:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Mon Jul 13, 2020 6:23 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum » Map Archive
[FS] Ghosts of the Past
Moderators: Global Moderators, Tiberian Sun Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [16 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
EliteCadre
Medic


Joined: 29 Jul 2014

PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2019 10:28 pm    Post subject:  [FS] Ghosts of the Past
Subject description: Another GDI Single-Player mission...
Reply with quote

The last time I posted my first singe-player map (called: More Party Crashers) was 4 years ago and I have to to admit; it was mediocre at best. So here I am again posting my second AND the largest single-player map I've made 4 years later #Tongue

Basically, what I did is merge the maps of both variants of the 9th Nod mission from vanilla TS (the one where you get to use the chemical missile for the first time), perform some HEAVY visual work and adding tons and tons of scripts, triggers, INI editing, and loads of other stuff...

BUT, the catch here is that you play as GDI, not as Nod, against CABAL who has taken over the Nod Tiberium Facilities for his own use. This mission is pretty much a sequel to the original Nod missions (hence the name of the map).

Your mission is to reach one of two GDI bases deserted after the previous battle while avoiding detection at all costs and use that base to wipe out CABAL's forces and his Tiberium Facilities and anything related to them. Watch out, Nod won't give up on those facilities and will likely join the battle to retake them from CABAL and prevent you from destroying them!

The map also contains miscellaneous stuff like meteor storms, an ion storm, a Veinhole giving birth to Tiberium Floaters, and even dynamic lighting where light towers will turn their lights on when it gets darker and more... A briefing is also included.

There is only 1 bug I've found in this map which unfortunately I cannot fix due to it being from the game itself and not from the map:

-Devil's Tongues don't trigger detection for some reason.

Screenshots are found below. Drop the files inside the archive into your game's directory and select the GDI Campaign in TS: Firestorm. Enjoy!


2020-02-17 22_50_32-Greenshot.png
 Description:
Main CABAL base
 Filesize:  801.74 KB
 Viewed:  1878 Time(s)

2020-02-17 22_50_32-Greenshot.png



2020-02-17 22_51_01-Greenshot.png
 Description:
Eastern GDI base
 Filesize:  754.96 KB
 Viewed:  1880 Time(s)

2020-02-17 22_51_01-Greenshot.png



2020-02-17 22_51_19-Greenshot.png
 Description:
Western GDI base
 Filesize:  855.76 KB
 Viewed:  1880 Time(s)

2020-02-17 22_51_19-Greenshot.png



2020-02-17 22_50_10-Greenshot.png
 Description:
Another Tiberium lifeforms colony (Green Variants)
 Filesize:  867.62 KB
 Viewed:  1882 Time(s)

2020-02-17 22_50_10-Greenshot.png



2020-02-17 22_48_16-Greenshot.png
 Description:
Tiberium lifeforms colony (Blue Variants)
 Filesize:  775.39 KB
 Viewed:  1882 Time(s)

2020-02-17 22_48_16-Greenshot.png



Ghosts of the Past.rar
 Description:
The map itself

Download
 Filename:  Ghosts of the Past.rar
 Filesize:  284.24 KB
 Downloaded:  57 Time(s)


Last edited by EliteCadre on Sat Feb 29, 2020 6:11 pm; edited 16 times in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EliteCadre
Medic


Joined: 29 Jul 2014

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2019 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UPDATE: Uploaded a new version of the map; added some more aircraft for CABAL on Area Guard mode at his main and secondary bases and a third deployed artillery at his main base. Uploaded new screenshot to reflect upon the change.

Also, Feedback about the map is appreciated!

Last edited by EliteCadre on Wed Jul 10, 2019 8:40 pm; edited 1 time in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Virgil
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 22 Jul 2018

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2019 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One thing noticed: as the GDI base is abandoned, its walls shouldn't be in such good condition, damaged version could fit more. Anyway, this is a good one.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EliteCadre
Medic


Joined: 29 Jul 2014

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2019 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UPDATE: Uploaded new version; bug fixes

Virgil wrote:
One thing noticed: as the GDI base is abandoned, its walls shouldn't be in such good condition, damaged version could fit more. Anyway, this is a good one.


I don't really know how to add damaged walls. I tried placing walls from the buildings category in FinalSun instead of Special/Overlay and reduced their HP, yet they are still in good shape Sad Can you tell me how do I do it?

Last edited by EliteCadre on Wed Jul 10, 2019 8:33 pm; edited 1 time in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2019 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EliteCadre wrote:

Virgil wrote:
One thing noticed: as the GDI base is abandoned, its walls shouldn't be in such good condition, damaged version could fit more. Anyway, this is a good one.

I don't really know how to add damaged walls. I tried placing walls from the buildings category in FinalSun instead of Special/Overlay and reduced their HP, yet they are still in good shape Sad Can you tell me how do I do it?

To the right, you'll see Special & Overlay. It's a dropdown list, just pick what kind of overlay you want, and in what state, and place it.


