
MaxDebris=3
VoiceSelect=SeigeChopperSelect
VoiceMove=SeigeChopperMove
VoiceAttack=SeigeChopperAttackAir
VoiceCrashing=SeigeChopperVoiceDie
CrashingSound=SeigeChopperDie
DieSound=
ImpactLandSound=GenAircraftCrash
;Locomotor={4A582746-9839-11d1-B709-00A024DDAFD1} ;flying
Locomotor={92612C46-F71F-11d1-AC9F-006008055BB5} ;jumpjet
MovementZone=Fly
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys
;AuxSound1=BlackOpsTakeOff   ;Taking off
;AuxSound2=BlackOpsLanding   ;Landing
ThreatPosed=0
SpecialThreatValue=1
VeteranAbilities=STRONGER,FIREPOWER,SIGHT,FASTER
EliteAbilities=SELF_HEAL,STRONGER,FIREPOWER,ROF
Size=15
SizeLimit=2
HoverAttack=yes
AllowedToStartInMultiplayer=no
Crashable=yes
;CanPassiveAquire=no ; Won't try to pick up own targets
SpeedType=Hover
MoveSound=SeigeChopperMoveLoop
EnterTransportSound=EnterTransport
LeaveTransportSound=ExitTransport
ElitePrimary=BlackHawkCannonE
EliteSecondary=160mmE
PreventAttackMove=yes
TooBigToFitUnderBridge=true
Trainable=yes
Bunkerable=no; Units default to yes, others default to no
Turret=yes
IsSelectableCombatant=yes ; TR
BalloonHover=yes
Dock=NAREFN,GAREFN
ToProtect=yes
Harvester=yes
PipScale=Tiberium
Cost=1400
Soylent=1400
SelfHealing=yes
ResourceGatherer=yes;gs for the AI to handle the slave miner, it has to understand what makes money

Right now it's mostly just cut and paste stuff to test it out, but I suppose I should ask - is something like this actually feasible within the engine? By that I mean, can I actually create it, either with or without Ares?

_________________
STAY-AT-HOME BATTLE-ROOM UNCLE
YOU'VE DESTROYED ME

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Atomic_Noodles
Defense Minister


Joined: 05 Oct 2011

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 1:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

it has to land to mine. same with docking...

_________________
~ Excelsior ~

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DerxwnaKapsyla
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 26 Dec 2013
Location: Wherever you want

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 2:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yeah, I shoulda figured. I was trying to make a miner that would work without landing and would instead just like "absorb" the ore and deposit it. It was to be for a map being made with OmegaBolt's LTX as a way to have a miner cross space, but I didn't like the idea of it landing, taking off, moving 1 tile and landing again just to mine ore. If it's impossible then it's impossible I guess!

_________________
STAY-AT-HOME BATTLE-ROOM UNCLE
YOU'VE DESTROYED ME

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
ApolloTD
Commander


Joined: 19 Nov 2003

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

When original game developers never needed such (nor coded such), it's quite likely it won't just magically 'absorb' the ore from long distance (height is long distance even if directly above!) like magnetron despite how you code it.

You'd be better off with a hover miner (amphibious zone, not true hover)
if you want it to cross to islands.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DerxwnaKapsyla
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 26 Dec 2013
Location: Wherever you want

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The problem with it being Amphibious was how I planned to use it. OmegaBolt's Lunar Terrain Expansion makes it kinda impossible for hover units to just cross space, it would need to be a flying unit.
Ultimately I've resigned to just use regular Helicopter logic, since there is no workaround, but I figured I'd ask to see if I was wrong and that maybe it was possible.

_________________
STAY-AT-HOME BATTLE-ROOM UNCLE
YOU'VE DESTROYED ME

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Atomic_Noodles
Defense Minister


Joined: 05 Oct 2011

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

water in the  lunar theater could just be low flying units.

add in a dummy override for the water animations like ripple to empty frames.

jumpjet or flying units are high orbital units or whatevers...

_________________
~ Excelsior ~

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Random thought; what about a flying slave miner with jumpjet infantry?

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Atomic_Noodles
Defense Minister


Joined: 05 Oct 2011

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

hmmm could try that out. if the new ares trick of making flying carriers work for this one as well.

_________________
~ Excelsior ~

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DerxwnaKapsyla
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 26 Dec 2013
Location: Wherever you want

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Atomic_Noodles wrote:
water in the  lunar theater could just be low flying units.

add in a dummy override for the water animations like ripple to empty frames.

jumpjet or flying units are high orbital units or whatevers...

