:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Mon Mar 30, 2020 3:52 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Ares (Unofficial Forum)
CnC.net + my mod + Ares
Moderators: Ares Support Team at PPM, Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [22 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
chr0nicz420
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 10 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2020 4:59 pm    Post subject:  CnC.net + my mod + Ares Reply with quote

I'm planning of trying the CnC.net but I want to implement my mod on it with Ares features. I tried checking Ares if there's a way but I couldn't find it or maybe I missed it. I thought it's just simple installing CnC.net then done, you can play YR with your mod via CnC.net.

Can anyone help me on this?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2020 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On fresh YR, install CnCNet client for YR, drop Ares files into the game folder and generic cncnet5.dll from:
https://ppmforums.com/post-557384/tiberian-sun-client/#557384

With CnCNet client's Resources\ClientDefinitions.ini use :

Code:
GameLauncherExecutableName=syringe.exe
GameExecutableNames=gamemd.exe
ExtraCommandLineParams=-cd -log

Then drop your mod files in the game folder and run the client with its launcher.

Related:
Old topic - https://ppmforums.com/post-561090/cncnet5-syringe-wont-work/#561090
Diplomacy flag - https://ppmforums.com/topic-44129/pressing-tabdiplomacy-crash/
Client source code/package - https://github.com/CnCNet/

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
4StarGeneral
General


Joined: 14 Sep 2006
Location: Constant Flux

PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2020 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Should probably sticky this at this point, it's a pretty common question and this is a very good answer.
_________________
"Don't beg for things; Do it yourself or you'll never get anything."

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail YouTube User URL
Iran
Pyro Sniper


Joined: 23 Mar 2011

PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2020 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does cncnet5.dll do?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2020 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suppose this one is Ares compatible generic spawner implementation supplied by dkeeton. I would have liked it to be open source but with these DLLs not being so, can't say what other functionality it has. Different YR mods use their own variants.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Iran
Pyro Sniper


Joined: 23 Mar 2011

PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2020 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lol that''s great (not)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Starkku
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2020 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

E1Elite's description is mostly correct, but to clarify (although someone who knows better can correct if I got something wrong):

- It was originally made by hifi, presumably to allow using spawner features together with Syringe & Ares (which is not possible using the regular hacked executable) and probably to help YR mods transition into using CnCnet 5. I believe some spawner features have been altered/disabled because they would conflict with Ares. IIRC it also doesn't interact with Syringe in the same way as Ares DLL does and is more of a hack, but exact details escape my mind.

- It has been maintained and/or built by other people, including (and possibly limited to) tomsons26 and dkeeton/xme. Since it is (to my knowledge) not open source, there are no version numbers and file date info isn't always accurate, it is often difficult to tell from what point in time a particular version of this DLL comes from, how it differs from others and to keep track of these changes/differences.

- There is only one mod-specific variant of the DLL as far as I know (also comes in several different 'iterations' as explained in previous point) which is the one used by Mental Omega. The differences between it and the generic DLL from same 'iteration' are minimal and are there mostly to support the specific file setup (different filenames) MO uses.
_________________
Project Phantom

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Twitter Channel URL
chr0nicz420
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 10 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2020 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm completely at loss.

I've installed CnC.net on a fresh YR, installed Ares, edited ClientDefinition.ini, then putting my mod in the folder but still it seems my mod is not successfully implemented. Even if I tried to start the game, the game won't load.




Here's my ClientsDefinition.ini:

Code:
[Settings]
;GameLauncherExecutableName=syringe.exe
GameExecutableNames=Syringe.exe
ExtraCommandLineParams= "gamemd.exe" -spawn -cd -log
SettingsFile=RA2MD.ini
ConfigWindowTitle=YR Settings
MPMapsPath=INI\MPMaps.ini
LoadingScreenCount=0
LongGameName=Yuri's Revenge
LocalGame=YR
RegistryInstallPath=YurisRevenge
CnCNetLiveStatusIdentifier=cncnet5_yr
CreditsURL=http://www.moddb.com/mods/the-dawn-of-the-tiberium-age/tutorials/credits
ChangelogURL=https://forums.cncnet.org/topic/5624-cncnet-yuris-revenge-update-changelog/
LongSupportURL=https://forums.cncnet.org/forum/11-support/
ShortSupportURL=forums.cncnet.org/forum/11-support/
MapEditorExePath=Map Editor\Map Editor.bat
FSIniPath=Map Editor\FinalSun.ini
BattleFSFileName=BattleE.ini
SidebarHack=yes
MinimumRenderWidth=1024
MinimumRenderHeight=600
MaximumRenderWidth=1600
MaximumRenderHeight=900
MapCellSizeX=60
MapCellSizeY=30
AllowedCustomGameModes=Standard,Custom Map,Teamgame,Duel,Airwar,Nukewar,Navalwar
KeyboardINI=KeyboardMD.ini
DefaultKeyboardINI=INI\KeyboardMD.ini
MaxNameLength=12
Quickmatch=Qt\CnCNetQM.exe
LauncherExe=CnCNetYRLauncher.exe


Also tried what E1 Elite mentioned:
Code:
GameLauncherExecutableName=syringe.exe
GameExecutableNames=gamemd.exe
ExtraCommandLineParams=-cd -log


But still my mod is not present.


