:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Tue May 26, 2020 7:58 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
Ra2 and YR runs slower and slower as time goes by
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
cxtian39
Commander


Joined: 11 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 12:16 am    Post subject:  Ra2 and YR runs slower and slower as time goes by
Subject description: Win10 System
Reply with quote

I'm playing origin's edition on my win10 machine and patch it with ts-yr proxy. But the game becomes slower and slower about half hour after and sometimes I have to restart the game because it lags so much. Anyone encounter this or know how to solve it?
_________________
I DON'T extract models from Rivals.
I play Rivals tho, PM me for a fight.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 6:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try latest experimental release - https://ppmforums.com/viewtopic.php?t=44326

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlexB
Commander


Joined: 31 May 2010
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

YR becoming slower, or is it the original RA2?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is normally caused by the AI getting stuck with a script or pathfinding, over time these problems accumulate & eat up memory making the game lag.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
cxtian39
Commander


Joined: 11 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 2:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Both YR and Ra2 lags. The newly released ddraw seems to solve it.

Origin packs the whole CNC series for sell but provides no compatibility fix for old games Confused
_________________
I DON'T extract models from Rivals.
I play Rivals tho, PM me for a fight.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cxtian39 wrote:
Origin packs the whole CNC series for sell but provides no compatibility fix for old games Confused


You do realize EA never cares for its customers, much less a beautiful franchise to the point they kill it in the worst way possible, if The-Game-Which-Must-Not-Be-Named is anything to go by, right?
_________________
One and only developer of C&C S. True Supremacy.
Youtube: C&C Supremacy Mod | Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue
I once ninja'd MigEater #Tongue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
cxtian39
Commander


Joined: 11 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TAK02 wrote:
You do realize EA never cares for its customers
They do care for your money in your pocket Wink
_________________
I DON'T extract models from Rivals.
I play Rivals tho, PM me for a fight.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
MadHQ
Commander


Joined: 07 Nov 2003

PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

At least you can get YR to run on win10...

I just bought a new laptop and I can not get it to run.  Laughing


I will have to try again at some point...
_________________
MadHQ's Graveyard - Click here!
(Permissions) - (F.A.Q.)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 7:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MadHQ wrote:
At least you can get YR to run on win10...

I just bought a new laptop and I can not get it to run.  Laughing


I will have to try again at some point...


I got a new laptop too, and can only play via launcher. Which wouldn't be bad thing if it didn't have support for the campaign button.
_________________
One and only developer of C&C S. True Supremacy.
Youtube: C&C Supremacy Mod | Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue
I once ninja'd MigEater #Tongue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
cxtian39
Commander


Joined: 11 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Patch this to see if it works
works for  me at least


ts-yr_proxy_newest.zip
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  ts-yr_proxy_newest.zip
 Filesize:  489.56 KB
 Downloaded:  77 Time(s)


_________________
I DON'T extract models from Rivals.
I play Rivals tho, PM me for a fight.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

THAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAANK YOUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU!!!!!!111

EDIT: Works for both RA2 and YR, but I used XWIS' free/MP-only version, which, curiously, can get CnCNet to run and work as intended.
Thought you ought to know.

And cxtian39? I'm putting you in the 'special thanks' section of C&C S.
_________________
One and only developer of C&C S. True Supremacy.
Youtube: C&C Supremacy Mod | Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue
I once ninja'd MigEater #Tongue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
cxtian39
Commander


Joined: 11 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't thank me this is not done by me. You don't even need to include this in your mod. It's players' responsibility to make Ra2/YR runable on their god damn machines. If they can't, how could they expect a mod to fix it #Tongue
_________________
I DON'T extract models from Rivals.
I play Rivals tho, PM me for a fight.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
SteamsDev
Cyborg Engineer


Joined: 12 Mar 2017

PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TAK02 wrote:
Works for both RA2 and YR, but I used XWIS' free/MP-only version, which, curiously, can get CnCNet to run and work as intended.
Thought you ought to know.S.


You're absolutely right. The XWIS version is even able to support Ares as long as you have the right components (Hint: Compatibility Edition).

I've had to download the XWIS version myself, both for Win7 and above and for Ubuntu, because RA2 discs generally won't boot the setup application. XWIS works just fine on both as well, and both will support CnCNet as long as .NET Framework 4.0 and above is installed.


Screenshot from 2017-12-22 19-14-17.png
 Description:
For example, XWIS Yuri's Revenge: CnCD2K, the mod that I work with.
 Filesize:  977.3 KB
 Viewed:  1950 Time(s)

Screenshot from 2017-12-22 19-14-17.png



_________________
"I am putting myself to the fullest possible use, which is all I think that any conscious entity can ever hope to do." - HAL 9000

Official scripting leader of BR Studios
Check out our ModDB: http://www.moddb.com/company/progen-group
Yuri's Revenge: CnCD2K: http://www.moddb.com/mods/red-alert-2-yuris-revenge-cncd2k-mod

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cxtian39 wrote:
Don't thank me this is not done by me. You don't even need to include this in your mod. It's players' responsibility to make Ra2/YR runable on their god damn machines. If they can't, how could they expect a mod to fix it #Tongue

I'm sorry, but you made sure C&C S can be finally worked on on a Lose10 PC I'll be using for the next few years.

And you saved me the head-ache of finding a solution.

@SteamsDev:
What do you mean with Compatibility Edition?

Also, my quote in your post here has an S too many at the end #Tongue
_________________
One and only developer of C&C S. True Supremacy.
Youtube: C&C Supremacy Mod | Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue
I once ninja'd MigEater #Tongue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 8:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for the dbl-post, but this is important:

CnCNet, once run once, will KILL this little patch.
Someone call Rampa and get the client NOT to delete DLLs & INIs without at least notifying the user.

You have no idea how crushed I was until I realized the client's problem.
_________________
One and only developer of C&C S. True Supremacy.
Youtube: C&C Supremacy Mod | Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue
I once ninja'd MigEater #Tongue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.3307s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0039s) ][ Debug on ]