:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Wed Jun 23, 2021 4:35 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Ares (Unofficial Forum)
How do u use the Ares
Moderators: Ares Support Team at PPM, Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Destro0099
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 12 Mar 2018

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 9:33 am    Post subject:  How do u use the Ares Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Do anyone know how to use ares it can help other that dont know how to use Ares

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MasterHaosis
General


Joined: 01 Nov 2010
Location: Serbia

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

,,How do u use Ares" Very Happy
U need to be more specific, so others can answer u. Do u want to know how to start YR with Ares or how to mod with it at all?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Destro0099
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 12 Mar 2018

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

How do i mod it,how do i make unit without rulesmd or anthing,how do i use Ares documention and others

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlexB
Commander


Joined: 31 May 2010
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You need YR updated to 1.001 without any further modifications. You copy the files from the Ares package into the YR folder, and instead of launching ra2md.exe, you launch RunAres.bat.

Then, you'll see on the loading screen that Ares is active. Then you can use the normal rulesmd.ini file to change the game, but now you can also use the tags from the Ares documentation.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Destro0099
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 12 Mar 2018

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2018 9:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

okhow do you make custom mix to add new units

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MasterHaosis
General


Joined: 01 Nov 2010
Location: Serbia

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2018 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If you ask how to add new units, this is basically how:
If you make your tank, lets say [TANKBEST]
then you have to go to [VehicleTypes] section. Scrow down until you see last name there. Then you have to add your tank here.
For example:
80=DOLY
81=CBLC
82=FTRK
83=AMBU
84=CIVP
Now you have to make 85=TANKBEST, first free number. Each new tank of yours should be in first free number.
Same goes for infantry, aircraft, buildings.
That is how you add new units, there is no custom mix or Ares needed for that, except Ares enables you to add more than 100 units in list.

But with due respect I wonder that you have any clue what are you asking at all. This is not question for Ares as new units can be done without it, only some new abilities there, but you did not ask about anything specifically. You need to understand basic modding first before you start asking Ares related questions.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Destro0099
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 12 Mar 2018

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2018 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Laughing im not asking how to add new units im asking where do i put the new unit i make

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MasterHaosis
General


Joined: 01 Nov 2010
Location: Serbia

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

HAHAHAHAH! Man I like you Very Happy

Can you please elaborate more? Seems that I degraded my (crappy) English skills, so maybe if you can explain me better what do you mean? In English.

,,im asking where do i put the new unit i make"
You can't put your new unit anywhere except in FA2 Yuri's Revenge, program for making maps. So, when you add/create your unit, it can be buildable from war factory, or get as reinforcement via paradrop, or you can pre place it on map. I do not understand what do you want
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Virgil
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 22 Jul 2018

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2018 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If you mean a new shp or vxl(and its hva) file,you should put them in the folder where YR is installed(or the better way,in a mix file in that folder with the help from XCC),and do what MasterHaosis said to actually add them into your game(as for the code of those units,find tutorials yourself).
The original rulesmd.ini and artmd.ini come with explanation for themselves,check ModEnc for more if you need.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DyordsTheBell
Medic


Joined: 01 Dec 2016
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2021 2:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I wish there is a YouTube video on how to use ARES for newcomers like me without having to read anything in the Documentation for easy learning IMHO  Smile .

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2021 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

https://ppmforums.com/post-566977/#566977
_________________
One and only developer of the Command & Conquer Dune "C&C D" mod.
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Twitter Channel URL Skype Account
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Ares (Unofficial Forum)
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1976s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0099s) ][ Debug on ]