Maybe I am missing something?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XxpeddyxX
Commander


Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2020 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The sides need to be changed manually on the client too. Check gameoptions.ini
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
FS-21
Light Infantry


Joined: 09 Dec 2002
Location: Spain

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chr0nicz420 wrote:
I'm completely at loss.

I've installed CnC.net on a fresh YR, installed Ares, edited ClientDefinition.ini, then putting my mod in the folder but still it seems my mod is not successfully implemented. Even if I tried to start the game, the game won't load.




Here's my ClientsDefinition.ini:

Code:
[Settings]
;GameLauncherExecutableName=syringe.exe
GameExecutableNames=Syringe.exe
ExtraCommandLineParams= "gamemd.exe" -spawn -cd -log
SettingsFile=RA2MD.ini
ConfigWindowTitle=YR Settings
MPMapsPath=INI\MPMaps.ini
LoadingScreenCount=0
LongGameName=Yuri's Revenge
LocalGame=YR
RegistryInstallPath=YurisRevenge
CnCNetLiveStatusIdentifier=cncnet5_yr
CreditsURL=http://www.moddb.com/mods/the-dawn-of-the-tiberium-age/tutorials/credits
ChangelogURL=https://forums.cncnet.org/topic/5624-cncnet-yuris-revenge-update-changelog/
LongSupportURL=https://forums.cncnet.org/forum/11-support/
ShortSupportURL=forums.cncnet.org/forum/11-support/
MapEditorExePath=Map Editor\Map Editor.bat
FSIniPath=Map Editor\FinalSun.ini
BattleFSFileName=BattleE.ini
SidebarHack=yes
MinimumRenderWidth=1024
MinimumRenderHeight=600
MaximumRenderWidth=1600
MaximumRenderHeight=900
MapCellSizeX=60
MapCellSizeY=30
AllowedCustomGameModes=Standard,Custom Map,Teamgame,Duel,Airwar,Nukewar,Navalwar
KeyboardINI=KeyboardMD.ini
DefaultKeyboardINI=INI\KeyboardMD.ini
MaxNameLength=12
Quickmatch=Qt\CnCNetQM.exe
LauncherExe=CnCNetYRLauncher.exe


Also tried what E1 Elite mentioned:
Code:
GameLauncherExecutableName=syringe.exe
GameExecutableNames=gamemd.exe
ExtraCommandLineParams=-cd -log


But still my mod is not present.


Maybe I am missing something?


The names you wrote on that "ClientsDefinition.ini:" [General] >Sides= tag are showed in the CnCNet client and the position of those houses is the index value of the houses in-game written in rulesmd.ini>[Countries]
First "side" -> [Countries]>0= ...
Second "side" -> [Countries]>1= ...
Thrid "side" -> [Countries]>2= ...
...

This means that it's possible that you have to re-order the rulesmd.ini>[Countries] list to show all new factions of the same side together (and break the single player campaigns and other stuff)...
_________________
C&C:Reloaded > GDI, Nod, Allies, Soviets & Yuri... & TS terrain!
[ Discord ] [ ModDB ] [ Telegram Channel ] [ Telegram Group ] [ Official Forums@Revora ]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID
chr0nicz420
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 10 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, somehow I managed to fix the UI, particularly on the sides and colors, on the client. However, the game couldn't launch. I couldn't tell why as it does not give me clue why it is crashing.

Is there something that I need to check out first?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
General


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would be useful to mention where it is crashing...
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chr0nicz420
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 10 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

G-E wrote:
Would be useful to mention where it is crashing...


At skirmish, once I start the game. It won't show the loading screen and YR will start going "Not Responding", hence I will force close it via Task Manager then going back to the client.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FS-21
Light Infantry


Joined: 09 Dec 2002
Location: Spain

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So the game window opens but black...
Any info in the Client>Client.log file and Debug>debug.log ? Syringe had a log file in these cases?
_________________
C&C:Reloaded > GDI, Nod, Allies, Soviets & Yuri... & TS terrain!
[ Discord ] [ ModDB ] [ Telegram Channel ] [ Telegram Group ] [ Official Forums@Revora ]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check the Client\client.log for messages from the client and syringe.log in the installed folder for messages of Ares launch.

