:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Wed Dec 01, 2021 10:31 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum
Why are the Juggernaut's [AITriggerTypes] Techlevel 3?
Moderators: Global Moderators, Tiberian Sun Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
TeleVisor
Medic


Joined: 17 Dec 2020

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2021 7:58 pm    Post subject:  Why are the Juggernaut's [AITriggerTypes] Techlevel 3?
Subject description: A WW's mistake?
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

As we know, the Jugger has TechLevel=6.

But, if we look at the Jugger's Triggers in AIFS.ini, they all have TechLevel 3, which is the same TechLevel of the Jugger's '2ndPrerequisite' building, the GARADR.

Example:
Code:
07CC6E00-G=M_GDI juggernaut pool,09E4FE60-G,<all>,3,1,GARADR,010000... ; 3 instead of 6


This is inconsistent with the coding of the Triggers in AI.ini, where the TechLevels of AITriggerTypes match those of the unit they control, not the building which unlocks said units.

For instance, a Trigger for the STNK has a TechLevel of 8, like that of the STNK, and not 6, like the NATECH which unlocks it.

Here:

Code:
0859C0E0-G=E_Nod vehicle attack 3,07D739D0-G,<all>,8,-1,NATECH,010000... ; trigger for the Stealth Tank (TechLevel=8). Notice the 8.



Is there a reason for this? It seems to me these differencies wouldn't affect the functionality. But what about the AI?

Looking at the Jugger case above - does the AI, on a TechLevel 3 FS game, summon TL3 Triggers for TL6 Juggers which are therefore unbuildable?


Or more in general:

If a game map allows TechLevel = x, and a Unit has TechLevel > x, Does the AI know beforehand to ignore the Triggers of that Unit? Or does it waste its cycles trying to perform them?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2021 4:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Those are recalculated by the game. Check - https://modenc.renegadeprojects.com/AITriggerTypes

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TeleVisor
Medic


Joined: 17 Dec 2020

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2021 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Indeed E1, but I've found a possible explanation.

In the Firestorm campaign, mission fsgdi05, there are a couple of Juggers declared as TechLevel=0.

Now, I've never played FS, yet. But if there are AI-controlled Juggers in that mission, and there seem to be, that would be the reason for the TL3 Triggers in AIFS I guess.

Ingeniously enough, those Triggers don't have any consequence on the Jugger's prerequisites on skirmish maps (because the Juggers need a Radar in the first place to be built, and that's a TL3 building).

Still, it makes the AI waste time with Jugger Triggers on TL3-5 maps.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1453s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0091s) ][ Debug on ]