:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Thu Apr 09, 2020 11:58 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Mapping Discussion
How do I make Red alert 2 bridge repair trigger
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
MadHQ
Commander


Joined: 07 Nov 2003

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 12:54 am    Post subject:  How do I make Red alert 2 bridge repair trigger Reply with quote

How do I make a engineer paradrop bridge repair trigger/script thing in FA2 for RA2...?
_________________
MadHQ's Graveyard - Click here!
(Permissions) - (F.A.Q.)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

One thing you'd need is to have the engi that'll fix the bridge a "Spy on Building @ Waypoint" script action so that the engi goes into the hut and fixes it.
I THINK "Move to Waypoint" might also do the trick, but I'm not sure.
_________________
One and only developer of C&C S. True Supremacy.
Youtube: C&C Supremacy Mod | Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue
I once ninja'd MigEater #Tongue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the problem is that for a paradrop the usual "Unload - lose transport, keep units" won't work.
I would try it in 2 steps
-a script which lets the paradrop plane attack a waypoint to paradrop the passengers (no clue if RA2 has a special script command for paradropping)
then immediately set a local variable

-with the local variable set, recruit the dropping engineer into a new team which has then as its script to enter/infiltrate the bridgehut (e.g. script command "Attack enemy building" and a bridgehut as the selected buildingtype).
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have trigger fire every 60s or less, and each time it spawns a paradrop plane that'll drop the Taskforce in the proper spot.
I remember there's trigger that allows you to designate at which waypoint the ParaDrop should happen, and then you tell the team at which waypoint the transport should spawn.

Then add the local variable set to happen by hooking up a "if infiltrated by house A then set local variable".
Once that variable is set, the plane-spawner disables.

Now, how to make the game chk for the bridge's intact-ness?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the third Allied mission "Hail to the Chief" the AI was scripted to spawn an engineer that would enter the bridge hut near your base every few minuets, even if the bridge wasn't blown up. You could look at the map & see how the trigger is set up there.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
MadHQ
Commander


Joined: 07 Nov 2003

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Mig eater! Looking at that mission could prove more helpful than an explanation.

But I do have a question from quickly looking. Is there an explanation to what Local variables are and how there used in Fa2/Ra2?
_________________
MadHQ's Graveyard - Click here!
(Permissions) - (F.A.Q.)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://www.modenc.renegadeprojects.com/VariableNames

Check map actions/scripts/events for usage.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The eleventh Allied mission "Fallout" has an engineer team that is paradropped in after the bridge is blown up, that one might be more closer to what you're after.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Mapping Discussion
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1190s ][ Queries: 10 (0.0038s) ][ Debug on ]