:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Mon Sep 28, 2020 1:30 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » C&C: Remastered Collection Editing Forums
Modding limitations in the remasters
Moderators: Global Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
jonwil
Grenadier


Joined: 24 Jul 2005

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2020 12:41 am    Post subject:  Modding limitations in the remasters Reply with quote

I am looking to collect a list of all the limitations in terms of modding the remasters (and a few related limitations in the GlyphX engine for that matter)
Here is what I know of so far in terms of limits:
1.There is no way for the game code to change the name of an object at runtime, objects will always use the values from ObjectNameTextID and ObjectDescriptionTextID in cncbuildables.xml/rabuildables.xml or I think also stuff from cncrules.xml. There should be some way to override this by saying "use this string ID instead of the one in the xml" (and then the GlyphX-side would use that and display the appropriate localized string as needed)

2.There appears to be no way to change cncrules.xml in a mod meaning you can't change the game difficulty settings or the name override stuff in your mod (as mentioned I think that ties into point #1 above). Some analysis/reverse engineering shows that cncrules.xml is read before the mods are loaded and read. There should be some way to modify cncrules.xml in your mod.

3.It is not possible to add a new theater to the game because the GlyphX engine has hardcoded links between the theater number and what tileset to load and if you add a new theater, the GlyphX engine has no way for you to specify a new tileset to be loaded for that theater containing the theater specific graphics. There should be some way to control the links between theater numbers (as sent by the game code) and tilesets so you can tell GlyphX which tileset to load for your new theater.

4.The Petroglyph map editor has no way to know about up any new items you have added to the game (new units, new templates, new overlays etc) and so there is no way to place those items in your map (unless you have another editor that can place the items for you or some sort of manual editing of the map file). As the map editor source code is unlikely to be released, the information in the map editor that describes all these things (buildings, infantry, overlays, smudges, templates, terrain, theaters, units and anything else hardcoded) should be moved into a file that modders can edit.

5.There is basically zero documentation on the XML files meaning editing things can require trial-and-error or guessing based on what's there. There should be more documentation on the XML files (especially things like house colors), at the very least some schemas or otherwise a full list of valid XML tags etc would be useful.

Anyone know of any other limitations on modding the remasters?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mortecha
Commander


Joined: 30 Nov 2006
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2020 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's no XML object aggregation between two of the same XML files adding different objects when the game loads. One overwrites the other and I'm not sure how that's determined, Perhaps Alphabetically? In fact at the moment I'm not sure how the game behaves when loading conflicting files, but will inevitably come across some interesting instances.

While it would have been nice to have mini mods you could combine together at your discretion, the meta for modding the Remastered is larger more complete experiences instead of minor modifications you can combine together. There's nothing wrong with either approach, And I suppose that's how modding in C&C has been done anywayXD

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
^Rampastein
Rampastring


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Location: Gensokyo

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2020 7:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jonwil wrote:
2.There appears to be no way to change cncrules.xml in a mod meaning you can't change the game difficulty settings


You can change the game difficulty settings (house handicaps) by modifying the DLL.
_________________
CnCNet Client | CnCNet TS patches | More Quality-of-Life Improvements for RA Remastered


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL
jonwil
Grenadier


Joined: 24 Jul 2005

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2020 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

btw, #1 refers to the fact that (unlike in the original games) its not possible for missions to have overrides that change the name of units/structures.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonwil
Grenadier


Joined: 24 Jul 2005

PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2020 1:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another modding limitation (but one that I can't see any way to fix) is that you can't make custom campaigns in the remasters (you can make custom missions but there is no way to combine them into a proper campaign)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonwil
Grenadier


Joined: 24 Jul 2005

PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2020 1:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It also seems that intro movies and the "play movie" trigger don't work for custom missions. That seems like a genuine bug and should be fixed.
Briefings also do not appear in the pause menu in custom missions the way they do in standard missions (which can make it harder to remember what your mission is)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonwil
Grenadier


Joined: 24 Jul 2005

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2020 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another issue with custom missions, the faction colors for enemies are chosen wrong (e.g. things that should be green and show up as green in the legacy graphics show up as blue in the remastered graphics)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonwil
Grenadier


Joined: 24 Jul 2005

PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2020 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok so after a bunch of messing around I can confirm that the following issues exist related to unit naming compared to the original. (at least these are the ones I can find where its displaying a different name to what the original game would display)
Issues in Red Alert:
1.Civilian buildings are given names instead of being called "Civilian Building"
2.Civilians are given names instead of being called "Civilian"
3.Technicians are not correctly called "Technician"

Issues in Tiberian Dawn:
1.Civilian buildings are given names instead of being called "Civilian Building"
2.Civilians are given names instead of being called "Civilian"
3.Technicians are not correctly called "Technician"
4.The building with the 3 domes on it should be named "Technology Center" instead of "Prison" (it should only be named "Prison" in Nod mission 3, this could be fixed by using the existing NameOverride stuff as is used for Red Alert).

CNCRules.xml not being editable prevents the NameOverride stuff from being changed but if that's fixed, the problem with being able to override the name of units at runtime should go away (also assuming the above mentioned bugs especially the "prison" one are solved)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonwil
Grenadier


Joined: 24 Jul 2005

PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2020 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2 more name related things I found. First is that for Allies mission 5 the building with the 3 domes is named "Prison" (something the original game didn't do but something that I assume to be a bug fix given what the mission involves).

Second is something that is definitely a bug from what I can see is that the "IsNominal" flag (which makes stuff display their actual name instead of "Enemy xxx" when you mouse over it) does not get properly interpreted for units and infantry, just buildings.
The original game used the flag for units and infantry as well.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonwil
Grenadier


Joined: 24 Jul 2005

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 1:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Going over this thread in the context of the latest patch, here is what I have found (most likely these couldn't be fixed due to lack of time and all the many other far more important things they had to do for this patch):
1.Being able to change cncrules.xml is now possible so you can absolutely use NameOverrides (and mod code) to give things any name you like as well as changing the difficulty settings.
2.Its unclear about theater changing and what, if anything, they have done there.
3.The map editor is open source so all the limitations in it are no longer a problem, people can change it how they want.
4.XML documentation still doesn't exist but with the map editor source its at least possible to get a better idea of what the house color data (for example) is actually doing.
5.Custom campaigns are obviously not possible (and will never be) as that would be a LOT of work.
6.Movies appear to be working for custom single player missions now (so says CCHyper anyway)
7.Briefings still do not appear in the pause menu for custom missions (an analysis of how this works suggests it would have been very difficult to fix)
8.The issue with house colors and custom missions is supposed to be fixed.
9.Civilians and civilian buildings are still given names (unlike in the original game)
10.Technicians are still not called technician
11.The "Technology Centre" is still called "Prison" in TD (it shouldn't be called that except in a few missions)
12.It looks like the IsNominal flag is still not respected for infantry or units.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » C&C: Remastered Collection Editing Forums
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
Quick Reply
Username:


If you are visually impaired or cannot otherwise answer the challenges below please contact the Administrator for help.


Write only two of the following words separated by a sharp: Brotherhood, unity, peace! 

 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1635s ][ Queries: 10 (0.0489s) ][ Debug on ]