:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Wed Jun 16, 2021 2:16 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Tutorials Vault
How to make a SHP turret [code]
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2021 11:23 am    Post subject:  How to make a SHP turret [code]
Subject description: Using MadHQ's Gun Turret as example
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

This will help you make a defence building using SHP files that already exist.

Will be using MadHQ's Gun Turret as example: http://zombapro.ppmsite.com/shp/shp/gagun.zip


Of course, anything and everything is up to you (you can copy-paste everything from Sentry Gun or Pill Box, even the Yuri Gattling Gun), except for these:
Code:
[GAGUN]
TurretAnim=GAGUNTUR
TurretAnimIsVoxel=no ;if your turret is a Voxel like the Sentry Gun, Flak Cannon, Patriot Missile, etc. make this yes, else keep this no


I hope you don't need to be told by this point that the GAGUN needs to be in the [BuildingTypes] list before it can be used by anyone. I'm mentioning it here just in-case you overlooked it; it happens.

What you might not expect is that GAGUNTUR needs to be listed under [Animations] if you want the game to render it.
Of course, same goes for the thing's Buildup= if you want to be able to sell it.

That was the rules part, here comes art.

The GAGUN's art settings can be whatever you want them to be. Just remember it's spelled Buildup=, not BuildUp=. You don't need to do anything special here.

You can copy-paste this from TS' Component Tower's Gattling upgrade.
Code:
[GAGUNTUR]  ;copied from TS art.ini GACTWR_B
LoopStart=0
LoopEnd=32
LoopCount=-1
Rate=0
Surface=yes
NewTheater=yes


And you're done.

If Turret doesn't render properly try TurretAnimZAdjust=-20 in rules.
If that doesn't help go deeper into the negative, like -30. Or be extra lazy and just use -100 and be done with it.

Note: if no theater specific art is found, the SHP files where the second letter is a G is picked for use by the game.
In MadHQ's turret's example that'd be GGGUN.shp for the building, GGGUNTUR.shp for the turret. If you have NewTheater=no and use the same naming-scheme as the game (GAGUNTUR for MadHQ's gun turret) the game will only use GAGUNTUR.shp for the turret.
If NewTheater=no on the building itself (GAGUN here) then the main building is only rendered with GAGUN.shp for the building.
Since NewTheater default to no, you might want to ditch Westwood's naming-scheme and use GGGUN and GGGUNTUR for the IDs if you're that worried about drive space and don't want to use the snow-themed buildings (to save more space!).
_________________
One and only developer of the Command & Conquer Dune "C&C D" mod.
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue

Last edited by TAK02 on Tue May 25, 2021 6:42 am; edited 3 times in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Twitter Channel URL Skype Account
cxtian39
Commander


Joined: 11 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2021 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

TurretAnimDamaged if needed #Tongue
_________________
I DON'T extract models from Rivals.
I play Rivals tho, PM me for a fight.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
McPwny
AA Infantry


Joined: 29 Jan 2018

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2021 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

buildup anims dont use art entries so you dont need to list them in your animslist. they have the weird but convenient quirk of being
hardcoded so all you need do is put the anim name in the buildup= slot.
_________________
.shp artist and critic of voxels

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Tutorials Vault
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1522s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0075s) ][ Debug on ]