:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Wed Dec 01, 2021 9:32 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
Windows 10 issue (game crashed on skirmish)
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Saref
Grenadier


Joined: 26 Nov 2008
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2021 11:17 pm    Post subject:  Windows 10 issue (game crashed on skirmish) Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have abolutely horrible problem.

Game crashes on skirmish. I have unmodified game, only with Ares installed.
I installed ddraw.dll and even cncnet5.dll.
Games starts as it should, but skirmish screen have a black background (buttons still visible).
I launch skirmish and after loading is complete, game crashes instantly.
Is there any way to fix that issue?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
silverwind
AA Infantry


Joined: 11 Jun 2016

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2021 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Did it crash with an exception? or did it just crash to the desktop, and closed the game in the process?

If you found an except.txt in the game directory, post it here.

The game runs on Windows 10 for many people, even without those dlls. What's your version of Windows 10?

General fixes to common problems you can try:
> Run the game with Admin rights.
> Do not combine Ares with exe-hacks / third party patches (if you want to run it without a CD, add the -CD command line argument to RunAres.bat
> Change the compatibility settings of gamemd.exe to Windows 7 or Windows XP SP3.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2021 3:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You shouldn't use cncnet5.dll if you are not using the client. There are also several ddraw.dll variants, the most suitable one is from - https://github.com/CnCNet/cnc-ddraw/releases

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Saref
Grenadier


Joined: 26 Nov 2008
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2021 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Removing cncnet5.dll helps to solve the problem.
Now it works not perfect, but fine

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1387s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0094s) ][ Debug on ]