:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Tue Jul 07, 2020 5:07 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
CNCNET compatability question regarding new countries
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Lee3y
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 09 Feb 2018

PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 8:01 pm    Post subject:  CNCNET compatability question regarding new countries
Subject description: And perhaps new modes?
Reply with quote

Greetings everyone,

I've been working hard to get my mod working on CNCNet (with Ares), for online play. I'm quite pleased with my efforts so far, as I have success in getting it to work, including new sounds, descriptions, country load screens, buildings, units etc., but one major thing that I added to the game that I can't seem to figure out is the 2 new countries I've added.

I have had in my mod for a while now the countries Belarus and China, but when I open CNCNet they don't work; I've managed to get them into the drop-down menu for country choice (although it's a bit screwy, pink gap where flag icon should be). But when I start a game the screen loads (loading screen doesn't pick up anything from offline), and then game does start but the command bars are for wrong faction, and map is black (game IS running though), so the country's unit's haven't been spawned.

Can anybody point me in the right direction here as to where the countries are properly defined with regards to CNCNet? I have them working perfectly offline (not via CNCNet). I feel I have come close, but don't know what I am missing.

On a somewhat related note, I have added two new game modes (which I have not yet released, but are working in my current mod's build), but the new modes I made do not appear in CNCNet, despite me trying. If anyone can advise, please do?

Thanks in advance.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XxpeddyxX
Commander


Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are your new side entries after neutral, special etc?

Default CNCNet only reads sides in order as per the rules so you must bring new sides forward in front e.g.:

0=Americans
...
13=NewSide
14=Special
15=Neutral

;;;;GameOptions
Sides=Americans,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,NewSide
_________________

ayylmao on Discord

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lee3y
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 09 Feb 2018

PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2020 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

XxpeddyxX wrote:
Are your new side entries after neutral, special etc?

Default CNCNet only reads sides in order as per the rules so you must bring new sides forward in front e.g.:

0=Americans
...
13=NewSide
14=Special
15=Neutral

;;;;GameOptions
Sides=Americans,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,NewSide


Thank you for responding peddy,

In my rulesmd (before attempting CNCNet compatability), I had;

0=Americans
... (Normal countries of game)
12=Neutral
... (new countries here)
(last entry = Special)

This is what I have carried over into the spawner-rules file. Is it important to set Special before Neutral at the end of the list? Everything worked the way I had it when launching without CNCNet..

When you refer to listing sides in GameOptions, is it the GameOptions.ini in the Resorces folder by any chance? That is where I added the section;

[General]
Sides=America,Korea,France,Germany,Great Britain,Libya,Iraq,Cuba,Russia,Yuri,Belarus,China

AllI did of course was add in Belarus and China at the end, there was no Neutral/Special listed. Should I put that at the end too?

-Lee.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.3489s ][ Queries: 10 (0.0111s) ][ Debug on ]