:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Fri Jul 03, 2020 7:41 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
Medic attack/guard behavior
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
WoRmINaToR
Rocket Cyborg


Joined: 31 Oct 2008
Location: AKA Sir Prize

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2020 12:08 am    Post subject:  Medic attack/guard behavior Reply with quote

Hi guys, dumb question.

In TS, when you gave a medic an attack order on a hostile unit (by simply having it selected along with other units when issuing an attack command) the medic would stop and enter guard mode.

In YR (I use Ares for what it's worth) every medic unit I've ever made will instead interpret it as a move command and will move to the closest available cell adjacent to the target, meaning medics often charge into the middle of enemy formations and get killed.

Is this just dumb RA2 logic we have to live with, or is there a way to trigger the TS behavior?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message YouTube User URL
cxtian39
Commander


Joined: 11 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2020 2:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes all units can not attack the target will execute a move command instead, not only the medics. I can’t say this is bad because you don’t want units that can’t attack simply stay at where it is while other units leave them behind.
_________________
I DON'T extract models from Rivals.
I play Rivals tho, PM me for a fight.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
4StarGeneral
General


Joined: 14 Sep 2006
Location: Constant Flux

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2020 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's how most RTS's function so I would say the TS logic is odd.

You might be able to set a primary that targets enemies, while the healing one targets allies. Give the primary 2% damage, infinite range, and FireOnce, but there's no guarantee that will work as FireOnce logic is fickle.
_________________
"Don't beg for things; Do it yourself or you'll never get anything."

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail YouTube User URL
WoRmINaToR
Rocket Cyborg


Joined: 31 Oct 2008
Location: AKA Sir Prize

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2020 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@4StarGeneral having a non-healing primary breaks medic units.

Oh well. Guess that answers that. Thanks anyhow!
_________________
New name: Sir Prize. I've switched to a new account to update to the name I've been using everywhere else for the last several years.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message YouTube User URL
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1044s ][ Queries: 10 (0.0026s) ][ Debug on ]