:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Sun Sep 27, 2020 6:27 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
90 Lightning strike at Waypoint...... problems.
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [20 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Concolor1
Civilian


Joined: 16 Jul 2020

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 4:31 pm    Post subject:  90 Lightning strike at Waypoint...... problems. Reply with quote

Hi does anyone know of any issues with this action, 90 Lightning strike at waypoint, either theatre related or otherwise?

Ive used it in the past to strike multiple waypoints on a map no problem.
However all of a sudden every single lightning strike is hitting the exact same spot on a desert map Im building. Any ideas why?

Now the map does have over 200 waypoints, but Ive directed each strike to hit a waypoint below 90. (As Im told there is an issue with it going over 100, even un the YR Editor)

Ive gone to a map where it does work a Temperate one. Each fires fine no problem. Hitting a different waypoint as instructed.

One quirk I have noticed though is that when viewing this temperate map, the waypoints all say '0'. Yet I clearly entered the waypoints when I built it in 2003 , however now they don't show.

Could one of the unoffical patches have done anything? To the editor? Could it be my timing between strikes?

Once again many thanks for reading.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Concolor1
Civilian


Joined: 16 Jul 2020

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ive solved this myself, but I'll leave the answer for anyone with similar problems.

It appears that the Editor had stopped using the Waypoint for the lightning strike. Instead it was using the letter based system.
So waypoint '0' Was A, 1=B, 2=C, 15=P, 26=AA, 27=AB ect

All I had to do was open the map up in wordpad find the Actions


01000225=2,90,0,13,0,0,0,0,A,54,2,01000225,0,0,0,0,A
01000227=2,90,0,21,0,0,0,0,A,54,2,01000227,0,0,0,0,A
01000231=2,90,0,14,0,0,0,0,A,54,2,01000231,0,0,0,0,A
01000233=2,90,0,15,0,0,0,0,A,54,2,01000233,0,0,0,0,A

Then change the letter 'A', which way waypoint '0' to the following.


01000225=2,90,0,13,0,0,0,0,N,54,2,01000225,0,0,0,0,A
01000227=2,90,0,21,0,0,0,0,V,54,2,01000227,0,0,0,0,A
01000231=2,90,0,14,0,0,0,0,O,54,2,01000231,0,0,0,0,A
01000233=2,90,0,15,0,0,0,0,P,54,2,01000233,0,0,0,0,A

save the map then it worked.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TS and RA2 can have only 0 to 100 waypoints. YR can have from 0 to 701. Check waypoints at ModEnc for details.

If you are referring of this patch, nothing has changed in the editor regarding waypoint logic.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Concolor1
Civilian


Joined: 16 Jul 2020

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2020 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well something changed. Because the YR map I wrote back in 2003, has the same triggers, and they work. Loking at them in the editor today  the waypoints don't show up, the editor would of been the only way Id of put in those waypoints.

My only other theory is that as soon as I exceeded 100 Waypoints in this current  YR map, then when the map was saved, it stopped recognising the Waypoints and started reading the Lettering instead.

Either way Ive fixed it and the lightning strikes hit multiple waypoints across the map. It did originally work though....which is odd.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
General


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wait you're saying the letter at the end of the trigger is used for YR but the number for RA2?
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check the correct format for map actions at ModEnc. Map action 90 is same for all TS/RA2/YR.

For map action 90 lightning strike fix in FA2, edit FAData.ini and under [ActionsRA2] replace
Code:
90=Lightning strike at...,0,30,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,A single Ion Storm lightning strike.,0,1,90

with
Code:
90=Lightning strike at...,0,0,0,0,0,0,1,0,0,A single Ion Storm lightning strike.,1,1,90

FAData.ini needs several such corrections.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
General


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 5:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

E1 Elite wrote:
FAData.ini needs several such corrections.

Is there a list somewhere? I was kinda using FA2 as the guide for my map script, but verifying as best I could against existing missions, except a lot of stuff isn't used...
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ModEnc is more or less the best available source currently (some needs updates there as well). Like the current TS map action 90 at ModEnc needs correction as well as FinalSun's FSData.ini.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crimsonum
Seth


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Location: Fineland

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's confusing how some trigger actions use the second parameter for the waypoint (integer) while others use the last parameter (letter-based), even when no other parameters are used. Some even appear to use both.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Concolor1
Civilian


Joined: 16 Jul 2020

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

E1 Elite - Once again your help is much appreciated. I'll make a note of that fix, as I said something has changed though, as it use to display the waypoints and fire at them just fine. I cant see what would cause that change as all Ive done is installed the patches. Ive not used any Mods ect.

