:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Wed Apr 08, 2020 6:19 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Miscellaneous Forums » Game Chat » Command & Conquer Chat
Ra1/TD remastered will be on steam, what about modding?
Moderators: Global Moderators, Offtopic Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
kenosis
Commander


Joined: 19 Aug 2009
Location: Moscow State University

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 2:56 pm    Post subject:  Ra1/TD remastered will be on steam, what about modding? Reply with quote

I just watched their trailer video. The graphics look extremely detailed. Leaves me to wonder, if they are using real 3d models in the game, but just made to look 2D? Or it is still a sprite sheet based game? It has steam workshop support though, how would we mod it? Any info?


BTW, they made a terrible mistake with localization in steam shop. Should be ????? (command and conquer), they somehow gave a “?????” (fortune and conquer) translation. LOL. Can someone tell EA about this?
_________________
Tired of grabbing my random SHP conversions? Why not learn to create SHPs for yourself?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Skype Account Yahoo Messenger Account
m7
Commander


Joined: 17 Apr 2009
Location: The Fang

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's all 2d sprites that are just significantly higher quality. I imagine Steam Workshop support is going to be just to host player maps, since no official word on modding support has been given as far as I can tell.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Holy_Master
Commander


Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Location: Thailand

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think they photoshop over the old sprite but some might require actual 3d render like infantry unit which originally seem to be done by pixel art.

from the trailer smooth game play FPS and clear detail units (specialize infantry) make the scene look beautiful.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
kenosis
Commander


Joined: 19 Aug 2009
Location: Moscow State University

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Checked the trailer details. Almost sure it is HD renders of 3d models - they use different shadow angles for infantry, aircraft and vehicle/buildings, to keep the original feeling? If they are real-time renders of 3d models in the scene there is no good reason for this variation.

About the localization mistakes: Chinese fans already started to call it fate/conquer. LOL.
_________________
Tired of grabbing my random SHP conversions? Why not learn to create SHPs for yourself?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Skype Account Yahoo Messenger Account
Holy_Master
Commander


Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Location: Thailand

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe for the Units but the building detail seem too pixel accurate for me to believe it's 3d render unless they did some extra torch on top of it. (they're company after all.)

and some how I hope the game support controller. XD

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't complain about the Brazilian localization, as far as I could see Steam's page of the game. It looks correct for me.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
kenosis
Commander


Joined: 19 Aug 2009
Location: Moscow State University

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Holy_Master wrote:
Maybe for the Units but the building detail seem too pixel accurate for me to believe it's 3d render unless they did some extra torch on top of it. (they're company after all.)

and some how I hope the game support controller. XD


I would guess they made some HD models and rendered them. Not quite suprising, as in China we have plenty of fan artworks that recreate old ra2. Pixel accurate could just be the result of texture work.
Some links:
https://b23.tv/av91537843/p1
https://www.gcores.com/articles/121025
_________________
Tired of grabbing my random SHP conversions? Why not learn to create SHPs for yourself?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Skype Account Yahoo Messenger Account
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Miscellaneous Forums » Game Chat » Command & Conquer Chat
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
Quick Reply
Username:


If you are visually impaired or cannot otherwise answer the challenges below please contact the Administrator for help.


Write only two of the following words separated by a sharp: Brotherhood, unity, peace! 

 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1202s ][ Queries: 10 (0.0049s) ][ Debug on ]