:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Mon Jul 13, 2020 5:34 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
Need little edit of vehicle model.
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
rey
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 15 Jul 2019

PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2019 9:48 pm    Post subject:  Need little edit of vehicle model.
Subject description: Can smb help?
Reply with quote

i'm not even a noob but a clear zero in editing models or modelling at all, so i'd hope smb can make a little edit for me.

the target unit is a tank, and the edit needed seems to be simple:
- change direction of chassis = basically make it move backwards or so to say make its back to be new front;
- appropriately change direction of turret, so unit would normally fire in "new forward" direction.

i hope it's not a big deal, and if smb would be kind to help, please tell me what exact files need to be uploaded for editing.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rey
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 15 Jul 2019

PostPosted: Tue Dec 24, 2019 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can smb at least name what program is needed for edit i want to do?..

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WoodleMyNoodle
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 09 Apr 2018

PostPosted: Tue Dec 24, 2019 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's better to at least do some research before expecting people to help you.

However, you need a voxelling program and XCC mixer in case you need to extract the voxel out of the .mix.

They should both available on this site.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rey
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 15 Jul 2019

PostPosted: Tue Dec 24, 2019 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WoodleMyNoodle wrote:
It's better to at least do some research before expecting people to help you.

However, you need a voxelling program and XCC mixer in case you need to extract the voxel out of the .mix.

They should both available on this site.
well, tried to search for tutorial to edit models, but all i found are tutors either about editing stats in .ini files or copy-pasting units with code and model from some repositories. i already extracted models and tried to open them in Voxel Section Editor III, which gave no clue how do anything about front/back orientation of unit.

what is the exact name of voxelling program to make such edits of chassis and turret in separate files?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 24, 2019 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

checking the VSE options for about 10 seconds and you'll find this


VSE_switch FrontBack.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  20.96 KB
 Viewed:  497 Time(s)

VSE_switch FrontBack.png



_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MadHQ
Commander


Joined: 07 Nov 2003

PostPosted: Wed Dec 25, 2019 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You will probably have to redo the normals after the flip.
_________________
MadHQ's Graveyard - Click here!
(Permissions) - (F.A.Q.)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
rey
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 15 Jul 2019

PostPosted: Sun Dec 29, 2019 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

how to connect/move turret to new position? i see no options in VSE III and in HVABuilder neither "Voxel bounds" nor "HVA Position" seem to change anything(position changes in editor, but doesn't in game).

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Virgil
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 22 Jul 2018

PostPosted: Sun Dec 29, 2019 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you saved before closing VSE? Both Voxel bounds and HVA position should affect the position. Voxel bounds change the x-y-z axis while hva position only move the position.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Sun Dec 29, 2019 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Virgil wrote:
Have you saved before closing VSE? Both Voxel bounds and HVA position should affect the position. Voxel bounds change the x-y-z axis while hva position only move the position.

Doesn't VSE ask if you want to save changes before closing?

If doesn't, like FA2, then it's possible he forgot.

But I'm sure modders know to smash that save/floppy icon every now and then...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
rey
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 15 Jul 2019

PostPosted: Sun Dec 29, 2019 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

did save, opened hva to check and turret was on proper/"changed" position, but not in game. that's why asking if there are some difference in this 2 methods, so maybe i used wrong one.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Virgil
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 22 Jul 2018

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2019 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe you should upload the vxl and hva file, so someone can check what's wrong with them? I have done such changes myself quite some times, never experienced such condintions.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rey
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 15 Jul 2019

PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2020 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

with the help of Virgil topic solved. thank you.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2020 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So... what was the problem?
_________________
One and only developer of C&C S. True Supremacy.
Youtube: C&C Supremacy Mod | Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue
I once ninja'd MigEater #Tongue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
rey
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 15 Jul 2019

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TAK02 wrote:
So... what was the problem?
apart from flipping chasis, turret needed shift of position in art.ini. i couldn't know it's usually put in the centre and tweaked, thought position is set in model.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.4060s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0389s) ][ Debug on ]