SharedScreenshot.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  258.08 KB
 Viewed:  1782 Time(s)

SharedScreenshot.jpg



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
EliteCadre
Medic


Joined: 29 Jul 2014

PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2019 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TAK02 wrote:
To the right, you'll see Special & Overlay. It's a dropdown list, just pick what kind of overlay you want, and in what state, and place it.


Riiight... The Special/Overlay tool to the right, I rarely use it. I mostly use the one to the left which explains why I missed it out. Thanks for the heads-up!

UPDATE: Uploaded new version; replaced GDI concrete walls with damaged version. Uploaded new screenshot to reflect on the change.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EliteCadre
Medic


Joined: 29 Jul 2014

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UPDATE: Uploaded new version; extra bug fixes and some misc stuff...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EliteCadre
Medic


Joined: 29 Jul 2014

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2020 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UPDATE: New version has been uploaded.

Changes included:

-All light posts (with the exception of invisible ones) have been replaced by alpha light posts. This step not only made the map look prettier but also got rid of the annoying bug where after loading a saved game, the illumination on standard light posts will still lurk even when the posts get destroyed. Now feel free to save and load as much as you want, you'll no longer screw up the dynamic lighting!

-All "normal vegetation" (i.e. green grass and trees) have been replaced by dead and mutated vegetation (i.e. dead trees, rough ground, green sludge, blue mold, mutated trees...); the environment is now completely dead and mutated.

-Added more Tiberium, mostly at the river shores.

-The AI now goes into hunt mode after its base is destroyed. This will save time and effort spent on searching the entire map for a pesky hidden unit preventing the mission from ending.

-The map no longer turns into daytime. Instead, the map will start out at dusk and slowly darkens to night. The light towers on the map have been adjusted accordingly; they'll turn on their lights when it gets dark enough instead of shutting them off.

-Fixed a crash that sometimes happen when destroying a Tiberium Silo at CABAL's secondary base.

-Changed the starting music track from "Rain in the Night" to "Elusive".

-Some more, yet minor bug fixes.

Again, I'll gladly accept any feedback on the map here!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tuc0
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 26 Sep 2016
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2020 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tried to run map with TS Client, but I got IE while loading map. Are there any not mentioned requirements to run it?
When I looked at map in FS, I have noticed unknown terrain around rail tracks.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2020 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tuc0 wrote:
unknown terrain around rail tracks.

If FA2/FS managed to load that spot without crashing, I doubt RA2/TS would have much trouble loading that spot also.
I'd more concerned if viewing that spot were to crash FA2/FS. THEN you know the game will most likely crash upon load.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
Tuc0
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 26 Sep 2016
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2020 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not sure what caused crashing during loading screen. That terrain was the first thing that caught my eye.
IE occurred at 004F59B4

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EliteCadre
Medic


Joined: 29 Jul 2014

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2020 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I attempted a fix and uploaded a new version of the map. It should solve this problem. Let me know if it did.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2020 3:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This map uses modified terrain when compared to vanilla game terrain. There are 81 more broken/missing tiles in the map. Proper fix would be to replace the tiles that are not available in vanilla TS with the matching once that are available.

A quick fix is to replace all the missing tiles with clear tiles, so that the map will atleast not crash in the game. Fix Tiles option in the latest Map Renderer is able to do it better than FinalSun in this case and it also gives the coordinates and reason for the broken tiles in the log.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EliteCadre
Medic


Joined: 29 Jul 2014

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2020 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright, I used the Map Renderer to fix any unknown/missing tiles. The map should stop crashing when loading. Please let me know if it did.

It's quite weird though; the game doesn't crash for me (obviously). I'm using vanilla TS/FS which I downloaded from CnCNet (which comes with the CnCNet patch) and not a modded one. I don't even have Terrain Expansion or the like installed.

Though I have to admit, my fixed version of FinalSun comes with extra terrain options. One of them is pavement without LAT which I used, especially around the railway. Is that what caused the problem? If so, then why didn't it crash my game too? :S

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2020 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It didn't fix, still 80 more broken tiles for vanilla TS. If the map renderer uses CnCNet as the game for mix and INI files, then how do you expect it to get fixed for vanilla TS. CnCNet has additional content which could be used in maps.

Either install TSClient or untouched vanilla TS and fix the map with it. And then test with it and then post. Or just label the map saying it requires CnCNet to play (mention in the title of this thread or prominently in the first post).

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EliteCadre
Medic


Joined: 29 Jul 2014

PostPosted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did not know that the CnCNet version is that different from the TSClient and the purely vanilla TS/FS.

Anyways, the good news is that I downloaded the TSClient and I finally managed to fix the map with it and with the help of the Map Renderer. So the people whose game used to crash when loading the map should now 100% be able to load it up and play.

Thanks a lot for the heads up and the help. If someone hasn't told me of this issue, the map would have just sat here, obsolete, and without me knowing it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [16 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum » Map Archive
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.4071s ][ Queries: 18 (0.0387s) ][ Debug on ]