The problem still arises that there's no way to actually cross onto the space/water surface with the pack, not from what I've seen within the tilesets. If there was a way, I could just do a hover unit and be done with it (Though I would also need to figure out how to remove ripple animations, but since I can't do the first part, worrying about this is moot).

Mig Eater wrote:
Random thought; what about a flying slave miner with jumpjet infantry?

That's actually something I was debating trying next, it would probably work feasibly enough too - though it would mean the miner becomes its own ore processing station, which in the long run isn't too bad I guess.

Atomic_Noodles wrote:
hmmm could try that out. if the new ares trick of making flying carriers work for this one as well.

I'm not quite getting how flying carrier logic would relate to this. Could you explain?

_________________
STAY-AT-HOME BATTLE-ROOM UNCLE
YOU'VE DESTROYED ME

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

A crazy idea:
How about using the Yuri-disc drain-weapon? Ares surely offers a way to steal money with the drain-beam from refineries (and disable the power-drain functionality, so money-steal is the only functionality).

So all you have to do is placing immune Neutral house refineries which look like a field of resources.
Then your ships can "collect" the resources while mid-air and even use a cool animation when harvesting.

_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The neutral refineries would need to collect resources in order for you to steal it from them tho.

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

ah, just noticed it doesn't work anyway. At least in TS is Neutral house completely unable to store any resources. If it's the same in RA2, the Neutral refinery would be unable to store anything.

_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DerxwnaKapsyla
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 26 Dec 2013
Location: Wherever you want

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 12:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

So, I tried to do the Slave Miner method, and it kind of works. But there's some complications. The biggest complication is, it doesn't do anything automatically. It'll fly to the ore, but it won't deploy. I should probably record a video to show it in action. It also does the same thing for the AI, preventing them from mining ore. I tested this by modifying the actual Slave Miner entry, as evidenced here.
Code:
; harvester
[SMIN]
UIName=Name:SMIN
Name=Slave Miner
Prerequisite=YAWEAP
Nominal=yes
ToProtect=yes
Category=Support
Strength=2000
Armor=medium
Primary=20mmRapid
ElitePrimary=20mmRapidE
Turret=yes
OpportunityFire=yes
TechLevel=1
Sight=4
Speed=3
Owner=YuriCountry
AllowedToStartInMultiplayer=no
CrateGoodie=yes
Storage=20
Cost=1500
Soylent=1500
Points=55
ROT=5
Crusher=yes
Crewed=no
SelfHealing=yes
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUMU60
VoiceSelect=SlaveMinerSelect
VoiceMove=SlaveMinerMove
VoiceAttack=SlaveMinerAttackCommand
VoiceHarvest=SlaveMinerHarvest
DieSound=GenVehicleDie
MoveSound=SlaveMinerMoveStart
CrushSound=TankCrush
DeploySound=SlaveMinerDeploy
VoiceDeploy=SlaveMinerDeployVoice
MaxDebris=6
DebrisTypes=TIRE
DebrisMaximums=4
;Locomotor={4A582741-9839-11d1-B709-00A024DDAFD1} ;drive locomotor
Weight=3.5
;MovementZone=Crusher
ThreatPosed=0   ; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
ThreatAvoidanceCoefficient=.65
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys
ImmuneToVeins=yes
ImmuneToPsionics=yes
ImmuneToRadiation=yes
ZFudgeColumn=9
ZFudgeTunnel=14
ZFudgeBridge=7
Size=3
StupidHunt=yes ;this guy can't handle a hunt command, so he should just run towards the player
Trainable=yes
DeploysInto=YAREFN
DeployFacing=0;0 = N, 7 = NW
Enslaves=SLAV;gs The Refinery does not get an Enslaves listing because the Slave object will get passed from unit to building upon deploy
SlavesNumber=5
SlaveRegenRate=500 ;225
SlaveReloadRate=25
;moving brain to refinery to start
;Ugh.  Now that placed as building, problem arises from managing to get a SMIN as vehicle (Campaign map, crate).  Both get this listing now, and Brain transplant will check to make sure extra one is not created
ResourceGatherer=yes;gs for the AI to handle the slave miner, it has to understand what makes money
ResourceDestination=yes
DeaccelerationFactor=.2 ; This is TS's mizspelingg knot min
Accelerates=false
Bunkerable=no; Units default to yes, others default to no
OmniCrushResistant=yes; so Crusher can crush Crushable, OmniCrusher trumps Crushable=no, and then OmniCrushResistant trumps OmniCrusher
Parasiteable=no
Unsellable=yes
;-----
JumpJet=yes
PitchSpeed=1.1
JumpjetSpeed=30 ;params not defined use defaults (old globals way up top)
JumpjetClimb=10
JumpjetCrash=40 ; Climb, but down
JumpJetAccel=12
JumpJetTurnRate=6
JumpjetHeight=500
JumpjetWobbles=.01
JumpjetDeviation=1
ConsideredAircraft=yes
MovementZone=Fly
SpeedType=Hover
Locomotor={92612C46-F71F-11d1-AC9F-006008055BB5} ;jumpjet

