:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Sun May 09, 2021 4:01 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Mapping Discussion
Final Alert 2 YR v1.02 Patches
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 2 of 2 [75 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2020 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Patches are just byte replacements, those are available in the Info.txt file (bottom half). UI related changes can be replicated through Resource Hacker. Others are INI file changes. Ambient Calc tool (essentially done in about 15 minutes) source PPM link is available in its own text file.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CCHyper
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Apr 2005

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2020 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Damn, manually writing ASM and byte patching takes me back, very rarely have to do it these days.

So you're not using a workflow to patch the binary (like the ts-patches project for example)? I know there was one set-up for the FA2:YR by another person in the community, might be good to migrate to that?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2020 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If there is already a setup like ts-patches, I am not aware of it. There was one syringe based DLL, probably not open source mainly to make FA2 read the so called protected mix files I guess. But unlike ts-patches, there is UI involved which is more of resource hacker stuff, byte replacements are few and small.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Sat Sep 05, 2020 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update in first post, regarding the script action - change house dropdown list.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
General


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2020 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if it is possible fix, but smudges locations are not recalculated on map resize like overlays and terrains...

That would be of immense helps to someone like me.
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2020 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Attaching a patched version of FA2 1.02 for RA2 only (No YR support). It disables the not so good YR map detection and sets it to work for RA2 maps only, useful for RA2 modders/mappers. YR map actions and events are disabled in FAData.ini. If no problems are reported, will move the attachment to first post.

Recently found out that FA2Ext.dll (from AlexB) which works with syringe is hosted at stuffhost. Don't know if it was publicly announced or I am the only one who is unaware of it. It adds YR script actions and YR specific parameters for script actions 0 (attack targettype) and 11 (new mission). It changes eva, sound01 and theme INI references to YR counterparts (*md) apart from other changes. Currently, it is compatible with the FA2 patches for YR that I have put together.

Edit: Updated attachment moved to first post.

Last edited by E1 Elite on Mon Dec 14, 2020 11:56 am; edited 2 times in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
General


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2020 8:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For "no-YR" you also have to uncap the terrain limits if you add any custom terrain (RA2TileMax), and a few things I do in the one I distribute for SE editing. Furthermore the entire existence of what's classed as YR unit/buildings would have to go for the chance you imported the YR assets to your mod without changing their names. Likewise with the overlays that trigger YR mode, can't add more overlays, you can only replace existing ones.

So just be aware this would be useful only to the most basic of RA2 mods.
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Updated the attachment in the previous post. Now it ignores RA2TileMax, YRInfantry, YROverlay etc. and YR check in events/actions defined in FAData.ini. Only new theaters of YR will be flagged as needing YR. Test it now.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2020 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update in first post.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2020 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This patch seems to disable placing Train Tracks from Terrain Expansion.
I can't place track any more, not even from "all overlay".

EDIT: yeah, I reverted to an older FA2_P and I have tracks again. Wonder what changed...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Twitter Channel URL Skype Account
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2020 1:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works for me.

Minor UI changes and updating FAData.ini with or without FA2Ext.dll doesn't affect reading overlays/tiles from game.

You are supposed to merge FAData.ini changes from TX FA2 and copy its marble.mix. Then, on first run of this FA2, point the location of the game to which contains TX changes.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andrew84
Medic


Joined: 20 Dec 2020

PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2020 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My friend, I have been trying for a long time to create a large map for RA2 using your Final Alert, but when I try to set a size larger than 208x208, the editor simply closes and nothing happens.
I have made attempts to create a large map using windows 7 and windows XP. The result is the same, the editor just closes.
Sometimes a message appears like the picture below.

Can you advise me something?

I am a map maker. You can see my works here:
https://forums.cncnet.org/topic/9764-o-c-e-a-n-i-a/


Clipboard01.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  56.85 KB
 Viewed:  760 Time(s)

Clipboard01.jpg



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2020 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is the limitation of FA2, when it crosses certain number of cells in a map, it crashes or hangs. 208x209 or 209x208 is what it comes close to an equal width and height. Even with this limit you can have map sizes like 108x404, 124x352, 154x282, 174x250, 250x174, 282x154, 352x124, 404x108, 428x84, 448x64, 458x54 etc. When creating a new map with this patched FA2, calculation info is given in that window.

It was discussed at many places in this forum like - https://ppmforums.com/post-596649/what-is-the-biggest-map/#596649

That problem with FA2 needs expertise in reverse engineering to fix, which is beyond my capability.

