:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Sun May 31, 2020 11:50 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
Red alert online wall for red alert2/yr look weird
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Mr.Hymn
Medic


Joined: 01 May 2020

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2020 6:27 am    Post subject:  Red alert online wall for red alert2/yr look weird Reply with quote

It look nice in photoshop but when I am import to SHP builder. Not so much. Also can anyone help me to make the building remappable? I don't know how please. It's my first time try so I am listening to any good advices.


Screen Shot 2020-05-08 at 13.26.16.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  62.98 KB
 Viewed:  144 Time(s)

Screen Shot 2020-05-08 at 13.26.16.png



Screen Shot 2020-05-08 at 13.24.10.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  39.09 KB
 Viewed:  144 Time(s)

Screen Shot 2020-05-08 at 13.24.10.png



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr.Hymn
Medic


Joined: 01 May 2020

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2020 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

More photos. I think I am figured out some problem but still don't know how to make a custom palette for the art and remappable I think.


Red Alert online wall preview.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  101.1 KB
 Viewed:  130 Time(s)

Red Alert online wall preview.jpg



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2020 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you want to make it a real wall, then it has to be an overlay. for an overlay it needs a lot more frames. (open one of the existing walls and see how they are made)
as overlay you can't give them remap colors

if you want to make them as lots of separate 1x1 buildings, you can give them remap (color #16-#31), but that would suck to use/place them.

Tutorial (**) The Palette

a custom palette isn't necessary imo, you only end up with an asset that stands out against all other assets and visually doesn't fit in. except you plan to remake all buildings and assets ingame.
there are also way enough greys and grey-blues for your wall in the original unittem.pal


see, looks perfectly fine in unittem.pal. no need to hassle with a custom palette

you of course have to change several things to get the conversion done right
a) a different background. otherwise black/shadow pixel turn into transparent pixel and create holes
b) don't anti-aliase against the background, or you get a dark outline
c) random single pixel floating disconnected next to the building
d) changing the remappable areas into red, so they actually get converted into the remap range
e) center the images correct, so they fit in the 1x1 foundation
f) those pixelated rubble mess needs to go into iso*.pal (see how the original rubble frames use the terrain palette and not unittem.pal). so you have to separate these and do a different SHP conversion for them.

i would also suggest editing the original RA2 unittem.pal and change color #0 the blue into a pink or something else (then also render against that background color). Or you get later trouble with shadow pixel (also blue #1) changed into transparent and vice versa. This palette would be used for conversion only, to prevent color mixup.


red_alert_online_wall_preview_unittem.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  110.78 KB
 Viewed:  123 Time(s)

red_alert_online_wall_preview_unittem.png



_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2020 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lin Kuei Ominae wrote:
as overlay you can't give them remap colors

Minor nitpick: this isn't quite right.
Remap is accepted, but TS and RA2 don't do anything with it. You'd need Ares for that.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
Sir Prize
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 27 Mar 2020
Location: AKA WoRmINaToR

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2020 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also incorrect. RA2 does re-color the remap parts of walls, but it's bugged. Without Ares, remap colors on walls will always display the house color of the player looking at it (So if I'm green, on my screen the walls are green. If my enemy is blue, the same wall looks blue on their screen), instead of who actually owns/built the wall.
_________________
Formerly WoRmINaToR. I've created a new account to update to the name I've been using everywhere else for the last several years.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1606s ][ Queries: 16 (0.0151s) ][ Debug on ]