Oh out of interest, would the two old missions I wrote for the TX (Terrain Explansion version 1), still work?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Concolor1 : As I mentioned earlier, nothing regarding waypoints logic has changed in the FA2 patch. Fault is in FAData.ini and if you just save after touching this action through FA2, it could end up wrong, with or without the FA2 patch. FAData.ini file is not part of the patch and with reason. People edit FAData.in on their own like the debug section etc., Ares adds more and TX has its own changes (including some faulty ones if I remember correctly). If it is included with the FA2 patch, people might end up overwriting this file. If you have installed TX files into FA2 folder, with FA2 patch, it should just work as before.

@Crimsonum: One should test all the actions with waypoint numbers at parameter2 set to 0. It might be some leftover logic that has put those numbers in vanilla maps. Value in parameter7 alone should be enough for these actions. I already did a confirmation test it for action 90, rest of those needs to be tested and then ModEnc and FAData/FSData INI files would have to be updated. It would be surprising if vanilla maps have any action with waypoint value at parameter2 alone and not at parameter7.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Concolor1
Civilian


Joined: 16 Jul 2020

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

E1 Elite wrote:
@Concolor1 : As I mentioned earlier, nothing regarding waypoints logic has changed in the FA2 patch. Fault is in FAData.ini and if you just save after touching this action through FA2, it could end up wrong, with or without the FA2 patch. FAData.ini file is not part of the patch and with reason. People edit FAData.in on their own like the debug section etc., Ares adds more and TX has its own changes (including some faulty ones if I remember correctly). If it is included with the FA2 patch, people might end up overwriting this file. If you have installed TX files into FA2 folder, with FA2 patch, it should just work as before.


Once again I bow to the knowledge of people with far better insight into this than myself. Many thanks. Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
General


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

E1 Elite wrote:
ModEnc is more or less the best available source currently (some needs updates there as well). Like the current TS map action 90 at ModEnc needs correction as well as FinalSun's FSData.ini.

Well I was asking if there was a list of correct actions or a list of exceptions, so one doesn't have to check all one by one.
Crimsonum wrote:
It's confusing how some trigger actions use the second parameter for the waypoint (integer) while others use the last parameter (letter-based), even when no other parameters are used. Some even appear to use both.

In cases where the numerical waypoint in the data field is used, the letter waypoint is ignored. The more obnoxious variant to me is when the letter waypoint field is used for other data instead.
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2020 7:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The ModEnc page for RA2 map actions has the right info, just refer it and change FAData.ini accordingly for any corrections.

Just tested for TS map actions at ModEnc which had waypoint at parameter2 and made corrections to that page. Apparently few of those still use parameter2 for waypoints.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 6:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could use the corrected FAData.ini from the updated FA2 patch.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
General


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The most important FA2 bug in this regard I've found is the scripttypes change house command starts the numbers without the correct offset and has to be manually fixed. It's a bad one because crashes.
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can't clearly understand. Are you saying the number field is left empty, so the 2nd parameter is not set by default. Or house indices are not correct?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
General


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, on a mission with map defined countries/houses, you can't access the original rules.ini ones as change house targets, only the new ones. That means for vanilla RA2 with 0-12 already defined, the first new house would be 13, but FA2's dropdown will show the new names with values starting at 0. The correct first value would be 13.

Now you can access the original countries as a target as long as you define a new map house for that country, at which point the target is within the original 0-12. The resultant valid target list should then be something like 5,8,13,14,15,16.

Maps are unfortunately messy when it comes to what is a country vs a house, the country is the real target but the house lets you access the country, so although you define new countries with parent countries, for the purposes of change house targets it is the map houses appended to the rules.ini countries list, assuming the house has a new country.

The trigger action shows the correct list, the scripttypes action does not.
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MRMIdAS
Plasma Trooper


Joined: 17 Jul 2008

PostPosted: Sat Sep 05, 2020 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd assume people commenting so far have the YR fix that adds the RA2 campaigns too.
_________________
MIdAS - Turning wages into beer since 2002

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Sat Sep 05, 2020 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

G-E wrote:
The trigger action shows the correct list, the scripttypes action does not.

Check the FA2 patch update. Script action 20's dropdown is now changed, works similar to all the others in trigger events and actions.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [20 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.3751s ][ Queries: 10 (0.0381s) ][ Debug on ]