Perhaps I need to do something else to make it work? I'm not sure.

_________________
STAY-AT-HOME BATTLE-ROOM UNCLE
YOU'VE DESTROYED ME

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

It could be the JumpJet logic, which itself has several special logics applied.
Try an aircraft locomotor and remove all the Jumpjet stuff.

_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DerxwnaKapsyla
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 26 Dec 2013
Location: Wherever you want

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Removing the jumpjet tags (I think I got all of them) and keeping the following tags, while adding the aircraft locomotor works worse - to the point where it doesn't work period. Here's what that bottom section looks like now.
Code:
ConsideredAircraft=yes
MovementZone=Fly
SpeedType=Hover
Locomotor={4A582746-9839-11d1-B709-00A024DDAFD1}

The Slave Miner, when built from the structures tabs, takes to the skies... and it never lands again. It also spazzes out when you try to get it to deploy. When you try to build it from the War Factory it does some interesting things - it builds it from the main gates, not the aerial ones, and never closes, and the Slave Miner itself just kinda gets stuck at the war factory.

_________________
STAY-AT-HOME BATTLE-ROOM UNCLE
YOU'VE DESTROYED ME

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
4StarGeneral
General


Joined: 14 Sep 2006
Location: Limbo

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Mig Eater wrote:
The neutral refineries would need to collect resources in order for you to steal it from them tho.


ProduceCashAmount=15000
ProduceCashDelay=65535

Effectively starting with 15000 and generating 15000 every 38 mins wouldn't correct it?

DerxwnaKapsyla wrote:
Removing the jumpjet tags (I think I got all of them) and keeping the following tags, while adding the aircraft locomotor works worse - to the point where it doesn't work period. Here's what that bottom section looks like now.
Code:
ConsideredAircraft=yes
MovementZone=Fly
SpeedType=Hover
Locomotor={4A582746-9839-11d1-B709-00A024DDAFD1}

The Slave Miner, when built from the structures tabs, takes to the skies... and it never lands again. It also spazzes out when you try to get it to deploy. When you try to build it from the War Factory it does some interesting things - it builds it from the main gates, not the aerial ones, and never closes, and the Slave Miner itself just kinda gets stuck at the war factory.


Flying units can't spawn units at all so it'll get stuck in an infinite loop when created and grounded. I'm assuming a Slave Miner has slaves here.

_________________
"Don't beg for things; Do it yourself or you'll never get anything."

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail YouTube User URL
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

@DK: Sounds like the flying vehicletypes bug in tiberian sun.
Well, i guess then it's not possible to have a flying/jumpjetting miner. At least not one which the AI can use automatically as well.

btw, do you tried a subterranean miner? You could call it an "alternate dimension" traveling miner. Smile
4StarGeneral wrote:
Flying units can't spawn units at all

Slave Miner deploy before releasing slaves Wink

_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DerxwnaKapsyla
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 26 Dec 2013
Location: Wherever you want

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

4StarGeneral wrote:

ProduceCashAmount=15000
ProduceCashDelay=65535

Effectively starting with 15000 and generating 15000 every 38 mins wouldn't correct it?

Would it even be possible to make a Neutral refinery that a Disc could absorb from without destroying it, let alone actually make it generate funds? I suppose it's worth trying.

Edit: So I actually tried to do it on an oil derrick, which shoudln't make a difference? I made it drainable and removed the Disc's primary weapon (and replaced the primary with the drain weapon), but when it drained over it, it didn't absorb any cash. I can't really imagine it being possible unless there's a way to give the neutral house a large sum of cash to start with.

_________________
STAY-AT-HOME BATTLE-ROOM UNCLE
YOU'VE DESTROYED ME

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
4StarGeneral
General


Joined: 14 Sep 2006
Location: Limbo

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

It would have to be on a refinery to drain money, it only drains power from everything else.