Looks like the download of CnCNet client for YR is still the old one so use in Resources\ClientDefinitions.ini as:
Code:
GameExecutableNames=Syringe.exe
ExtraCommandLineParams= "gamemd.exe" -CD -LOG


Adding -spawn is not needed as it is appended by the client itself.

If you compile the client from the latest source code then use the entries as I gave in my earlier post in this thread.

UI sides are given in Resources\GameOptions.ini.

Attaching the generic DLL which was downloaded from the link mentioned in my earlier post and works for me. It has to be placed in the installation folder.


GenericCnCNet5DLL.7z
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  GenericCnCNet5DLL.7z
 Filesize:  8.63 KB
 Downloaded:  10 Time(s)


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
General


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Crashing during the loading bar is usually a sign of a corrupted mix.... some resource the game expects was found but couldn't be loaded for whatever reason.

One way to test this is to selectively remove 1 mix at a time until the game stops crashing. Of course there is the rare case where more than 1 is bad, but it's something to try.
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chr0nicz420
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 10 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2020 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

E1 Elite wrote:
Check the Client\client.log for messages from the client and syringe.log in the installed folder for messages of Ares launch.

Looks like the download of CnCNet client for YR is still the old one so use in Resources\ClientDefinitions.ini as:
Code:
GameExecutableNames=Syringe.exe
ExtraCommandLineParams= "gamemd.exe" -CD -LOG


Adding -spawn is not needed as it is appended by the client itself.

If you compile the client from the latest source code then use the entries as I gave in my earlier post in this thread.

UI sides are given in Resources\GameOptions.ini.

Attaching the generic DLL which was downloaded from the link mentioned in my earlier post and works for me. It has to be placed in the installation folder.


Okay now I'm stuck on the Syringe error with "Syringe cannot be run just like that".

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2020 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That means the syringe didn't get its parameters of gamemd.exe with -log and -spawn (also -cd etc.).

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chr0nicz420
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 10 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2020 2:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
[10:12:52] Syringe 0.7.2.0
[10:12:52] ===============

[10:12:52] WinMain: arguments = "-SPAWN "gamemd.exe" -CD -LOG"
[10:12:53] WinMain: No or invalid command line arguments given, exiting...
[10:12:53] WinMain: Exiting on failure.


I'm thinking if it's because the -SPAWN argument is taking place first before the executable, which is why I couldn't launch the game... Otherwise, I'm really clueless.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2020 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ClientDefinitions.ini entries for both old and latest clients were given in my posts. I don't know which client you are using and what your current INI entries are. The spawn parameter problem was also discussed in the old topic (link in my first post).

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FS-21
Light Infantry


Joined: 09 Dec 2002
Location: Spain

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2020 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chr0nicz420 wrote:
Code:
[10:12:52] Syringe 0.7.2.0
[10:12:52] ===============

[10:12:52] WinMain: arguments = "-SPAWN "gamemd.exe" -CD -LOG"
[10:12:53] WinMain: No or invalid command line arguments given, exiting...
[10:12:53] WinMain: Exiting on failure.


I'm thinking if it's because the -SPAWN argument is taking place first before the executable, which is why I couldn't launch the game... Otherwise, I'm really clueless.


I downloaded the code from github at the end of november or december and I had the same bug... the "-SPAWN" was hardcoded in the source code and unfortunately the execution will never run because "gamemd.exe" must be placed BEFORE the arguments and not between this -SPAWN and the rest of arguments but the launcher does that weird mix... -SPAWN should be added in the ini file, not in the source code.


You can try downloading the Client source code and in ClientGUI->GamePrecessLogic.cs remove the string "-SPAWN" when is placed before the variable extraCommandLin and compile (only that string tag, not the line!) because it will collide with Ares arguments. Those 2 lines of the function StartGameProcess() looks like:

Code:
                if (!string.IsNullOrEmpty(extraCommandLine))
                    QResProcess.StartInfo.Arguments = "c=16 /R " + "\"" + ProgramConstants.GamePath + gameExecutableName + "\" "  + additionalExecutableName + "-SPAWN " + extraCommandLine;

and:
Code:
                if (!string.IsNullOrEmpty(extraCommandLine))
                    DtaProcess.StartInfo.Arguments = " " + additionalExecutableName + "-SPAWN " + extraCommandLine;


Don't forget to put the "-SPAWN" in the ini file where it belongs because you removed it in the source code.
_________________
C&C:Reloaded > GDI, Nod, Allies, Soviets & Yuri... & TS terrain!
[ Discord ] [ ModDB ] [ Telegram Channel ] [ Telegram Group ] [ Official Forums@Revora ]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2020 3:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ClientDefinitions.ini entries given in my first post is for the latest client. And in my later post it is for the older client which is still the version available for download.

Complexity of changing the source code and compiling is not compulsory. It takes only a few minutes to do this setup.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [22 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Ares (Unofficial Forum)
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.3530s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0081s) ][ Debug on ]