What you can do currently is that make a map of the maximum size that FA2 allows and increase the inner boundary to as much as possible and finish the map. Finally use the included MapResize tool to extend its outer boundary by a few more cells in width and height. Such maps won't open in FA2 anymore. If needed generate the preview with CnC Map Renderer for such maps. Even though the playable area will be close to 208x208, the total map size could be made like 232x232.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andrew84
Medic


Joined: 20 Dec 2020

PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2020 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very pity.
I was dreaming about creating 512x512 map...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2020 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Even if it becomes doable, with the game supporting max of width + height = 512 formula, you could get only upto 256x256.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andrew84
Medic


Joined: 20 Dec 2020

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2020 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not bad too. Its x1.64 more than 200x200

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Secsome has released FA2sp source code, for a syringe based DLL for FA2 at https://github.com/secsome/FA2sp

This is a port of the patched FA2 to work with FA2sp.dll. Attaching a test build to play with. Run it with RunFA2sp.bat and check if it works. FA2sp is not compatible with FA2Ext, so don't put FA2Ext.dll in the FA2 folder.

FA2sp already has most features of current FA2Ext and has additional functionality, check details in readme at the github link above. Couldn't find the dropdown implementation of [ParamTypes] Superweapon (Ares) 39, used for event #77. There may be other trigger event/action dropdown differences between FA2Ext and FA2sp. Minor bugs like script action 16, 17, dropdown doesn't show the script/team name properly. Additional features are kept commented at top of FAData.ini which needs testing.

Source code changes from the base github repo of secsome (commit as of 2021-03-08 ) is attached. As UI preferences are of personal choice, haven't made a pull request. Will do PR if needed or the source code could be picked up from here and selectively merged as needed.

Edit: Attachments removed in favour of new releases.

Last edited by E1 Elite on Yesterday, at 5:53 am; edited 1 time in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
McPwny
AA Infantry


Joined: 29 Jan 2018

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2021 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i dont understand how to install this
_________________
.shp artist and critic of voxels

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2021 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unzip FA2YRPsp_20210310.7z with tools like 7-zip to a folder of your choice. Then run RunFA2sp.bat. On first run select the RA2,exe from your YR installation.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
McPwny
AA Infantry


Joined: 29 Jan 2018

PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2021 2:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

okay i did that, and it launches a version of fa2 with a slightly modified GUI... but the github entry shows improvements to fa2, for example;
Code:
Teamtypes and Scripttypes are now able to use Clone just as Triggers
House colors will be correctly drawn instead of using a hardcoded set of colors (for most, yellow)
Tile manager, can be helpful while you are having lots of tiles

etc etc. how do i get those features?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2021 2:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hope you are running it with the RunFA2sp.bat, not the FA2 exe directly.

There are clone buttons next to add in teams and script window, it makes copy of the current entry adding clone to its name. Tile manager button is in the split window bar, next to tiles and overlay dropdown. Also uncomment [Sides] section in FAData.ini.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
McPwny
AA Infantry


Joined: 29 Jan 2018

PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2021 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

its working now


the clone button alone makes this an epic win for ra2 modding only 20 years too late. tile manager also could solve the insanity
that is working with several hundred tile sets at once... though ra2 in particular has had no real attempts at terrain expansion
to speak of.

anyways, this is quite an exiting development. thanks for showing me how to use it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2021 4:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This one is a test build. [ExtConfigs] working could be improved. You need OverlayFilter=yes to get overlay dropdown to fill up with entries, Should get all features of FA2Ext into this etc. to substitute FA2Ext with this.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2021 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another test build with changes to FA2sp.dll and FAData.ini.

Source code changes over the base github repo of secsome (commit as of 2021-03-11) is attached.


FA2YRPsp_20210314.7z
 Description:
Test build 2

Download
 Filename:  FA2YRPsp_20210314.7z
 Filesize:  2.22 MB
 Downloaded:  65 Time(s)


SourceChanges_20210314.7z
 Description:
Over base commit of 2021-03-11

Download
 Filename:  SourceChanges_20210314.7z
 Filesize:  14.9 KB
 Downloaded:  6 Time(s)


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Updates in first post.

Patched FA2 now comes with syringe based FA2sp DLL from SECSOME.
FA2sp.dll base repository - https://github.com/secsome/FA2sp
Modified FA2sp.dll that is included in the patches repo - https://github.com/E1Elite/FA2sp

To enable several of the additional features provided by FA2sp, those can be un-commented in FAData.ini as needed by mappers/modders.

AlexB's FA2Ext.dll supported version of the FA2 patches is available in the archived attachment in first post.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 2 of 2 [75 Posts] Goto page: Previous 1, 2
View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Mapping Discussion
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1775s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0121s) ][ Debug on ]