_________________
"Don't beg for things; Do it yourself or you'll never get anything."

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail YouTube User URL
DerxwnaKapsyla
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 26 Dec 2013
Location: Wherever you want

PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2015 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

So I put the tags on a refinery, made the refinery be part of the neutral house, and tried to suck cash from it, but it still didn't do anything. I'm just guessing at this point that it's kinda not gonna work.

_________________
STAY-AT-HOME BATTLE-ROOM UNCLE
YOU'VE DESTROYED ME

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Millennium
Commander


Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Location: Osaka (JP)/Hong Kong/Germany

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2015 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Slave Miners need to deploy to spawn Slaves. This is not a SimpleDeploy, it's an actual unit-to-building transition. You cannot do that while in the air, so your aircraft would have to land to be used that way. At that point, you may as well just use a miner that flies, but lands to harvest (which is perfectly possible).

The "flying vehicle" idea is most promising I think - I cannot tell you what will actually happen when a vehicle with that locomotor attempts to harvest ore, and whether the result will be to your liking.

But the general issues about flying vehicles are relatively easy to overcome if you are willing to make your factories look a little different from how they usually look in C&C (or if you are using Ares).

_________________
Mao Zedong wrote:

Our mission, unfinished, may take a thousand years.  

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DerxwnaKapsyla
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 26 Dec 2013
Location: Wherever you want

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2015 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I am curious what you mean by that, making the factories look different from how they usually do. Can you elaborate on it?

_________________
STAY-AT-HOME BATTLE-ROOM UNCLE
YOU'VE DESTROYED ME

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Atomic_Noodles
Defense Minister


Joined: 05 Oct 2011

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2015 6:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Make the Factory Building a "fake" Air Unit where its spawn point for unit production is the center. Add the tag that makes structures passable to make it more believable that its flying.

The only bug I can see happening is weapons will still target the ground area of the cells.

_________________
~ Excelsior ~

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Millennium
Commander


Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Location: Osaka (JP)/Hong Kong/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2015 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

DerxwnaKapsyla wrote:
I am curious what you mean by that, making the factories look different from how they usually do. Can you elaborate on it?


Try using a simple 1x1, 2x2 or similar structure that has NO Factory-relevant tags set except Factory=UnitType. I'm not sure what causes flying vehicles to get stuck inside "conventional" factories, but I know that omitting the usual factory features (ExitCoord, a gate anim, a roof anim, ImpassableRows, etc) prevents it. Maybe I will bother to find out what tag makes the difference.

There are a few other issues that affect flying vehicle types - attack ranges don't work properly for them (not an issue if they are unarmed), damage done on the ground affects them even if they are in the air, and their shadows are not drawn properly, although I can think of a few workarounds for this last issue.

Some, not all, of these are also true in Tiberian Sun.

_________________
Mao Zedong wrote:

Our mission, unfinished, may take a thousand years.  

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2015 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

WeaponsFactory=no makes units spawn next to the factory
WeaponsFactory=yes gives the usual opening door, spawn inside factory logic.

_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Millennium
Commander


Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Location: Osaka (JP)/Hong Kong/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Update:
It seems flying vehicle types are also unable to deploy, but at least I have semi-solved the shadow issue. Will post a screenie later.



CustomShadow.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  28.23 KB
 Viewed:  3019 Time(s)

CustomShadow.png



_________________
Mao Zedong wrote:

Our mission, unfinished, may take a thousand years.  

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
Defense Minister


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2015 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Helicopters that land can deploy, the only requirement must therefore be deploying while landed...

_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Millennium
Commander


Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Location: Osaka (JP)/Hong Kong/Germany

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2015 12:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Helicopters in RA2 are usually jj vehicles, I got on a tangent here and started investigating vehicles with flying locomotor (which actually have a few interesting features that jj vehicles don't have - they just also have a lot of drawbacks).

_________________
Mao Zedong wrote:

Our mission, unfinished, may take a thousand years.  

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ApolloTD
Commander


Joined: 19 Nov 2003

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2015 7:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Frankly, vehicles with aircraft locomotor are of limited use as you are doing what they never designed game to do thus lots of issues.

In my experience even attack command won't move the unit and it stands still unlike move command among other.

Safe to say this research is unlikely to produce too viable things, I pursued this route looong ago.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
Defense Minister


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Does a .shp unit on water leave a wake? Because that would nicely solve the animation and appearance of flying, without actually flying...

_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [30 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
 
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.2585s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0109s) ][ Debug on ]