:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Thu May 06, 2021 1:15 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Mapping Discussion
Problem with PsySensor in RA2mode on CNCNET(partiaily solved
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Andrew84
Medic


Joined: 20 Dec 2020

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2021 12:20 pm    Post subject:  Problem with PsySensor in RA2mode on CNCNET(partiaily solved Reply with quote

A rather serious problem exists in the RA2 mode on CNCNET.
In the original RA2, the Soviet PsySensor unmasks mirages. This does not happen on CNCNET in RA2 mode.
This is becoming a rather serious problem, since soviets have no way to deal with mirages in CNCNET in RA2 mode. The only option is to forcefully aim tanks at mirages, but with a large number of mirages, the player cannot quickly kill all the mirages, in this situation. The soviets become very defenseless.

How can i repair PsySensor for my maps by adding lines in .map file? Is it possible?
The problem is very significant indeed.
The same problem is with spyes.
Example in the picture:


CNCNET RA2.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  449.09 KB
 Viewed:  259 Time(s)

CNCNET RA2.jpg



Original RA2.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  383.59 KB
 Viewed:  259 Time(s)

Original RA2.jpg



Orig RA2.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  397.38 KB
 Viewed:  259 Time(s)

Orig RA2.jpg



CNC RA2.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  341.77 KB
 Viewed:  259 Time(s)

CNC RA2.jpg



Last edited by Andrew84 on Sat May 01, 2021 10:33 pm; edited 1 time in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andrew84
Medic


Joined: 20 Dec 2020

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2021 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And the same is with naval units...


CNCNET RA2 naval units.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  256.17 KB
 Viewed:  249 Time(s)

CNCNET RA2 naval units.jpg



Original RA2 naval units.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  390.65 KB
 Viewed:  249 Time(s)

Original RA2 naval units.jpg



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andrew84
Medic


Joined: 20 Dec 2020

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2021 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apparently, the lines highlighted below should work, but they don't.

[NAPSIS]
UIName=Name:NAPSIS
Name=Psychic Sensor
BuildCat=Combat
Prerequisite=NATECH,NACNST
Strength=750
Armor=wood
TechLevel=10
Adjacent=2
Sight=10
PsychicDetectionRadius=15
Owner=British,French,Germans,Americans,Alliance,Russians,Confederation,Africans,Arabs
AIBasePlanningSide=1 ;gs 0 for Good, 1 for Evil
Cost=1000
Points=50
Power=-50
Powered=true
Capturable=true
Crewed=yes
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUMU60
DebrisAnim=Dbris1sm,Dbris1lg,Dbris4sm,Dbris5sm,Dbris4lg,Dbris7sm,Dbris8sm,Dbris5lg,Dbris4lg
MaxDebris=15
MinDebris=5
ThreatPosed=0 ; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys,BigGreySmokeSys
DamageSmokeOffset=220, 390, 150
AIBuildThis=no ; ;took it out at HY's request -DB To fool the player -- it's not like it's necessary.
HasRadialIndicator=true
ConcentricRadialIndicator=true ; SJM: If HasRadialIndicator, use a concentric-ring effect rather than radar sweep.
DetectDisguise=yes
DetectDisguiseRange=15

;Sensors=yes ;GEF buildings and units use different methods of saying that they are sensors, grumble
SensorArray=yes
SensorsSight=15

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
General


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2021 4:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CNCNet "RA2" is actually a stripped down YR, check the YR code for sensor changes?
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2021 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

G-E wrote:
CNCNet "RA2" is actually a stripped down YR, check the YR code for sensor changes?
Can confirm.

RA2 mode only does some rules.ini changes, and some of the changes shouldn't have been done, like changing the Houses/Countries list and removing some trees.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Twitter Channel URL Skype Account
Allied General
General


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2021 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SensorArray logic is broken in the expansion YR so detecting submerged i.e. cloaked units is not possible without Ares

Its also possible that changed disguise logic so that a weapon is required which is why the psychic tower can detect spies.

Basically the changes you want are not possible.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Andrew84
Medic


Joined: 20 Dec 2020

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2021 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe invent something using a virtual unit?
These lines:
Sensors = yes
Sensors Sight = 15
Work with a units.
Is it possible to turn the psysensor into a unit, or somehow make an additional virtual unit inside the sensor during construction, which could reveal hidden objects in a given radius?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andrew84
Medic


Joined: 20 Dec 2020

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2021 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I partially solved the problem. In the part that deals with the definition of submarine units. This is important because all my maps are for naval battles.
The solution is quite interesting. I gave the building a unit, which is a sensor:

[NAPSIS]
FreeUnit=WINI
[WINI]
Cost=1
Armor=heavy
Speed=0
UIName=Submarine Detection Module
Sensors=yes
Strength=350
Selectable=no
SensorsSight=13
ImmuneToPsionics=yes
ImmuneToRadiation=yes

I worked on making the psychosensor explode when destroyed, and detonate the attached unit with it. But then I discovered that for some unknown and completely illogical reason, the unit ceases to see underwater units when the psychosensor is sold or destroyed. This is definitely some kind of bug, but luckily it works to our advantage in this case.

Of course, extra tile is involved by additional unit, and perhaps some aesthetic nuances, but these are not very big inconveniences, compared to a non-working psychosensor. Moreover, the attached unit looks like some kind of additional module with equipment.
So that the players do not rack their brains about why this is needed, I signed it, and when you hover over it, the text is highlighted (if this option is activated in the game settings).SDM.jpg

Another small disadvantage of this solution is that this system continues to work even after a power outage, which, of course, should not be. But, these are the costs of such a solution to the problem. We choose the lesser of two evils. Especially considering that usually the energy is not turned off.
Otherwise, this system works just fine.

As for the tanks-mirages and spies - I have not solved this problem. The question remains open.


SDM.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  175.94 KB
 Viewed:  96 Time(s)

SDM.jpg



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Virgil
Flamethrower


Joined: 22 Jul 2018

PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2021 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IIRC there was an old bug of the vanilla game (maybe even in TS?), that sensor units sometimes were not correctly removed from game and still be able to reveal stealthed enemys after they are destroyed.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andrew84
Medic


Joined: 20 Dec 2020

PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2021 6:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This bug still exists. Small areas sometimes remain in the sea, in which submarine units are visible.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Mapping Discussion
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1646s ][ Queries: 19 (0.0110s) ][ Debug on ]