:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Sat May 30, 2020 9:04 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Featured Projects » Twisted Insurrection » Your Input
AI produces the wrong units
Moderators: Aro, Crimsonum, ErastusMercy, Lin Kuei Ominae, ^Rampastein
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
dizzz
Guest




PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2020 9:18 am    Post subject:  AI produces the wrong units
Subject description: AI produces the wrong units
Reply with quote

When playing TI 0.7 added a new unit "NOD Sniper" to the NOD house, in full analogy with the "SNIPER" GDI. Everything was fine, the game was going as expected, "NOD Sniper" was produced where it should and looked and did everything in accordance with the Rules.ini parameters. I copied the same parameters in TI 0.8.0.7. Found that "NOD Sniper" now produces not only NOD, but also GDI. What's the catch, is it a bug version 0.8?

Back to top
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2020 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

More like a snippet of code changed and you didn't notice.

What do you have for the Nod sniper, for the folks who don't have TI installed?
And what code did you copy for him from the GDI sniper?
_________________
One and only developer of C&C S. True Supremacy.
Youtube: C&C Supremacy Mod | Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue
I once ninja'd MigEater #Tongue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I added to the file Rules.ini such lines:

[InfantryTypes]
104=NSNIPER

[NSNIPER]
Name=NOD Sniper
Category=Soldier
Image=SNIPER
Prerequisite=NAHAND,NARADR
Primary=NSniper
Elite=NSniperE
CrushSound=SQUISH6
Crushable=yes
Strength=80
Armor=none
TechLevel=5
Sight=9
Speed=5
Owner=Nod
Pip=green
AllowedToStartInMultiplayer=no
Cost=600
Points=5
VoiceSelect=SNSA,SNSB,SNSC,SNSD
VoiceMove=SNMA,SNMB,SNMC,SNMD,SNME
VoiceAttack=SNAA,SNAB,SNAC,SNAD,SNAE
VoiceFeedback=SNFA,SNFB
VoiceDie=SNDIEA,SNDIEB
Locomotor={4A582744-9839-11d1-B709-00A024DDAFD1}
PhysicalSize=1
MovementZone=Infantry
ThreatPosed=20
ImmuneToVeins=yes
VeteranAbilities=STRONGER,FASTER
EliteAbilities=SELF_HEAL,SCATTER
Nominal=yes

[NSniper]
Damage=15
ROF=80
Range=15
Projectile=Invisible
Speed=100
Warhead=HollowPoint
Report=SILENCER

[NSniperE]
Damage=18
ROF=40
Range=20
Projectile=Invisible
Speed=100
Warhead=HollowPointI
Report=SILENCER

Back to top
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unit's weapons don't matter much, unless they're working improperly or the game crashes upon construction of a unit.

I can't see anything wrong with the Nod sniper... unless...

Is the only thing the AI is building now the Nod sniper? Or is your problem only that the AI is building the Nod sniper alongside other units when it shouldn't?

If the AI only builds the Nod sniper, regardless which side, then you've encountered the "100 units" bug that occurs when a buildable unit exists in a list after 100.
Fix it by having the Nod sniper be elsewhere in the list, preferably before unbuidlabe/civilian units.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
McPwny
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 29 Jan 2018

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

its gotta be the max unit bug; the AI wouldnt be making it at all without AI triggers telling it to. moving the unit's place on the list isnt going to keep the list from being over max, either.

too bad no one ever made hacks for the TS engine

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you could get rid of half of the civilians (CIV1 - CIV29)
i doubt anyone would notice if 14 of the 29 civilians are missing.
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2020 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is the problem of 100+ infantry bug.

100+ units bugfix for TS already exists (provided by AlexB). Have updated it for infantry. Didn't test it for aircraft 100+ case, so that portion of the code is commented in the updated patch.

The unit is named SNIPER and its Primary is named Sniper in the mod. Similarly, NSNIPER and NSniper in the code snippet above. Those could be made unambiguous by naming the Primary as SniperGun, SniperWeap etc..

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2020 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you guys. The problem really was that the new unit was assigned a serial number greater than 100. I changed it to the 60th and the problem disappeared. Thanks everyone for help.

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Featured Projects » Twisted Insurrection » Your Input
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
Quick Reply
Username:


If you are visually impaired or cannot otherwise answer the challenges below please contact the Administrator for help.


Write only two of the following words separated by a sharp: Brotherhood, unity, peace! 

 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1360s ][ Queries: 10 (0.0223s) ][ Debug on ]